We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff and a sweet room in a nice, little town”
Review of Hotel Cielo Rojo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff and a sweet room in a nice, little town”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I read the reviews and gave it a try. Before coming down, I contacted the hotel w/ a question about transport from PV. Marcelo, the manager, responded promptly w/ an informative email. I got there and the staff was friendly and helpful, the place tranquil, and my room attractive and comfortable. These guys hooked it up w/ info, calling cabs, etc. I swooped on a low season deal and the place was very quiet - like having the house all to myself.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to be next to the front door/ reception in the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannybobanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
71
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a great experience! We got there by recommendation and boy they were right, the hospitality was great, the food wow! Vegan delicious food and very kind portions! Calixto is a great chef and the whole team at Cielo Rojo, another plus they are pet friendly :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tochr150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a conference in Punta Mita and decided to go to check out "San Pancho" for their flower child reputation and yesteryear ambiance. We were not disappointed. When we arrived (80 dollar cab ride from pv airport) we found a tiny town with cobblestone streets, chickens running around town and lots of smiling faces. Tropical palms everywhere. Hotel Cielo Rojo is a jewel among this piece of paradise. 3 stories, AC, best organic and dietary conscious restaurant in town, clean and spacious . Great jewelry can be purchased along fresh coffee, coconut oil and butter,tequila and more is available there. The decor is delightful and the showers are great. Cooling pool in first floor. Great warm friendly staff. Comfy beds. The huevos rancheros are to die for and the granola/fruit is a must. This hotel is located just a few blocks from the beach where you can find 2 margaritas for 5 dollars, hanging hammocks and beautiful sunsets. People walk around selling home made muffins etc. Is truly Old Mexico at is best. I cannot wait to go back to Hotel Cielo Rojo

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This small charming hotel located right besides the main street of San Pancho is a great surprise. Small but clean and well appointed rooms make your stay a very pleasant one. Great restaurant to have a nice and creative breakfast and a must to try for dinner. Steps away from San Panchos beach. Also a great value

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a great experience at this little hotel. San Pancho beach was beautiful and quiet. The hotel staff was super friendly, rooms, and hotel facilities were comfortable and neat, and the food was delicious!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YAF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A fantastic little hamlet in the heart of San Pancho (San Francisco to some of the locals). The hotel is a great place to get lost with friends or a romantic get-away. The lodging has funky artistic decor, they serve amazing breakfasts that cater towards a more organic, mexican, southern california sensibility... The town has plenty of fish taco/food stands, there's a pizzeria where kids in their 20's hang and play music till late in the night. Run into Guadalajara, surfing/indie middle class or just get lost exploring the breaks north and south of this fantastic winter get-away...Beautiful in the off-season (summer) just prepare for the heat, and the 80+ degree Ocean...!!!

Room Tip: Great option for surf related travel or a romantic getaway outside of the bustling Sayulita a few KM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

had a beautiful dinner there during their 'resturant week' 3 course special. Just perfect, and the staff were passionate, happy to be there too, especially one fantastic waitress...really helpful :) i hope the brazilian seafood stew becomes part of the normal menu. I've been there before and had scones and capomo.... just fantastic! As a resident of san pancho, this is a place i would reccomend visitors to the town to go to if they're after a change from tacos.

Room Tip: fernando on the front desk will sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymgkymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 4 in San Francisco
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
162 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo Rojo

Property: Hotel Cielo Rojo
Address: Asia 6 | San Francisco, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo Rojo is a boutique hotel Right in the heart of cobblestoned San Pancho, Nayarit just 40 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta airport. It is 3 blocks walking distance to the beach. the hotel provides stylish and affordable accommodations with simple elegant and pleasant rooms, warm and eclectic decor, exquisite organic cuisine and personalized attention from its lovely staff. A favorite for those that truly appreciate consciousness for organic & sustainable A perfect balance of serenity and intimacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cielo Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing