We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise meal for a wonderful friend a party of 16” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryncae Arms

Bryncae Arms
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Pontyclun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise meal for a wonderful friend a party of 16”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A very warm and welcoming atmosphere, the service and food was very good, will definitely go again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have eaten here five times over the last few months with friends and have never been disappointed with the meals. The choice and standard of the food is excellent with everything cooked from scratch. The swordfish is by far the nicest I have ever tasted and the little touches with the presentation of the food makes the meal an enjoyable experience. We cannot understand why the Bryncae Arms is not bursting at the seams with customers as this is easily the best restaurant in the area, even beating the restaurants in Cowbridge which are far more expensive!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gren199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5* Food, Drinks and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Have recently started popping into this pub/restaurant and love it.

The staff are all friendly and show genuine interest in the guests and what they do.

The food is gorgeous and is always top notch.

The locals who eat/drink there are again as friendly as the staff and proves as a great place to take kids also.

Will be eating drinking and visiting again very soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesfox316 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We've gone past the pub a few times and decided we'd pop in and see what it's like. We weren't expecting much, but the food was very nice. The barman who served us was lovely, very friendly and chatty!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice place to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We've eaten in the Bryncae a few times and stopped for a pint on even more occasions. The landlord and landlady are usually behind the bar which stocks a few different types of drinks that you don't see in a lot of pubs (things like Westons fruit ciders). I love the decor here as it is a very tall and open space and the food is very reasonably priced for good home cooked food.

On the menu is everything from burgers and steaks to veggie options and even an exotic meats selection and during the week they do nights such as curry night which is very good value as the price includes a drink.

The food is always of a generous portion, consistent and piping hot and we will return shortly I am sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank i_am_plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryncae Arms also viewed

Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Talbot Green, Pontyclun
 

Been to Bryncae Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing