We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An artists paradise”
Review of Giles Gallery

Giles Gallery
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Pontyclun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Giles Gallery is a working studio, bringing together a range of creating aspects in the inspirational atmosphere of the family run converted church. Daily art classes and workshops, art supplies, framing service as well as monthly rotating art and craft exhibitions. A huge range of original pieces of art and craft as well as gifts for sale. In house artists offering extraordinary value on tailor made commissioned artworks/ paintings.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An artists paradise”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited this place looking for some artwork, and heard this had some fine art from local artists. The owner Beth, has a real passion for her work and is very helpful and knowledgable and I felt I had the help needed to make a choice.

Give this a place a go if you want a step away from the fat cats of art and get some nice little artworks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A diamond in the community”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A lovely place with interesting arts and crafts made both by herself and other artists.

Beth provides a wonderful service to the community offering bespoke pieces, regular and diverse classes, and taking a massive role in organising numerous local events (e.g. a stained glass window competition to raise money for the local church). Her work is often exhibited at local shows.

On a personal level, Beth did a beautiful sketch of a guitarist we had performing at our first acoustic music night last year (I run a local pub) - when my partner found out about it, he snapped it up for my birthday. Best present ever!! It hangs proudly in our function room for all to admire.

Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJSmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of local arts and crafts perfect for unusual gifts.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Giles gallery has it all, helpful staff,wonderful artwork and courses for all ages and abilities. A must visit in pontyclun. Beth and sheila have helped me on more than one occasion sourcing materials to help me with craft projects without the need for me to get in the car. last time I was in the shop I watched with delight some local young people highly absorbed in an art class. Beth had then totally focused their finished pieces were amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank res55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beddau, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

smashing little shop lots of activities good for kids of all ages definitely worth a browse only quality stuff here crafts that wont break the bank and so much more Beth did some fab paintings of our dogs and they do all sorts of arty stuff classes etc

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annedavies16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get that special gift!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely shop packed full of interesting and unusual art and crafts from local artists. There is something for everyone, to suit all tastes and pockets. If you are stuck for a gift or want artwork for your own home this shop is a must. They also do art classes (very popular and judging by the students output, worthwhile). The owners are so helpful and friendly as well. Its a real asset to the village and definitely worth a look. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giles Gallery also viewed

Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan

Been to Giles Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing