We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a crackin' tour! Must do for fans :)”
Review of Brit Movie Tours

Brit Movie Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.20*
and up
Gavin and Stacey TV Locations Tour of Barry Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit locations from the TV show in and around Barry Island including the church Nessa nearly gets married at, Stacey’s home, Marco’s cafe and much more.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's a crackin' tour! Must do for fans :)”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This tour was well above expectation. It was so much fun, and very informative! We got to visit the West's household, and the owner is a lovely woman. Barry Island is a beautiful little spot, the scenery we got to see on the tour was wonderful too!

Can't fault this tour, was worth the trip from Tasmania! haha!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RB26VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    9
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great fun - Calling all Gavin and Stacey fan's.”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My boyfriend found the Gavin and Stacey tour online and booked it straight away – we big fans and like to do different things – we never have been to Barry so was a good reason to go.

The tickets are £21.00 and there are tours on Saturday and Sunday bookable online and start at 130pm at Barry Island train station (not to be confused with Barry station) we waited to be greeted by Dave Coaches this is the original one used and you can see it is nearly on its last legs but makes it all so more real.
The tour leader Brenda handed us all a singing sheet the tour was sold out and the coach full! We headed to the church then the hotel Tadross where the christing of baby Neil was! We also visited the House of Stacey’s which is owned by a lady who kindly let us walk around, take pictures and let us nose around this was very surreal seeing Bryn’s house across the road and Doris house next door.

Overall was a great trip we ended up at Marcos where Stacey worked in the last series we had photos visited the arcade where Nessa worked. We really enjoyed the trip and recommend this to any Gavin and Stacey fan.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyReading.Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley / UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A "must do" tour”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I decided to book the tour as a result of my wife and staying in Cardiff for a romatic weekend.

Barry Island is only a 20 mins drive so I would recomend staying in Cardiff as Barry does not really have the best hotels.

The tour was booked on line with very little effort and the staff were most helpfull.

On the day of the tour, we arrived at the pick up point on Barry Island and was greeted by the original Daves Coaches bus.The eaxact one they used in the series. This was going to be our tour bus for the full duration of the tour......Brilliant.

Everyone was greeted by a brilliant tour guide and throughout the tour the background music was from the series.

I dont want to spoil the surprises so I will let you enjoy tour.

Great value for money and the Fish & Chips at Boofys was the icing on the cake.

If you are a Gavin & Stacey fan please make sure you do not miss this supperb tour.

Cracking value at £21 per person.

Dave & Paula

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings' Lynn, NORFOLK
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this excursion was lush!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

we travelled from Norfolk to attend this tour, a little nervous, and hoping not to be ripped off like so many companies do nowadays. we stayed in the holiday inn hotel in Rhoose, about a stones throw from Barry Island, and was very pleased with accommodation and its cleanliness/service.As advertised, Daves coach arrived on time to pick us up. It was fully booked and i was told that it always is, so it is advisable to prebook.When we got on, we were introduced to one another and given song sheet for us to sing along to songs from the series throughout the trip!The guide was excellent, and took us to the house, the church, the pub where the christening took place(and we had a pint or two while having a gavin and stacey quiz!and we went to the beach and sat in the booth where nessa works and had photo opportunities throughout the trip.A really fun and enjoyable experience, lasting about 3 hours or so. I would definately recommend it to Gavin and Stacey fans Tidy!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank caff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience - a must for Gavin & Stacey fans!”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We went on the tour on Sat 23.04.11. We drove all the way from Ayrshire to Barry and it was worth every mile of the drive. We stayed in Cardiff and Barry was only a short drive to get to.

We were picked up in the original Dave's coach from the programme. We went to the Church where Stacey & Gav got married, baby Neil was christened and where Nessa & Dave almost got married. We then went to the pub where they had baby Neil's christening and had a wee drink. Then it was onto 47 Trinity Street to Gwen & Stacey's house. The owner Glenda told us all about the show and let us look round her house and even take pictures pretending to make an omelette! she was an absolute gem. We also got to see the outside of Doris's and Uncle Bryn's. We then headed down to Marco's cafe and Barry Island where we got to sit in Nessa's change booth and see the amusements and the beach etc.

The tour itself was fab but i need to highlight the great service we received from our guide Dave and the coach driver, Andrew. We got lost getting to Barry Station from Cardiff and called the Brit Move Tour office to ask if they could hold the coach. They kindly obliged and called the driver. He then called us back to check where we were only to realise we were at Barry Rail Station and not Barry Island Station. Dave & Andrew came over to pick us up and even dropped us back at the wrong location despite it being our fault. They could not have been more understanding or have provided better customer service. These two men are an asset to the company. This was our first trip to Wales and despite an unruly sat nav we have a great time and were made to feel so welcome by everyone, especially Dave & Andrew. They both do a great job and the tour wouldn't be as successful without them.


A big thank you to you all for making it such a great day and we recommend it to all!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank blondbombsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brit Movie Tours also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Brit Movie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing