We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 100% Saintly!”
Review of Three Saints Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Three Saints Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not 100% Saintly!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Needed to be close to a local hospital so found the "Three Saints" via Laterooms.com. The room smelt of stale smoke - strange for a no-smoking establishment. The heating was controllable which was a bonus. The bed was made up with fresh white linen so no grumbles there. The bathroom, however, is in serious need of updating. A dislodged bath panel, tired mirror and the shower head and shower curtain rail were both rusty. The toilet flush was erratic. The bedrooms allowed quite a bit of noise through - upstairs had a cough and I now have an intimate knowledge of the occupant's toileting habits! Breakfast kicked off at 6.30 a.m. (super if you need an early start) so I decided to get in early to ensure it was a little more fresh (guess it's out for 6.30) - the cooked food was reasonable. Tea was ready made in a push-down dispensing flask. The cereal selection was poor and stored in somewhat grubby containers that needed to be replaced.
All in all somewhat overpriced for what was on offer - I've been fortunate to stay in some top quality hotels (reflected in the price) and many Travelodges and Premier Inns - never thought I'd say it, but some Travelodges out-strip the Three Saints.
The staff I met were polite and smiley.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calmorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    26
    12
    44
See reviews for
33
47
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent-
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I'm really not going to waste too much time reporting on this very tired hotel. But I'l summarize with a few choice words-
Dirty
Smelly
Tired
Nasty
Cheap

Book yourself into the premier Inn 2 miles down the road. I do however have one positive note, the staff were at leaset cheerful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pontyclun hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Over priced. Very dated interior. Unclean and mouldy bathroom which had carpet that smelt of urine. Everything was budget apart from the price. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairysarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is in a very picturesque and lovely touist area, but don't be fooled by the scenery as it is anything but scenic. The rooms are a good enough size but very dated, scruffy and tired. By the look of them they've not been updated for many, many years.
My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room which had a double and a single bed. The first thing we noticed was the overwhelming stench of stale cigarette smoke which hung in the room and clung for our 2 night stay in the bathroom. We had to get an air freshner off the room service trolley and fumigate it ourselves. Unfortunately we couldn't get the smell removed from the bathroom, which was a sight to behold. Lots of black mould on the ceiling and around the bath with a shower over it that you would have needed a Phd in Astro Physics to work out how to use as the controls did the exact opposite to what you thought they appeared to say. The shower curtain pole was completely rusted and one word comes to mind..... Depressed!! Well you would be if you stayed more than one night'!!!! The stench of stale cigarettes was overwhelming. There were stains on the wall beside the bed which looked old and no attempt had been made to clean off. The bed base had no covering valance and staples were sticking out all over it, the dark and dated furniture was scuffed and wobbly and the electric sockets consisted of a very dodgy looking 4 gang plug system hanging below the dressing table on a nail. At one point I tried to call reception on a very old and manky phone only to discover that it wasn't connected up, so had to pull the furniture out to find it to make the call!! The service was intermitent and grudging at times and finding reception staff most times was like the quest for the Holy Grail!!!!!!!! On our last night we got locked out for 10 minutes in the rain as one of the night staff as on the phone and ignored our attempts to get in!!!! The only upside is that the bed was reasonably comfy and the bedding was clean. There ends tne pluses!!!! The rooms need to be gutted and brought into the current century! We had many Fawlty Towers moments and if ever John Cleese needed a film set to do a new series..... This hotel would fit the bill.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here in a large group for the rugby.

Check in was efficient and we were allowed to check in early on account of rugby starting at 12 so we could freshen up after our long journey. The staff were very pleasant and really helpful. There is a bus stop at the end of the road which takes you into Cardiff £5.60 return or day rider £5.10 or a really easy to get to park and ride if you prefer to drive in.
Our room was comfortable and an iron and ironing board were made available on request.
The breakfast was delicious with plenty of food even at 9.00 in the morning.
Tried the restaurant and again could not fault the food.
I came here full of doubt after reading the negative reviews posted on this site, all I can say that if you want 5* accommodation then pay the 5* price tag. I have stayed in Premier/Travel Lodge and must say I preferred the personal, friendly service made available at this family run hotel.
For the price I was definately happy with my choice and would recommend it to anybody wanting a cheap weekend away.
Thank you to Onkar, Rhys and Rhys' mum for making this a great weekend. Pity about the rugby result but you can't have everything. See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at #the Three Saints in Jan 2010 and had stayed there in Oct 2009 We were very satisified with all tings there
The rooms are comfortable, and warm as it was in the winter we were pleased
The staff friendly and helpful
The food very good and a friendly bar with television screens
We will definatley use this Hotel again whenever we have to stay in this area

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude60Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

hotel was one of the best I have stayed in im disabled the staff were so helpful,the room were clean and I had the best nights sleep ever ,it may not be the ritz but clean and comfortable ,food in the Mint resturant excellent , and the breakfasts to die for will be back thank you Three saints cant wait to return ,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiblue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
2.9 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
408 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Saints Hotel

Property: Three Saints Hotel
Address: Llantrisant Business Park | Opposite Royal Mint, Pontyclun CF72 8YT, Wales (Formerly Black Prince Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Three Saints Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Three Saints Hotel. We are a friendly family run hotel situated in South Wales on the M4 corridor who pride ourselves on customer service. The Three Saints Hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms. We have a choice of Twin, Double and Family rooms. All rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities, colour television and comfortable beds. We have free WiFi throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant. Breakfast consists of a Full English buffet style breakfast or a range of healthy cereals and fruit. We cater for individuals, groups and corporate bookings. We have an extensive bar and Indian menu. Our traditional style pub has great a range of drinks and large screen for those big matches and is available to all our guests . Are you a contractor or business person? We are well suited for contractors and business people alike. We offer 35 en-suite bedrooms, which is perfect for accommodating contractors and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Three Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Saints Hotel
Three Saints Pontyclun
Three Saints Hotel Pontyclun, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing