We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, nice change from city centre”
Review of St. Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Mary's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed at St. Mary's when attending a concert in Cardiff. Easy to get to the city centre and the Hotel was fantastic being set in beautiful countryside. Friendly staff and the food was exceptional. We managed to get a round of golf in before we left and what an exquisite 18 hole course. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4, 2 double beds, nice quiet room and very spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for St. Mary's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel rooms are very dark and crammed with old heavy furniture. Bathroom was very dated looking with old wood fixtures. The spa bath was ancient and the old dirty sealant and grouting round it drives me mad especially when they want circa £90/night. The wedding was on a Monday and after the ceremony we had to share the decking outside the bar where we were having photos with the local golfers which really is not very special for the bride. On the upside the food was good and the staff were pleasant but I felt the overall package was not worth the money.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank dalfaber16B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights as I was attending a wedding nearby.The location is absolutely beautiful and surprisingly peaceful considering its close proximity to j35 of the M4.The rooms are huge with two double beds in the room I stayed in which were very comfortable.I was lucky to be one of the first guests to have the use of the new smart tv's that had just been put into the rooms!During my stay there were new bathrooms being installed in some of the rooms which look stunning.The food was superb,I was really impressed with the quality and it was very good value for money.All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and I will definitely be staying again,I would recommend this hotel to anyone.There is also free wifi througout the complex!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamescorsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here for one night in June on a business trip. Paid £67 for a single occupancy room. Was told on check out to book direct and not through Booking.com next time, as it is cheaper.

Despite having only 3 AA Stars this hotel was very nice and well equipped.

The good.
Comfy clean rooms.
very quiet
good breakfast
Discounted golf course on site. they actually have an 18 hole and 12 hole. I played the 18 holes which was a very nice course.
Friendly staff
Free fast WiFi
Decent TV with all the free view channels
My bath had a bubble maker - great after 18 holes
restaurant food was decent and not too pricey
I got a free bottle of wine on check out. A decent red wine too.

Bad.
The bathroom is getting a little tired. A thorough clean and perhaps some new light fixtures would make a world of difference.

I'm looking forward to my next visit to south wales.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed for a wedding reception and was surprised just how fab it was. Great setting, great food, great staff! What more could you ask for?.....Oh yes, great prices! The setting it stunning, my room overlooked the golf course which was like a picture book. Shame Im not getting married ;)

Room Tip: Rooms up to 10 are on the ground floor, so very convienent to walk back from your party/or meal. 10...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just played the St Mary's 18 Hole Course On A Two night stay and I have to say for the money One of the Best two Days Of Golf I Have Had In A Long While Course looks stunning and the greens are some of the best I have played , Shop And Bar Staff Made Us Feel Very Welcome .

We Will Be Back .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at St Marys whilst visiting family in the area, it had been recommended by the family who visit the hotel regularly for food.
The rooms are are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The service we received was exceptional. The quality and presentation of the food was out of this world. Very friendly staff most us feel quite at home, didn't want to leave. In the Restaurant one evening we were talking to a gentlemen who stays at St Marys every week whilst down in the area on business and he mentioned that he wouldnt stay anywhere else ! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone for whatever reason. Great location and the outside decking areas were definately a hit in this lovely weather.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 18 with a lovely view of the golf course
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoltan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
2.2 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
451 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel Pencoed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing