We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional all round couldn't have asked for anything mote”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tynllwyn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tynllwyn Farm
Ranked #1 of 20 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harleston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional all round couldn't have asked for anything mote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Turned up on the doorstep without booking wanting a twin room for 1 night for my daughter and I. House full but went out of their way to allow us to use an empty self catering appt instead. All with an exceptional breakfast and service and recommendation for a local pub for an evening meal. Cost £75 for the two of us. Will definitely be back thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline-Shadbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a great review, we are pleased you a enjoyed your stay with us , and I hope your daughter is feeling better after her short break!
Kind regards
Dave and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Three of us stayed for one night walking the Offas Dyke trail.Stunning location. Immaculate and outstanding accommodation.Delicious food...in fact one of the best meals i have ever had.Very welcoming. David kindly collected us,dried our boots, lent me books ...just perfect. Thank you to David, Jane & all the team of staff for such a memorable stay.We hope to return with our husbands.Barbara, Lyn & Helen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pewt0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and wonderful comments, it was a pleasure looking after you all, we are gald you enjoyd your stay with us, and hope to see you soon!
Thank you David and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This period farmhouse oozes the quality of a large Georgian/Victorian farmhouse. Outside there are gardens on all sides and magnificent views over the neighbouring farmland. Furnishing is something of mix of styles, it does not clutter the large rooms; for instance we had a large Victorian wardrobe, two basic armchairs and a 'dressing' chair, a tea table and a king size bed. The bathroom was a good size with good toiletries. The whole place is impeccably clean and interesting.
Breakfast was a sumptuous affair, charmingly served by David.
This is amongst the nicest B & B's we have stayed in; much better in so many ways than a hotel.

Room Tip: Easy to find, so don't worry about the rural location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review it was a pleasure looking after you
The comments regarding the house was most appreciated .

Many thanks
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at Tynllwyn Farm for a short holiday. It is set in magnificent countryside near Welshpool, an ideal location for tourists and walkers alike. The welcome and hospitality provided by David & Jane Emberton is second to none and very reasonably priced. The rooms are spacious, all with en suite, and exemplary in cleanliness and good taste. Nothing was too much trouble for a couple whose customer care is second to none.

Additionally, whilst there we met several walkers who were travelling along Offa's Dyke, using Tynllwyn as a stopping-off point. David provides a service ferrying luggage to the next stopover - who could ask for more?

There are also self-catering cottages on site that are equally as welcoming. Altogether a venue worth visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review it was nice to see you again we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .it was good to meet your wife on this occasion .
Hope to see you again in the future
Many thanks
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed her for two nights over the 26 & 27th June 2014 as we continued our Offas Dyke walking trip. There were 5 of us and we decided, as we were arriving a little late, to book an evening meal on the first night. Great decision as the food was excellent and plenty. Accommodation was very good and the hosts were very helpful at all times including getting us a taxi for the our second night in Welshpool. Breakfast was again superb on both quality and quantity and we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us .
It was a pleasure looking after you

Hope to see you in the future
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My second B&B on a short trip to Wales, and again I seemed to have struck gold. Welcomed on arrival and shown to a beautiful and huge bedroom, with a vast kingsize bed, and the most stunning view way across the valley. Everything you need provided, tea/coffee, armchairs, and of course TV, complete with quality soaps etc. and nice towels in a great bathroom.
No road noise means a good nights sleep, to wake to the view with the sun rising across the valley, NO hotel can offer this sort of morning, and peace.
All followed by a breakfast fit for champions.
Thoroughly recommended, would be ideal as a base for exploring Mid Wales.
On Tip, DON'T believe your sat nav completely, or you'll end up about a mile up the road, the turn to the farm is almost immediately to the left, less than 100 yards after you turn off the main road!

Room Tip: My room was No. 2. Huge, airy, comfortable, and a view to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamwolf1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments .we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
and hope to see you again next time you visit wales.
Many thanks
jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice farm accommodation, plenty of room and better than 4 star, welcoming host couldn't be more helpful! Good quiet location in the Welsh countryside, just outside Welshpool but only a short car journey to the town centre or local pubs for food or ale

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay .Look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thank you
jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynllwyn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynllwyn Farm

Property: Tynllwyn Farm
Address: Groes Plaue, Welshpool SY21 9BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynllwyn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tynllwyn is a large Victorian farmhouse dated 1841. Guests are welcome on the farm all year round. The farm is approached up a long private drive a mile out of Welshpool with beautiful views of the Severn Valley and Long Mountain. Welshpool is a country market town in Mid Wales and we are ideally situated for lovely walks along Glyndwrs Way and Offas Dyke. We have many places of interest to visit, e.g. Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway (one of the great little steam trains of Wales), Canal Boat trips and beautiful Powis castle. Market day is held every Monday. There is also fishing, golf, pony trekking, quad bike trekking and a modern leisure centre with swimming pool, fitness suite and bowls hall. We are central for many worthwhile day trips to the North and West Coast. We also provide self catering barn conversions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tynllwyn Farm Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing