We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Offa's Dyke stopover.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tynllwyn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tynllwyn Farm
Ranked #2 of 20 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Offa's Dyke stopover.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Tynllwyn Farm has accommodation in the main house plus cottages. Our party used both and it was all of a very high standard. The level of service and attention to detail is second to none. The optional set evening meal was very good in terms of both quantity and quality. They also served the best scrambled egg for breakfast that I've had in a long time. Great views, peaceful location, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave a wonderfull review, it was a pleasure meeting and and looking after you all hope you enjoyed your walking holiday.
Thank you very much
Dave and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
46
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

we somewhat invaded the place with our party of wedding guests for the weekend. Apart from the wonderful surroundings, very well equiped rooms and cottages the service was brilliant. Very friendly and attentive from the planning stages back last summer to accomodating all the guests and their various requests. Wonderful breakfast served for us all sat together as a family in one giant sitting. All request catered for with a smile. Lots of little bits of help to make things run smoothly including a pair of sissors for the ribon on the wedding transport. Despite our large party there were other guests too who appeared to be very much enjoying their stay too. Apologies for the kids running around too much at breakfast and thanks for your patience. I would highly recommend this brilliant B&B and the wonderful cottages. High quality accomondation, spotlessly clean, really high quality breakfast and very friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for great comments .Wonderfull family to look after .Hope to see you all again in the future .
Kind Regards
david jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here as part of a wedding party. I cannot imagine a more friendly, homely and relaxing place to spend the weekend. I had a twin room with ensuite. The view was outstanding. It was on a par with the view I had from my home in the South of France overlooking the bay of St. Tropez. The view from my bedroom was fields and greenery for miles around. It was a magical place to stay for the weekend. The cooked breakfast was perfect and tasted so fresh - probably because many, if not all, of the ingredients are homegrown or locally sourced. I highly recommend this place. We were a group with two children under the age of three and they were catered for perfectly as well.

Room Tip: I looked at lots of them and didn't see a 'bad' room. They were all cosy looking and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanzaibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hope This response get to you before you set of on your next walking expetition .It was a pleasure looking after you. .Thank you for your kind review .Hope to see you again .
thank you .
david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This amazing B&B was where our party of 6, who were walking Offa's Dyke, choose to spend two nights. So glad we did. What a beautiful place. Perched on a hill a few kilometres out of Welshpool, we couldn't have asked for more. The views were stunning, the rooms spacious and beautifully decorated and the service was second to none. Jane cooked us two amazing evening meals and the choice at breakfast was great. Nothing was too much trouble for David, who collected us from the Offa's Dyke path, took us into town on our day off and dropped us back to the path the following day. Loved having tea served in the beautiful sitting room from a real tea set. The gardens were lovely and it was just the most perfect place with the most perfect hosts. Thank you to Jane and David (who didn't always get our weird Aussie sense of humour) for a wonderful stay. From the 5 Aussies and the 1 ring in !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you all for your great comments we are so so glad you enjoyed the evening meals.And your short stay with us.And hope you enjoyed the rest of the offa's Dyke walk.
The weather has been so good for you a lot different to last year as it never stop raining
It would be great to see you all again to thank you pesonally.

Kind regards
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We have spent 1 night (25./26.06.2013) at Tynllwyn Farm and were absolutely satisfied with everything. The house as well as the owners made our stay as the best during our holidays in Scotland and Wales. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz-Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your great comments we are pleased you ejoyed your stay with us .Hope you both had a wonderful time in wales.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Dave & jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

With time against us, having tried other places in Welshpool that were booked up and after a phone call to Elaine at the Welshpool Tourist Information Centre we booked Tynllwyn Farm.

Not having a clue what to expect 3 intrepid aviators arrived at Welshpool Airfield 08/06/13 for the Air Show and after a short taxi ride we arrived at Tynllwyn Farm.

We were simply gob smacked as it has got the wow factor and to top it all our hosts Jane and David are extremely nice people. Thank you !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for a great review it was a pleasure looking after you .
I hope you enjoyed the air show .And hope to see you again if you fly in to welshpool airport again

Thank you all
David & jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

First class on all fronts. Makes my top ten in hundreds of B&B overnight stops. Great instructions on web site. Not oversold in any way. A wee gem and well worth a stay. Walkers made welcome but you could also wear your tiara.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Methilkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to wright a review on Tynllwyn farm. We really appreciate your positive comments. Hope you meet you again in the future.
Thank you
Dave, Jane and Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynllwyn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynllwyn Farm

Property: Tynllwyn Farm
Address: Groes Plaue, Welshpool SY21 9BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynllwyn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tynllwyn is a large Victorian farmhouse dated 1841. Guests are welcome on the farm all year round. The farm is approached up a long private drive a mile out of Welshpool with beautiful views of the Severn Valley and Long Mountain. Welshpool is a country market town in Mid Wales and we are ideally situated for lovely walks along Glyndwrs Way and Offas Dyke. We have many places of interest to visit, e.g. Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway (one of the great little steam trains of Wales), Canal Boat trips and beautiful Powis castle. Market day is held every Monday. There is also fishing, golf, pony trekking, quad bike trekking and a modern leisure centre with swimming pool, fitness suite and bowls hall. We are central for many worthwhile day trips to the North and West Coast. We also provide self catering barn conversions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tynllwyn Farm Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing