We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab fab fab”
Review of St. Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Mary's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab fab fab”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

we went to st marys on friday the 6thdec 24 of us for our xmas party . from our first contact we were treated fantastically by the efficient alison and gemma on reception . and upon arrival we were greeted by a gentlmen on reception who was great and helpfull our rooms were first class , not that we spent much time in them as we spent9 hours in the bar . our food was amazing every one of us enjoyed . the staff who served us were most helpfull and professional even helping out at taking pics with our cameras and every one of them looked as they loved their jobs . all of us from hermes want to say a huge huge thank you for your first class hospitallity . and will be back next year if we are allowed

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are all so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Party here at St Marys and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All the staff that night and leading up to your party have been commended on the service you received. Of course you are all welcome again this year, see you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    32
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
30
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We met together as a group of about 30 for our Christmas event, from the moment we arrived everything went well. There was a nice bar area to meet and talk before going in to the meal. There was another group of about the same size - I have to say that the whole event was managed very well. One group in and started - then the second group were seated. The starters were quite tasty and varied- nicely presented by efficient and polite staff. The main courses were a delight - I had salmon which was served just as it should be, the turkey was very good and those who had the lamb meal all said how great it was. Again the deserts that followed were all well received by the party

Th only slight difficulty that could have arisen - but fortunately didn't- was that the tables were laid for 7 - at Christmas as there are maily couples this could have been a problem.

The great thing was that the dance area was separated from the dining area and the bar- so you could actually talk - and not be overcome by the sounds of music.

At the end of the evening we went back to our room - which was very good, In the one we had were two large beds, nice chairs, good T.V. hair drier, coffee and tea (bonus points for decaf coffee and sweetners - which are not always provided) and so on. The en suite has obviously had a lot of work done to it - so we were pleased. Had a restful night.

Breakfast was good and well worth the money. Buffet style cereals, meats and cheese etc. The cooked breakfast was to order and offered a good range of choice, It was delivered in a good time- not rushed - not delayed. Also they quickly provided us with decaf coffee when I asked if it was available. Again the staff were most pleasant throughout.

Reception and check out were very efficient - so all round a great time. A number of us have already suggested to the organiser that as this was one of our best Christmas events wenwhould consider it again for next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are available if you have mobility problems - as some rooms are upstairs. Also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
What a pleasing review ! Grateful thanks for taking the time to record your comments. The staff were thrilled by your very generous praise. We are all so pleased you enjoyed everything about your Christmas Party and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Group of us went to Cardiff to watch rugby & stayed at St Mary's - we were a little worried about it being a bit far out of town but it's only 18miles and well serviced by taxi's (which is economical when travelling 3 or more - trip was typically GBP 30-40). Once we got there we were very pleased with our choice - friendly service, huge rooms, and very good rates which included breakfast. Also the bar stayed open late which was great for a post match debrief !! I would certainly recommend St Mary's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plett_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
It is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed you stay with us at St Marys and very kind of you to take the time to leave your positive comments.
As you experienced, the staff here endeavour to ensure that all guests have a wonderful visit and are only too willing to provide information and advise on the best way to travel to and from the hotel. We feel very privileged to have such a wonderful city so close. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

St Mary's is a very family friendly hotel with excellent accommodation,reasonably priced, serving good food with very helpful, obliging staff. We were a group of 9 at various ages and stages and all enjoyed the beautiful, peaceful, well kept surroundings. Gemma made our little grandson's day by letting him help feed the cat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 734BabsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff really appreciate feedback from the guests, especially when, like yours, it is so positive. We try exceptionally hard to make all guests welcome and enjoy greeting returning visitors so hurry back we cant wait to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at St Marys recently and although I'm not one for comments, I felt that on this occasion I just had to. It was a surprise for our 40th Wedding Anniversary from the family and it was just perfect. Not at all interested in golf we did wonder what to expect, but it is more than a golf hotel. The Restaurant is beautiful with stunning views and a lovely selection of food. On arrival we were upgraded to the Bridal Suite with a lovely Four Poster Bed and jacuzzi bath with views that take your breath away. In the morning we had a gorgeous breakfast. We found that all staff were very polite and helpful and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilltuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
St Marys Hotel and our Saints Restaurant compliment each other wonderfully and your excellent review affirms this. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here with work recently and found St Mary's great. An excellent room, (I stayed in Room 1) and the breakfast was smashing. A lovely setting and very, very reasonably priced. Staff were also fab throughout and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darreno70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It is always appreciated when guests take the time to write such positive comments. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found us to be warm and welcoming. The staff here certainly enjoy meeting the guests and endeavour to make their stay as pleasant and as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We attended a wedding here recently and found the food to be average. The views are stunning and the rooms spacious. To get to the room upstairs where the actual wedding took place was not at all suitable for a disabled person, as there was a flight of stairs to get up. It really needs a lift to be installed. The breakfast the following day was again just average, the eggs were cooked to order which was great, but the bacon, sausage, tomatoes etc were in covered bowls therefore other than eggs the rest of the breakfast was only just warm, a let down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We would like to thank you for your review after your recent visit and are sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with your stay. I wish the points you mentioned were raised direct to the Hotel during your stay so we could of made your time with us more enjoyable. Due to the nature of the building a lift cannot be installed however had we been advised beforehand, more help would of been made available to you. We really hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
1.9 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
395 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
639 reviews
5.1 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Property: St. Mary's Hotel
Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel Pencoed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing