We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place to stay but does the job.”
Review of Three Saints Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Saints Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

If you need something that will put a roof over your head but little more this is the place. The rooms where tierd and a damp but clean. TVs worked and the water was warm. The bar was open late and lively. The staff were very helpful and friendly making it an acceptable place to crash.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMickyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed with a couple of friends, we were down for a cycling event nearby, this was the only local option.

1st impressions were not great, the outside of the hotel could do with some work- can you imagine the moment you wonder how many wheels your car will have tomorrow?

Things quickly picked up- the fella on reception was welcoming and very helpful; the rooms we were given were simple and utilitarian, but clean and light.

The staff were so accommodating and helped us choose a restaurant and taxi to and fro, we were not pressured to eat at the hotel, although they do serve food.

The stay was comfortable, the bar was good and where else can you play pool for 50p these days?

The manager realised there were lots of cyclists in and laid on an early breakfast for us- thanks so much, it was greatly appreciated :)

Three Saints got us out of a tight spot, it was inexpensive, so for the money it is certainly worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is a little treasure in the middle of nowhere.We first found it 3 years ago as we come down to Cardiff for the Grand Prix Speedway at the Millenium Stadium.
The staff are most helpful and nothing is ever to much trouble,the food is varied and delicious and the breakfasts are fantastic and the bar is well stocked,yes the rooms may be a little dated but they are clean, tidy and warm.we have never had any problems there and will contine to book this hotel every year.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay in a most beautiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and i can honestly say it was the worst hotel ive stayed in! The room was falling appart the noise at night coming from the boiler system kept us up all night and the bathroom was just about bareable!
There are some goo points .The breakfast was great, the owners were lovely and you can take dogs which was great for us.
I think this hotel needs a massive refurb if it wants to imrpove the feed back from guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

MY stay at The Three Saints Hotel seems to have differed from the previous visitors...The staff, particularly Jason, were very helpful and were keen to promote the good features of the Hotel, it's services, particularly their "World Buffet" which is a brilliant idea that works well, and the surrounding area. Admittedly the premises are a bit tired but problems ARE being addressed as the rooms are being overhauled gradually. It's the old case of the time and not the money verses the money and not the time, but efforts are being made in between these periods. The ale is good and I slept peacefully. Breakfast was buffet style and was cewrtainly enough for what I needed, which was included in the price of £44.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the basement gymnasium as the sound travels upwards if you're above it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The staff and bar area are very good. We enjoyed a few pints here before and after the Wales/England game. The rooms however are very tired. My wardrobe had one door but I count myself lucky. The others in my party didn't have any doors. The light fittings were hanging off the wall and the carpet in the bathroom a little off putting. Saying that I had a comfortable night but this could have been helped with several pints of Guinness om board. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Premier inn down the road is my tip for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Whilst the staff were polite, the hotel itself is in a terrible state. Rooms were damp with stains on the walls, ceiling and carpets. The beds were very uncomfortable but the worst of all was the en-suite bathroom with its mouldy carpet and walls. Outside of the room wasn't any better with all of the common areas looking tired and depressing. This hotel needs a total refurbishment and at £75 per night (Rugby weekend) its a complete rip off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank des o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
2.9 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
3.9 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Saints Hotel

Address: Llantrisant Business Park | Opposite Royal Mint, Pontyclun CF72 8YT, Wales (Formerly Black Prince Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Three Saints Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Three Saints Hotel. We are a friendly family run hotel situated in South Wales on the M4 corridor who pride ourselves on customer service. The Three Saints Hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms. We have a choice of Twin, Double and Family rooms. All rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities, colour television and comfortable beds. We have free WiFi throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant. Breakfast consists of a Full English buffet style breakfast or a range of healthy cereals and fruit. We cater for individuals, groups and corporate bookings. We have an extensive bar and Indian menu. Our traditional style pub has great a range of drinks and large screen for those big matches and is available to all our guests . Are you a contractor or business person? We are well suited for contractors and business people alike. We offer 35 en-suite bedrooms, which is perfect for accommodating contractors and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Three Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Saints Hotel
Three Saints Pontyclun
Three Saints Hotel Pontyclun, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing