We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back”
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.00*
and up
YS Falls Tour from Negril
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“laid back”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we went to YS Falls today, very non-commercial (unlike Dunns River Falls), we got there around 9:45 AM, met up with our guide and had a great 2 hours. You have the opportunity to ride a zip line (for an additional fee). We went off the rope swing into one of the pools the falls make. Walked through some of the falls for some spectacular pictures (the guide took our camera at the beginning and kept placing us for pictures). There were only the two of us with the guide, it was not busy at all, so he took the time and didn't rush us at all. I would highly recommend this attraction. I believe it was $17 per person, US

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    373
    83
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Superb waterfalls and scenery”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

YS falls is a perfect example of using nature and exploring entrepreneurial skills together. This is set on a huge working cattle farm and local tractors pull 'Jittneys' to the waterfall attraction deep within the landscape. The falls are wonderful (we have been to Dunns river previously) and while these are not as steep or grand and you can't climb them to the top they are a wonder of nature and great to visit. What we did like is the extra touches and thoughts that have gone into the experience such as the natural spring pools to swim in and the log cabins to change, rest and soak up the countryside.

Overall a great trip and would recommend for a few hours relaxation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“YS Falls fun, relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Traveled with a Bus group- Juta Tours from Sandals Whitehouse in Sept. This property is lush and beautiful, The area is well maintained and the cascading falls with flat surfaces allowed you to take pictures standing in the falls. Although I did not do the zip line quite a number of people in the group did and they said it was enjoyable. It is amazing the water looks so refreshing and inviting...take your water shoes, the park and public facilities are well maintained. Such a pity the roads were so bad, however there is road work going on getting ready for season Dec-April ...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank goingplacestc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The YS Falls is just Spectacular!!! It is inside of this farm and it is breath taking!! A must see sightseeing in Jamaica. Now to get there might be a challenge for those of you who get car sicking really easy. The road is very narrow and with a lot of turns specially when you go through the mountain. However, if you can surpass that it is worth going there to check it out. My 6 yr. old daughter love it!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielJanequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and Refreshing”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a driver take us to YS and the rum tour. We went to YS first and really enjoyed ourselves. My boyfriend jumped off one of the falls and also did the rope swing but as I am a huge chicken I did neither. The water was super refreshing and I even found a few spots where the water had tons of tiny bubbles that just felt wonderful. The water was nice and cool and the views were really lovely. There were many on hand to assist and take pictures and they were no pushy about tipping (but we did tip of course) and it was nice not to be hassled for money. Once we had enough help and just wanted to relax by ourselves they let us be. I would recommend checking this out for sure.

One tip to keep in mind, when booking this tour with a driver, find out if admission is included or not, ours wasn't which was OK but it would have been nice to know beforehand.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allibaba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing