We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Delicatessen

The Delicatessen
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Pontyclun
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I tried the deli for the first time yesterday and the food is first class. Great friendly service as well. Definitely recommend the quiche salad. Just a shame I was too full for cake, but that gives me an excuse to go back.

Helpful?
Thank helsbels82Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come into it's own!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have known this delightful establishment under it's prior management, and thought it was great then, But the current owner has breathed life and love into this much beloved local deli! The effort being put into making customers experiences ones to remember is un-bound! The food is always astounding, and customer suggestions and requests are warmly welcome and often integrated! With ever expanding and improving choices, variety and even some experiments, it's more than worth a visit! It's worth being your weekly destination!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethGilesGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Went into The Delicatessen as I was passing with a friend, the window display drew me in with its wonderful colours and quirkiness. The shop itself is rather shabby chic and very homely. I had a latte and chose a vanilla syrup to go in it, it was to die for!! The cakes all looked amazing, really mouthwatering! I settled on a slice of the carrot cake and it was heavenly. Each slice looks a little different so it shows that they're all handmade with love and attention. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and have a wonderful rapport with the regular customers! Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be visiting again soon!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carysmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deli- CIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderfully friendly atmosphere, gorgeous food from staff who know great quality and high standards!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethGilesGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly haven with stunning homely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

The Deli has totally transformed Pontyclun's food offering for the better. There's a fantastic range of homemade quiches, cakes and salads to eat in or out. Morning bacon rolls are stunning, with bread delivered fresh each morning by a guy from Church Village. Greggs it ain't, either in cost or quality, and there's no shame in that because this is beautiful food cooked up by people passionate about food, and they deserve every penny in my opinion. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fromagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Delicatessen also viewed

Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff
Talbot Green, Pontyclun
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing