We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Barry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberthaw House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Wonderful staff , Helen is so nice and friendly ,nothing is too much , she even push started my car , rooms great , spotless, food beautiful , a gourmet could not fault . Just great ... cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

secound stay, on my return to home , the girls are first class, funny and friendly
they remembered us fromthe last visit lol,
rooms are first class, and the food is exellent, if you get the chance stay there.
cant wait for the next time xx

Room Tip: all rooms are good :}
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I won't lie to you, staying at the Aberthaw was the best decision I could have made. We arrived in the Island really early as we left in the middle of night to avoid the traffic, after a cappuccino at Marcos (legendary) we found the Aberthaw, I popped in to let them know we were here and to say that we were going off sightseeing and would be back at check in time, and we were greeted by one of the loveliest ladies I have ever met, friendly and a cracking welsh accent! she said, you can check in to your room now!!! at 9 in the morning, Tidy! I immediately knew who fabulous our stay would be from that moment and hadn't even seen the room, but as I suspected the room was gorgeous, with a fab view over Barry, the bathroom was lovely, and so clean!!! The staff could not have been more lovely, I was with my 13 year old son and every time they saw him, they called him by name, making us feel so at home and very welcome. The breakfast was incredible, they are so accommodating that nothing was to much trouble, and I can definitely say it was the best full 'welsh' breakfast I have ever had! On the table there were homemade Jams and Marmalades, which were absolutely delicious!

The two days we stayed could not have been more perfect, how lucky were we to have discovered this jewel in Barry, and it was hard to leave, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and can not wait to stay there again, believe me, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What makes this such a delightful place to stay is Thelma, Helen and Dee. They couldn't be more helpful, giving useful tips on where to go and what to see. Dee kept us amused and entertained over breakfast, which was the best we'd ever had. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and very comfortable. Ideally placed for visiting Cardiff and Barry. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid the corporate, impersonal chain hotels. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenG362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Aberthaw House Hotel. I was there visiting prospective clients in Newport and the surrounding area, and due to it being Half-Term I brought my wife and daughter along for a break. We felt Barry would be a good choice, so my daughter could play at the seaside and the park there. I travel a lot for business, and normally stay in Premier Inns for work as you know what you're getting. There was a Premier Inn in Barry, but as I wasn't alone, we looked around a bit more, and chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a very large converted house, and is in very good condition, home-from-home!! The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. We never had dinner there, but I'm sure it would have great considering the breakfasts were very good. They made a fuss of our young daughter, to the extent that when we returned home, she said she really missed them! The room was a good size and had all you needed...comfy beds, kettle, tea/coffee, iron, digital TV with iPod dock. The hotel was in a good location, close to the town, Barry Island, and the Wetherspoons! There is a nice bar in the hotel too, which has Peroni on tap! The hotel was excellent, but the staff made it even better, and we would have no hesitation recommending it to guests for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelWBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Small but very friendly. The room we were in was a good size with a big bathroom including a bath and power shower.All staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast - we had the fry up - everything cooked fresh with a constant supply of tea and coffee. Thanks to everyone for making it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A friendly warm welcome from the staff at the Aberthaw. The room as usual, was of a high standard. The breakfast was perfect. Nothing is too much trouble for those lovely Welsh gals.Mrs Floggerty was on top form .The place wouldn't be the same without her fantastic french accent. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
0 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#5 of 5 in Barry
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberthaw House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberthaw House Hotel

Address: 28 Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7AX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aberthaw House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ABERTHAW HOUSE HOTEL, set in the charming West End of Barry only 20 mins from the M4. We are the ideal location for exploring South Wales, Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. For those of you who are looking for accommodation for work, we are only 10 mins drive from Dow Corning, and other industrial sites in the area. You will be assured of a memorable stay in one of our en-suite rooms all with Digital TV, free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee. We are located within a 5 minute walk from the train station, meaning Cardiff Centre and all its attractions such as Stadium, is just a 20 minute journey. Also close by (4 miles) is Cardiff Wales International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aberthaw House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberthaw Hotel Barry
Aberthaw House Hotel Barry, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing