We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My local pub”
Review of The Kings head

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Kings head
Ranked #28 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Restaurant details
Welshpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My local pub”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Pleasant atmosphere , good guinness and excellent food , the only thing we don't like is being seated where the music is coming from in the dining room

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed an evening meal here whilst staying at a nearby B&B. The menu choice suited us and the food was prepared and served really promptly. We liked the ambience in the dining room which was tastefully furnished. Having paid for our meal we realised that we hadn't been charged for two lime-and-sodas we'd ordered. On telling the barman, he generously waived the cost!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great pub food and hospitality”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at a B & B in Welshpool and the owner booked a table for us at this pub. The food and service was very good and there was a wide range of beers on offer. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnAshtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good old fashioned pub.Eccellent food, very good service. A must if you are in the area.Barman very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank caseyjones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staying nearby overnight, we had to call back to this pub which we briefly visited last year. Being a Monday night they didn't do food so we popped out and came back.
On both visits that evening we found the place very welcoming and chatted (and had some great laughs) with a number of the locals. There's a great jukebox which has access to pretty much every track you might be inclined to play.
We loved it here and had such a good evening - thanks folks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russ414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings head also viewed

Guilsfield, Welshpool
 
Buttington, Welshpool
Guilsfield, Welshpool
 

Been to The Kings head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing