We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable B&B”
Review of Powis Arms Hotel

Powis Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Powis Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed overnight as part of Offa's Dyke Walk. The new owners are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed chatting with them. Our room was comfortable and there was lots of hot water!
The food was excellent, the homemade curry is highly recommended. The beer was also extremely good and well kept.
We enjoyed our brief stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayTravelmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Convenient place to stay on Offa's Dyke trail. Huge portions of food at a reasonable price. Big room for B&B but in need of some TLC decoration wise so not sure it was worth what we paid. Good beer and breakfast and friendly owners though. Good selection of drinks in the room.

It is right next to the main road though so is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here as part of the Offa's Dyke hike. New owners are very friendly, and flexible with the food. Portions are very generous and offer good value for money. Convenient location close to the canal, but unfortunately also to a highly trafficked road with speeding cars.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emigre_grise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, friendly welcome, well worth a visit, great value for money! Leanne, Andy and the regulars make you feel very welcome. The gammon alone is worth a visit. Take a walk along the canal from Welshpool (approx 3 miles), beautiful walk and then a well deserved beverage...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited this pub for food as currently have caravan in Welshpool,
Greeted with a warm friendly welcome ,
Ordered food for 2 adults and 3 children
prices very good and did not wait too long to be served.
food was excellent with excellent service with a smile,
Will definitely return again for a superb meal when staying at our caravan

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dani197red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Powys Arms just after Leanne, Andy & Jack officially took over & had the warmist of welcomes. We stayed in a lovely comfortable double room with a massive king size bed & it had all we needed. We took in the local scenery & visited nearby Welshpool then enjoyed a fab evening in the bar with our hosts & the locals. We had a lovely full English breakfast the following morning before heading back to the midlands, which was a pleasant drive. We had a lovely stay & will definitely be back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowerstrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A lovely pub in a beautiful setting, we were made very welcome by Leanne and Andy and their locals. A great atmosphere. We stayed B and B the rooms are ideal, very comfy, with everything you need.
Close to Welshpool and very easy to get to.
If you want to chill out and relax in the beautiful Welsh countryside in a welcoming traditional pub, then this is the place for you.

Thanks Leanne and Andy I will definitely be coming back x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
3.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Welshpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red House Cottage
Red House Cottage
#2 of 3 in Guilsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Forden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powis Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powis Arms Hotel

Property: Powis Arms Hotel
Address: | Pool Quay, Welshpool SY21 9JS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly country pub / B&B, with 2 twins and 1 double en suite rooms, and a full English breakfast included. Situated 150 yards of the Montgomery canal path (back) and 50 yards from the River Severn (Offas Dyke path). Full menu on offer with lite bites or full evening meal. Beer garden with countryside views. All very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powis Arms Hotel Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing