We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value food”
Review of The Old Station

The Old Station
Ranked #19 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great value food”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Called in here for Breakfast. Drawn in buy the big sign saying Buy one get one free for £5.95 which is great but even better it was really good standard. The whole breakfast was great especially the scrambled eggs which my husband ordered. The staff were so pleasant and cheerful. I will be definitely calling in again as the scones looked great :-) Added bonus loads of things for sale around you so came back with a few treats as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
534 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Still a lovely place to visit”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yes we are regular visitors, always enjoyed the Costa Coffee, even though it does seem to take time to serve if there is a queue.

To our surprise recently they have changed to a different brand - a fairtrade one - I think it was Puro, but apologies if I have got this wrong. Although not Costa, none the less, we still find it enjoyable.

On a recent trip we came early for the 2 for 1 breakfast deal. Very tasty and good value.

As other people say, great place to break a journey, easy free parking just off the main road. As locals and regulars we can take advantage of any Edinburgh Woollen Mill sales that are on from time to time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangadfan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“convenient and good”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Convenient because you can park outside, find easily and with a lift. I had a couple of elderly ladies with me and this helped. The Panini was good and the ladies enjoyed the minted lamb. Service was good but they could do with learning how to smile. Not cheap though for a café. Coffee used to be good but they have recently changed there provider and I was a little disappointed. Nice and clean.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good stopping place”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I would certainly visit this cafe and The old Station house again for a pit stop en route into Wales from Shropshire. Unassuming environment but a quick and cheerful service, a nice afternoon tea and savoury food, decent enough loos. A bit problematic for wheelchair users or those with difficulty walking as the cafe is upstairs and the lift was out if order. The shop had some interesting products.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebush, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stop off”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast on long journey from Pembrokeshire to Hartlepool. Clean toilets, friendly, breakfast fine for price, not greasy, 2 for 1 and right on main road with good parking. Miles better than the vans on roadside or motorway services.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Station also viewed

 

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing