We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
bridgend
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is our 4th stay here and many things have stayed the same, the food is superb ,the bar is up to date and varied. We had the D,B &B deal which was £110 for the night. A young staff base who catered to all our needs. My only fault is it really needs a little updating, Room 101 needs a new mattress !! great location with car park facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    206
    89
    21
    16
See reviews for
84
236
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were walking the Offa's Dyke Path and needed somewhere to stay for one night. We couldn't of chose a better place. There was nine of us so needed somewhere that was really good value for money and this was it. Location was perfect. The staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in evening and the food was exceptional. Overall it's a lovely hotel with great staff, great rooms and great food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shropshire_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stay here quite often on business. Staff are always helpful and friendly. It's an older style (creaky floorboard) type of hotel with no lifts and was being redecorated when I stayed. It's not a business type of hotel but very pleasant . I had a single room right above the bar. It was very clean and well presented with a comfortable bed. Only downside was that the noise from the bar was very noticeable through the floorboards and the wifi in the room was quite weak. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend a room either higher up or at the back of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was good and comprehensive but does only start at 7.30am . This is ok if you are on holiday but not so good if you need to get to a meeting ! Other than that pretty good and I am sure I will stay again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room go to the 2nd floor and probably at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We ate in the Royal Oak at the end of our walk of Glyndwr's Way. We do not often eat out as we prefer our own cooking(!) and so when I say the food was delicious, I really mean it! The waitress was so pleasant and helpful and did not put us under any pressure to order anything we did not want to. A lovely relaxing eating experience in very pleasant surroundings too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here on business with 2 others and we found it to be a pleasant experience. The room was large and had a big comfy double bed and also had a very strong wifi connection which was needed for work matters. The room had a bath which was nice to relax in after work. Only problem was the curtains which let in a bit of light through them in the morning. Not much in the town to do either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

In process of being modernised, and I had modernised room. Good, solid coaching inn style hotel righting the centre of Welshpool. Clean, tidy, good food and beer, excellent staff attitude, and whilst I am a little nervous staying in coaching inns because of potential noise, this was nota problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Oak. We initially were only going to stay one night but decided to stay two. Coming from America we love the old historical places. The young staff was surprisingly professional and very gracious. They were just wonderful, offering suggestions of things to see and even researching online what times the local castle was open for us. The dinner in the dining room was delicious, I recommend the mushroom gnocchi. We had a large and comfortable bed in a quiet room in the back #107. No view from the room, but that was fine with us. With the pub downstairs it was fun to be in the midst of the locals. I doubt we will pass that way again but it will remain a great memory.

Room Tip: Ask about the parking before you arrive it can be a bit tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: The Cross, Welshpool SY21 7DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Hotel is a Former 18th Century Coaching Inn formerly built as the Manor House of the Earl of Powys until 1927. We are situated in the Market town of Welshpool, the gateway to Wales and the Historic Powys Castle, a National Trust Property and Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing