We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large bed and good WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Large bed and good WIFI”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here on business with 2 others and we found it to be a pleasant experience. The room was large and had a big comfy double bed and also had a very strong wifi connection which was needed for work matters. The room had a bath which was nice to relax in after work. Only problem was the curtains which let in a bit of light through them in the morning. Not much in the town to do either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    212
    90
    20
    16
See reviews for
85
241
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In process of being modernised, and I had modernised room. Good, solid coaching inn style hotel righting the centre of Welshpool. Clean, tidy, good food and beer, excellent staff attitude, and whilst I am a little nervous staying in coaching inns because of potential noise, this was nota problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Oak. We initially were only going to stay one night but decided to stay two. Coming from America we love the old historical places. The young staff was surprisingly professional and very gracious. They were just wonderful, offering suggestions of things to see and even researching online what times the local castle was open for us. The dinner in the dining room was delicious, I recommend the mushroom gnocchi. We had a large and comfortable bed in a quiet room in the back #107. No view from the room, but that was fine with us. With the pub downstairs it was fun to be in the midst of the locals. I doubt we will pass that way again but it will remain a great memory.

Room Tip: Ask about the parking before you arrive it can be a bit tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a very good deal for a one night stay including dinner and breakfast last weekend. We wanted to visit Powis Castle and it's just a bit to too far for a day trip, so we decided to stay over. The staff were really helpful, friendly and thoughtful, with one exception at breakfast - and to be honest, her poor attitude stuck out like a sore thumb. Dinner was very nice with really helpful service and some good recommendations. Water on the table is a really nice touch.
Some people have complained about outside noise and this is a factor, but given location, there is nothing the hotel can do about this, so it is churlish to complain.
So well done Royal Oak - congratulations on some wonderful staff and offering a well priced comfortable hotel to spend a pleasant evening in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over Easter just as a short break.
Our room was on the second floor at the front, great room, clean and had everything we needed. In the early hours there were sounds of some people leaving pubs etc but that didn't last long.
We had breakfast and dinner on both days of our stay and the food was very well priced and delicious.
The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend, especially for the price, amazing!

Room Tip: Room at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachiehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked this hotel the night before our stay. We were a little concerned as we thought the price we had paid was too good to be true but we couldn't be more wrong. What a great place. Great staff, great food (we had evening meal and brekky) and room was lovely size and very clean. Would definitely stay here again - hope it will be in near future.

Room Tip: We can only comment on room 106 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A bit hungry after visiting Powis Castle and after looking at many eating establishments in Welshpool and thinking "Noooooo I don't think so!", we decided to pop in to the Royal Oak on recommendation from a local. Simply :
- Lovely hotel / bar / restaurant
- Excellent food and good value for money
- Very nice local ales.
- Staff are friendly and efficient in service (and not asking "Everyfinnnnng ok for yoooooou?" every 10 mins was great).

The restaurant area was spacious, nicely lit, nice decor and comfortable. I used to travel around the UK a lot on business and I commented that it would have been one of the places I would have put down a base at if were working in the area and needed to stay.

If it wasn't in Welshpool (what an odd place!), I'd be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: The Cross, Welshpool SY21 7DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Hotel is a Former 18th Century Coaching Inn formerly built as the Manor House of the Earl of Powys until 1927. We are situated in the Market town of Welshpool, the gateway to Wales and the Historic Powys Castle, a National Trust Property and Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing