We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casa San Pancho(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Casablanca(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Amor(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siete Lunas(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
146
39
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
39
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtbistro organicoorganic restaurantin townsan panchosmall boutiquebeautiful hotelhuevos rancherosbanana pancakesbig familyincredible foodintimate settingenjoyed my staycoffee or tearestaurant stafflittle detailsbeach umbrellas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff here are friendly and helpful in giving out recommendations on other places to eat and things to do. The included breakfast was perfect to start each day. We had dinner here one night and it didn't disappoint. They offer beach cruisers to bike around town and down to the beach. It is a little noisy early and late - but it's Mexico! We'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Be sure to try Calixto's banana pancakes along with a cup of health. They are a great combo for starting each day.

San Pancho is a nice quiet community and much different than her sister community, Salyuita. We enjoyed waking up to roosters.

The beaches are almost deserted. The water is warm and good for surfing.

Birding is a growing industry here and Luis Morales is a solo operator introducing people to the birds of San Pancho. He's also gained a lot of support for his bird conservatory. Support conservation by taking a bird tour. He offers half days and full days. Luis knows a lot about the area and adds the cultural history in his tours.

Apparently, San Pancho has grown enough to support 14 new restaurants. Lots of good choices.

Room Tip: Remember to start your morning with the cup of health and the buddha bowl.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenDark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I read the reviews and gave it a try. Before coming down, I contacted the hotel w/ a question about transport from PV. Marcelo, the manager, responded promptly w/ an informative email. I got there and the staff was friendly and helpful, the place tranquil, and my room attractive and comfortable. These guys hooked it up w/ info, calling cabs, etc. I swooped on a low season deal and the place was very quiet - like having the house all to myself.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to be next to the front door/ reception in the high season.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannybobanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a great experience! We got there by recommendation and boy they were right, the hospitality was great, the food wow! Vegan delicious food and very kind portions! Calixto is a great chef and the whole team at Cielo Rojo, another plus they are pet friendly :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tochr150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a conference in Punta Mita and decided to go to check out "San Pancho" for their flower child reputation and yesteryear ambiance. We were not disappointed. When we arrived (80 dollar cab ride from pv airport) we found a tiny town with cobblestone streets, chickens running around town and lots of smiling faces. Tropical palms everywhere. Hotel Cielo Rojo is a jewel among this piece of paradise. 3 stories, AC, best organic and dietary conscious restaurant in town, clean and spacious . Great jewelry can be purchased along fresh coffee, coconut oil and butter,tequila and more is available there. The decor is delightful and the showers are great. Cooling pool in first floor. Great warm friendly staff. Comfy beds. The huevos rancheros are to die for and the granola/fruit is a must. This hotel is located just a few blocks from the beach where you can find 2 margaritas for 5 dollars, hanging hammocks and beautiful sunsets. People walk around selling home made muffins etc. Is truly Old Mexico at is best. I cannot wait to go back to Hotel Cielo Rojo

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramonfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews