We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberthaw House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aberthaw House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this lovely little hotel on a recent trip to Wales and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent and the service very friendly and personal. We appreciated that our dog was also welcome.
We loved it all; thank you; we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
47
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent four nights at this hotel. It is small and exceptionally welcoming! Nothing was too much trouble for Helen and dee, her sister. They were attentive without being over bearing. Very funny at times! Helen booked tables at local restaurants for us (and they were walking distance!) The breakfasts were fantastic and could be customised to each individuals taste! I would thoroughly recommend the Aberthaw if you are in the area. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gandt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have just spent two nights at this hotel and was blown away with the friendliness of the owners and the food was excellent to.

Very good walks available and lots to do if you venture out at night.

Will not hesitate to book in here again on my next visit to South Wales.

Keep up the excellent standards you have set here along with the friendliness you show to all guests.

Also met some nice people who also stay here regularly.

Room Tip: All rooms would be to the same high standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

It's a bit of a mystery to us why the Aberthaw Hotel is scoring top marks on this site. There are some positive things. The owner and her staff are very friendly and helpful, the place is clean and warm and our room and en suite were a good size. However, there is no way this could be described as a "hotel" let alone a hotel with 3 stars. It's a fairly basic B&B. There is a small lounge with a corner bar but it was locked for most of our stay. There are no other public facilities. We were told to keep our key with us in case there was no one around to let us in when we got back. It's old fashioned in its decor, we found it small and a bit claustrophobic. The breakfast menu is basic - good toast and coffee and proper leaf tea - but limited choice - for example, a fairly basic request for beans on toast couldn't be filled. The wifi drops on and off and even when it's on the signal isn't great. £65 per night isn't extortionate but we felt it was a little over priced. Anyone arriving by foot should note that the Aberthaw is up two very steep hills which would present a problem for anyone with mobility issues. We arrived here on our last stop on a 2 week holiday where we stayed in around 8 different places throughout Wales - this was easily the most basic and not the cheapest by any means. So, if it's a fairly plain B&B you're after then fine - but don't expect the "3 star hotel" as advertised.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This small B & B hotel stands out for plenty of reasons: Its central location offers an easy walk to shopping and dining. Built on a hill, it presents great views of the area. Room #2, which we booked for two nights in late May, offered lovely views of Barry and Barry Island through the modern windows that open easily. Nice touches include Seville orange marmalade and strawberry jam made in house, fresh sautéed mushrooms, and good pod coffee. But best of all is the knowledgeable proprietor, Helen Redbourn, who runs the establishment with assistance from her sister and mother. Their lively humour and long experience in the hotel industry make guests feel very much at home. The #1 rating in Barry is well earned and deserved, in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked single room but was upgraded to double with great views over Barry. Great breakfasts and welcoming host Helen. Very close to trains and buses. Minutes from Barry Island. Room was spotless. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Best room is room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culturevulture23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights, when we were attending the rugby finals in Cardiff. It was perfectly situated to get the train in to the city, and also for walking into Barry for food. The staff are really friendly, and the full welsh breakfast a delight. The rooms were clean, and tastefully decorated and really comfy beds. A real little gem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
0.0 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#5 of 5 in Barry
2.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
1.4 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#4 of 5 in Barry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
7.0 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberthaw House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberthaw House Hotel

Property: Aberthaw House Hotel
Address: 28 Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7AX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aberthaw House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ABERTHAW HOUSE HOTEL, the friendliest hotel in Barry. Set in the charming West End of Barry only 20 minutes from the M4. We have the ideal location for exploring South Wales, Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. For those of you who are looking for accomodation in Barry for work, we are only 10 mins drive from Dow Corning, Barry Docks and all the industrial sites in the area. Also close by is Aberthaw Power Station and Lafage Cement works. You will be assured of a memorable stay in one of our en-suite rooms all with Digital TV, free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea/coffee. We are located within a 5 minute walk from the train station, meaning Cardiff Centre and all its attractions such as Millenium Stadium, is just a 20 minute journey. Also close by (4 miles) is Cardiff Wales International Airport. Relax in our newly refurbished Tapas bar with a beer or Segafredo coffee. You also have the choice to wine. We cater for business parties, families and couples. Long or short stay, you won't be disappointed. Please check out our facilities and services - we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aberthaw House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberthaw Hotel Barry
Aberthaw House Hotel Barry, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing