We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The vibe still lingers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ital Rest Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ital Rest Cottages
burlington vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The vibe still lingers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We still feel so relaxed just thinking about our time at Ital Rest. Yes, it is basic and lacks electricity, but still comfortable and almost seemed more home than home. Jean, Keisha and Frankie were the most friendly and good natured hosts imaginable. Quiet and secluded with lovely gardens, and a short walk to a fantastic beach which was completely empty for most of our stay. We just loved it; the perfect antidote for the tourist hustle of so many resort areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dayvmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent the first four nights of our JA visit here and on the fifth morning, it was difficult to leave! We were in search of off-the-beaten-path accommodations away from the artificial sheen of the tourist areas, a place where we could get to know about the food, culture, and surroundings of the region and Ital Rest was the perfect place to find all of that. Jean, Frankie, and Keisha made us feel right at home with their affability and warmth. We happily whiled away many hours chatting with each of them under the cool of the coconut palms during our stay. These folks are the real thing - kind because they want to be, not because they've been told they need to be a certain way for the guests like at so many Jamaican resorts.

The cabin was immaculately clean and the private bathroom and shared kitchen perfectly met our needs. Living by candlelight and torchlight at night was incredibly relaxing and surprisingly easy. The room-temperature shower was refreshing after each hot day. All four rooms have two porches overlooking the lush grounds. The beach, just a short walk past some adorable goats away, is private and pristine.

The grounds are a true oasis filled with edible and medicinal plants and trees (this area is very dry, hot, and arid so the shade is truly welcome) - if you ask, Keisha or Jean will give you a guided tour of everything growing on the property and let you sample anything that is ripe.

Ital Rest is indeed a 20 minute walk to Treasure Beach restaurants or 15 minutes to the Great Bay lobster shack - but not to fret - Keisha is an incredible chef, happy to accommodate all of your dietary needs (vegan in our case) and prepare you breakfast, lunch, or dinner with a little advance notice (meals run $7-10 each as I recall). We traveled the island for 9 days and ate at many restaurants and literally only one paralleled Keisha's cooking! If you prefer to use the kitchen and cook for yourself, there is a large grocery store in Great Bay just a walk along the beautiful coast away.

This is a fantastic place for either families or couples - I can't recommend it enough! It is a great value and a true slice of "real" Jamaica. We payed 4 times as much to stay in a different open-air thatched roof room in Port Antonio.

Room Tip: There is no insulation between the upper and lower rooms in each cabin so I would definitely recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greengal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you want a calm, romantic and relaxing place to stay, Ital Rest is the place to stay at. No rush, nice garden, beutiful views...

The owners are very loving people and do everything to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Last place we stayed at during our vacation and the best: quiet, comfortable by our standards (great bed, kitchen, independant), frequent swimming and a perfect location in the area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the upstairs room,with more 'private' terrasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The proprietors, Frankie and Jean, were super friendly and nice. We stayed 3 days out of our week long trip to the island and wished we had stayed there the whole time.

Our room was on the 2nd floor of one of the beautiful 2-unit wooden guest buildings and had front and back private porches and beautiful views. Although there is no electricity, the breezes kept it comfortable.

The short walk to the beach was very pleasant and the 20 or 30 minute walk to Jack Sprat's and other area restaurants was beautiful.

In short, the people are great, the room was beautiful, and the Treasure Beach area was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.0 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Black River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waikiki Guest House
Waikiki Guest House
#7 of 14 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welcoming Vibes
Welcoming Vibes
#4 of 14 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ital Rest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ital Rest Cottages

Property: Ital Rest Cottages
Address: Great Bay District | Calabash Bay PA, Santa Cruz, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ital Rest Cottages Jamaica/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing