We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good nights sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

What can I say apart from I paid £77 for 2 nights and it was probably the best stay I've had in ages. Can't fault it! Staff were very friendly in both the hotel and the Brewers Fayre. I suppose it's all about manners though so if you're nice to them, then that's what you get back. Food reasonable, beer cheap could not do enough for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    176
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
272
181
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

New modern hotel located in Barry which is 8 miles from Cardiff Bay. Comfortable rooms, plenty of parking with a Brewers Fayre right next door. We ate dinner as a family of 4 for under £40. Recommend+

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A very good value hotel with very good facilities,situated in an area of historic interest. This hotel is very close to railway stations and bus routes and is ideal for walking the 'weatherman walk' which was varied and interesting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 633Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

A very good reasonably priced hotel, very comfortable beds with a choice of pillows. Well equipped bathroom with toiletries and soft towels. Adjoining Beefeater restaurant for breakfast and dinner both meals were good and reasonably priced as was the bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a new-ish Premier Inn, built in 2012. Rooms are a decent size and the beds are very comfortable. There is a combined heating and air con system which you may be glad of! The windows are permanently sealed so you can't open them even if you want to. Some of the rooms have a decent view over the waterfront.

At the time of writing there is extensive redevelopment going on near to the hotel and the very large diggers kick off at 0700. You will be glad of the efficient double glazing!

Staff are the usual well drilled and polite Premeir Inn types. As usual, excellent service from the staff.

Adjacent Brewers Fayre is not one of the best I have been in. Evening food was delivered quickly but very average taste and composition. Breakfast again, only ok but efficiently done.

One down side [for me] is that you can't get a morning paper at this hotel.

Handy for Barry railway station and 20 minutes into Cardiff centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located on the dock/marina this is a new hotel. Very clean and tidy with very helpful and knowledgable staff. Close to the town centre and supermarket it is in an ideal place. Access to Cardiff is very easy too. I can highly recommend this hotel but cannot comment on the adjoining restaurant as we ate in the nearby Morrisons.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanya, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were so happy staying in the Premier Inn last year for Christmas and New Year, we decided to do it again. We were not disappointed. We enjoyed a warm welcome and family atmosphere with all members of staff friendly, courteous and cheerful throughout our 5 week stay. The reception staff and housekeeping staff could not have been kinder and more helpful with lots of little extras which meant so much. On a previous stay earlier in the year we got married and staff left cards, petals and gifts in our room. Again on our return there were Christmas cards waiting for us and a bottle of wine to welcome us as well. We couldn't ask for more. In particular Richard Hunt the Deputy Manager helped ensure our bookings were planned carefully so we stayed in the same room without having to change. He reserved our Christmas lunch at the Brewers Fayre in advance of our arrival as we were abroad and continued to be always helpful and kind throughout our stay. All members of staff make hotel a wonderful and comfortable place for a short or long stay, they should be commended.

Room Tip: Second floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonVillaAlanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
0.3 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#4 of 5 in Barry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
10.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
4.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
Address: Triangle Site Hood Road | Fford Y Mileniwm the Waterfront, Barry CF62 5QN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're seeking the seashore or sampling the delights of the city, Premier Inn Hotel Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) puts you in prime position. Perfect for exploring the capital, coast and countryside. Zip into central Cardiff. Bust out the bucket and spade. Go behind the scenes on the Gavin and Stacey tour. Or take a wild ride at the Pleasure Park. And when it's time for some shut eye, return to our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds Directions: From M4 take exit 33 for A4232, follow signs for A4050, then pass through 8 roundabouts, turn left onto Trinity Street, then turn right onto A4055/Broad Street. Continue for 0.2 Miles and turn left for the Premier Inn. Transport and local information: Barry Rail Station 0.4 Miles Barry Island Rail Station 1.2 Miles Barry Docks Rail Station 1 mile Cardiff-Wales International Airport 3.5 Miles National Museum Cardiff 9.5 Miles St. Fagans National History Museum 7.5 Miles Barry Memorial Hall Theatre 0.8 Miles Odeon, Cardiff 8 miles Fonmon Castle 5.4 Miles Porthkerry Country Park 2 miles Barry Island/Amusement World 1 mile The Knap Beach 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing