We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.00*
and up
YS Falls Tour from Negril
More Info
US$108.73*
and up
YS Falls plus Black River Safari from Negril
More Info
US$84.99*
and up
Black River and YS Falls Sightseeing Cruise from Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Five of us visited YS last Sunday March 2nd. Contrary to other reports, the guides do not pester, but are trained to help - very necessary as many Jamaican visitors do not swim and can get into difficulties. This incredibly beautiful natural attraction has been so tastefully developed and all contingencies carefully thought out - gloves for rope-jumping, life jackets and sufficient staff to assist. The changing rooms and restrooms are spacious and tasteful and the gift shop offers light snacks. The jitney ride through a working farm with lovely pastures is most interesting and more substantial food is available at the gate where another shop has an excellent collection of Jamaican books. This attraction is a cut above the rest in a beautiful location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dawnimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    381
    85
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and well kept place”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We travelled to YS Falls on 14th February 2014 as part of the' Southern Tour with a bit of a Tipple' excursion.

The bus journey first took in the Black River then YS Falls before visiting the Appletons Rum Distillery. The journey time was about 4 hours each way from Ocho Rios. We set off at 7.30am and got back at 8.30pm!

Our bus journey was horrendous.

This has nothing to do with the attraction I know but you should know about the mountain roads. They are strewn with pot holes, the size of craters and combined with a driver who obviously thought he rivalled Sebastian Vettel made for a torrid day.

Back to the falls though. Upon reaching the site, we climbed aboard a tractor pulled train for the onward journey right up to the water. Quite novel. Once there a very short walk and we saw them.

Not as big or grand as I thought but beautiful nontheless. You can bathe if you wish and there is also a 'tarzan' swing where you plunge into the pool below.

The gardens are well kept and beautiful with a separate swimming pool to cool down in after the short walk.

After the tractor journey back to the entrance you can get a 'meal' at the little cafe. The cost is $12 each for a burger or meat with chips. My wife and 2 boys eat. I didn't and glad I didn't. The food was of poor quality and my family left most of it.

All in all a nice place to visit but I recommend you visit as part of a tour as we did.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank james4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Just ok...and crowded”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

went to YS Falls in Jamaica as part of a larger tour from our resort .
The falls themselves are nice, but this attraction is way overcrowded. Very few people actually went into the water, in part I think because there were so many locals/staff pestering you to 'help' you cross the river....or swing on the rope...or take your picture - all of which took away from what should have been a relaxing beautiful natural setting.
As mentioned by others, the road to get here is an adventure in itself....and the 3-stop tour made for a long day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked the YS Falls tour instead of the Dunns Falls tour because it is more remote and less tourist. We got to enjoy the full beauty of these waterfalls without all of the hassle of a bunch of tourists. It was quite of a drive to get to but completely worth it. It is on the other side of Jamaica, therefore you get to check out lots of the scenery, culture and life of Jamaica. We are glad we chose the YS Falls to view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YS Falls”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Unfortunately we could only spend a very short time there. The falls are spectacular, and there are numerous pools to swim and cool off in.The guides were very helpful. My 8 year old jump of the rope in the fall/pool. My 6 year old jumped from smaller rope. We are not able to do zipline because of lack of time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jilljuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing