We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stag Do Sept 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sutton Mawr Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sutton Mawr Farm
Ranked #3 of 9 Barry B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stag Do Sept 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This place is amazing. We had 14 of us stay here for my stag do, and we rented the whole place out for the weekend. The owners were more than helpful, breakfast was excellent both days, and the rooms are all excellent.

The owners were about in case we needed them, however we didnt see them much and were left to ourselves, so it really felt like the place was ours for the whole weekend.

The courtyard is great, all the rooms are around it (except gypsy rose) and the fire pit was put to good use. If the weather is good you can BBQ and there is a big table in the courtyard you can use.

The games room is where we spent most of our time, the pictures on the website dont do it justice. There is a big table that 14 of us all fit around easily for some poker, and the pool table was put to good use also!

Also in the games room, which isn't mentioned on the website, is a couple of decent speakers with an ipod dock, which was perfect for us.

For those inclined to use it, there is also a small gym. Needless to say we didnt venture in here!

I haven't rated the swimming pool as I didnt see or use it, and I gave room service top marks as, even though we didnt order any in the traditional sense, everything was provided for us in the main kitchen to help ourselves, and we were presented with cake upon our arrival!

Room Tip: All rooms are around the courtyard, and are as good as each other. The only exception to this is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Lovely house, location and staff. We stayed for a group stag and hen do and had a great weekend, everything was to a high standard with nice little touches. Plenty to keep us entertained. Brilliant facilities - including communal fire pit, outside pizza oven, swimming pool with a slide, tennis court, dog friendly and more than adequate dining space for 18 inside and out.

The food was brilliant and we were really looked after - really nice to have a good selection of breakfast cooked and served to us, whilst having exclusive use of the house. Only suggestion would be to make kitchen equipment and utensils more accessible for self catering within the main house.

Thanks so much for a great stay, we would to come back and would definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here for a sunny weekend in May with my daughter and all her hens. It was absolutely gorgeous! Its beautifully decorated with no expense spared. An amazing breakfast for everyone with all fresh farm produce and served Al Fresco around a huge table in the courtyard. We could have been in the South of France. The hosts were great fun and very patient with the hens. We were so lucky with the weather. It couldn't have been better!

Room Tip: All lovely but the large family room in the attic looks great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just one night here but would definitley go back.
Rooms were tidy and private, owners helpful and relaxed and the breakfast was spot on even for me who can be quite critical.
Might be nice to get several rooms in summer as plenty of space outside to drink/BBQ

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Visiting family in Rhoose, we ended up in the Brecon Suite (upgraded because we were the only ones there and had our baby daughter with us), which was absolutely perfect. Our room was enormous, with plenty of space to hang out after the baby went to sleep. The kid room has a bunk bed and they moved a cot (crib, to us Americans) in for our daughter, which made it a tight fit, but it didn't matter at all, since she only slept in there. The bathroom was large enough for a family, and the suite is separate from the other guest rooms, so even if there had been others there they would not have heard our daughter hollering as she slowly acclimated to the 6-hour time change. Breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread, fresh croissants, fruit, yogurt, excellent ham and smoked salmon, cheese, tons of kinds of cereal. We felt bad we didn't eat more of it! Vicci also left us a homemade cake each night, which was a great treat after a long day visiting family. Mark gave us a tour of the farm one morning and let my son gather eggs, see new lambs and young pigs, feed the chickens, and pet the cows. We have decided to make this our go-to B&B every time we visit the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuseoffireAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I visited Sutton Mawr with a huge group of friends to celebrate a hen party. It was perfect, what I imagine Cath Kidston's house to look like. Great hosts, wonderful food, beautiful rooms, excellent facilities and stunning location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage, which sleeps six and would be great for a family. We had our own kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were lucky enough to book the complex for our son's wedding party. Lovely rooms, super breakfasts, great staff and ambience. Nothing was too much trouble for Mark, Vicci and all the staff. They produced a wonderful post wedding lunch for 50 people, set in the courtyard, on the Sunday. The sun shone all week-end too! Many thanks, a wonderful base for our age group - from 9 weeks to 90 years old!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine_B332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
1.4 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
1.4 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
2.2 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#5 of 5 in Barry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Mawr Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Mawr Farm

Property: Sutton Mawr Farm
Address: Sutton Mawr Waycock Road, Barry CF62 3AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Barry
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are set in 14 acres in the heart of the beautiful Vale countryside, yet only 15 minutes from Cardiff. Easy access to M4 at junctions 33 and 34. Near Cowbridge and five minutes from Cardiff Airport. Charming individually designed luxurious bedrooms, all with en-suite, set in a delightful beautiful French style courtyard sympathetically renovated to the highest standard of comfort and privacy, in a quiet country setting. Highly recommended. For our full English and continental breakfasts we provide our own free range produce from the farm to be served in the dining room. Accommodation comprises of 3 luxury bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms, 1 luxurious disabled elderly and child friendly suite with en-suite wet room, 1 spacious cottage sleeping up to six people, 1 romantic railway carriage for two Sleeping up to 20 people, ideal for small groups. Bespoke conference/corporate packages can be offered to suit every occasion. We have our own helicopter landing pad. Disabled, elderly, child and dog friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sutton Mawr Farm Barry, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing