We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadwaladers - Barry Island

Cadwaladers - Barry Island
Ranked #33 of 108 Restaurants in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) And now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes. So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafes and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived on Barry Island, having recently moved to the area and deciding that it had to be done (Gavin and Stacey and all that!). The front is having money spent on it so when it is finished it will be very nice. We looked at a few different cafes but decided that Cadwaladers was definitely the pick of the bunch. Big comfy seats, a pleasant atmosphere with nice decor was just right. We ordered coffees and bacon rolls which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The service was prompt and polite, and we had an enjoyable, relaxing hour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit!
Hope to see you again soon :)

Kind Regards
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    12
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently visited this establishment one sunny Saturday afternoon. A lot of the tables had not been cleared and the floor looked messy and dirty. I ordered a Knickerbocker Glory but basically all I got was jelly and ice cream with a blob of whipped cream. No fruit or syrup which are vital ingredients in this classic dessert. How they can call it Knickerbocker Glory is beyond me. The ice cream was nice but that's about all. Shan't be rushing back there!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaynorwales10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We take customer satisfaction very seriously, so we really appreciate your feedback.

We expect an extremely high level of customer service and pride ourselves on our excellent quality products.
Therefore we are very sorry you did not receive this on your visit.
The incident will be investigated, please email: info@cadwaladers.com with more information and a contact address so that we may let you know our findings and rectify the situation.

Kind Regards
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply excellent (friends esque)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

On a brief visit to Barry Island is place has to be by far the least tacky and by a mile the best coffee house in the area. Six of us rocked up and had a mixture of drinks they were all excellent. The atmosphere here was spot on, we all enjoy this part of our visit. Would recommend this as a must when visiting Barry island when your feed up with all the tack tastic tourist stuff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidiboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review!


We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Slow, leaving plenty of time to see the filth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Ordered some bacon sandwiches on Saturday morning, one member if staff on so it took a little while, no problem. Ordered a second coffee a little later which took 20 mins!!! Patience run out.... During the course of eating my little boy dropped his sandwich whilst picking it up I realised how filthy the floor was, along with the food residue under the sofa cushions..... Not impressed, relaxed service I could endure if I didn't have to do so looking at someone else's food leftovers

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie19741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Debbie,
Thank you for your feedback.
We take customer satisfaction very seriously so appreciate your message.
We are very sorry that you did not receive the quality of service we expect from all our stores and have become know for.
This incident will be fully investigated by our area manager within the next 7 days.

Please email: paul@cadwaladers.com
With further details and contact information so that we can rectify the situation.
Thank you,
Kind Regards
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having grown up near Criccieth, any time I see the word Cadwaladers, I think Ice Cream... and for a good reason.

Who cares if it is -5DegC. It is Cadwaladers.

I'm not a fan of the Coffee House concept (just a personal preference) but it was comfortable with free wifi and a great selection of cakes served by enthusiastic and cheerful staff.

Back to the Ice Cream - I'll be honest, I believe it has lost a little of it's superb quality from the days when it was churned/made closer to home in Criccieth and I believe is now "mass produced" by a supplier rather than with the previous "personal" devotion.

However, this step down in quality only takes it from the previously celestial to the currently divine.

Not to be missed. Cadwaladers Vanilla ice cream continues to never be bettered. By anyone else. Anywhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Patrick,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We pride ourselves on our customer satisfaction, so are pleased you have received our quality customer service.
The decision to move factories was not one we made lightly however it was right for the growing company to move to a top of the line factory which is up to the highest standards in cleanliness and quality to produce the same great ice cream our customers love.

We assure you that the recipe for our famous ice cream has not changed one bit, we have only tried to improve quality and productivity for our customers satisfaction.

Thank you for your visit, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwaladers - Barry Island also viewed

 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cadwaladers - Barry Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing