We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Obelisco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Obelisco
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great place if you look for romantic qand quiet stay. We will be back soon. Friendly owner. Very nice and clean. Thank you Bill for the nice conversation during breakfast. We had visitors from switzerland and they will come back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
128
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Casa Obelisco was gorgeous and clean. The bed was better than out bed at home! We really enjoyed lazing around the pool everyday and enjoying beers at the swim up bar! Great Location and great staff...can't wait to go back again! San Pancho is the cutest small town! Thank you!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a lanai looking out to the pool and beach beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I traveled to San Pancho for our babymoon in March 2013 and we could not have been happier with our experience at Casa Obelisco. John and Judy, who run the B&B, were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment they picked us up at the airport. They cooked us delicious breakfasts every morning and gave us fantastic recommendations around town. San Pancho is a quaint town of 2,000 people north of Puerto Vallarta. I highly recommend it over the high end resorts of PV. Not only did we love exploring both San Pancho and Sayulita (only three miles away), but we felt like the experience was cultural because we weren't surrounded by tourists. The B&B is a decent walk out of town (15-20 min) but with this distance comes the quiet and relaxing sounds of nothing but the crashing ocean waves. The B&B has an awesome, well-maintained pool with a swim-up bar and the entire place is just really loved and well taken care of. I have not one complaint from our visit and can't wait to visit Casa O and John & Judy again.

Room Tip: All rooms (there are only four total) are on the bottom floor and have small patios that open up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just spent six nights at Casa Obelisco, and both of us would be excited to go there again. Our experience was just what we were looking for! John, Judy and Bill were all gracious hosts, and provided a wealth of information about the area, and critically to us, the best places to eat! It didn't hurt that we started each day with a lovely breakfast overlooking the beach, and returned from our activities in the afternoon to margaritas by the pool.

Our room was clean, and the bed was comfortably firm (and large enough) for us. We had a big bathroom with a double vanity and a shower. Our only *minor* complaint would be the swinging doors that open into the toilet area are hard to operate without making a lot of noise and/or pinching your fingers. The bedroom opened onto a balcony with a small seating area overlooking the pool and palapa bar, perfect for reading early in the morning.

Removed a bit from central San Pancho, we both enjoyed both the sound of the ocean while we were sleeping at night, but with a short, enjoyable walk, Casa Obelisco is still close enough to all there was to offer in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenP321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just got back from two weeks at Casa Obelisco in San Pancho (Nayarit), Mexico. It's hard to believe that it keeps getting better!

The hospitality is the warmest you'll ever know, the breakfasts are wonderful, the rooms are large and comfortable, the pool is inviting, the beach spectacular, the restaurants in town are marvelous.

Except for a fascinating side trip to Alta Vista Archaeological Site, we found plenty to occupy our time relaxing, walking the beach, visiting the town. If you want a laid-back vacation, you can't do better than this!

Room Tip: There are four units at the B&B and all are great. Two have patios with lounging chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent 4 nights at Casa Obelisco and enjoyed it greatly. The property is very nice, exceptionally clean, and in a quiet location very close to the beach. The proprietors John and Judi are great hosts and excellent guides as you seek to explore the region. Breakfast is served daily and we had four wonderful and different breakfasts - it was something we looked forward to each day. John and Judi are so kind and accessible - they even left their apartment open so we could watch the Super Bowl on their couch. We immediately felt at home!

The location is at the very end of the beach in San Pancho and it's only a one minute walk to the quiet sands. It's well-known that the San Pancho beach is not a great swimming beach - the waves were reasonably big when we were there and it is said to have dangerous rip tides. It is, however, an awesome beach as it's nearly empty and devoid of high-rises and beach vendors. You can walk the length of the beach and see nobody at times. It also is a prime location for seeing sunsets. The town is quiet and cute with a surprising number of good restaurants. John and Judi can steer you towards many good options, depending upon your preferences. We did spend three days in Sayulita after leaving San Pancho, and we also liked the experience there. It's more touristy and a little busier/louder but we still really enjoyed getting to explore and see more of the region.

Our only wish was that the wifi range was extended to get more reliable service in the rooms and by the pool. Admittedly, we didn't really need to be online, but sometimes it's nice to catch up on work emails while lying by the pool. Of note, the pool is great - heated, plenty of sun and shaded areas, with a small bar (where we had excellent fresh guacamole and chips). They have plenty of comfy lounge chairs so you're never fighting to get a good seat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was our first trip to San Pancho, which had been recommended by friends. We arrived at the end of the slow season, so a number of the good restaurants in town weren't open yet, but we had a wonderful time anyway. We were the only guests, and Bill was an excellent host with loads of information about San Pancho. The casa is located very near the beach at the far end of town, and views from the breakfast area were stunning. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with french doors opening onto a terrace with a hammock and seating area. We spent some of the hot days in the beautiful pool and our evenings watching the turtles come up to lay their eggs on the beach (which were removed by volunteers working to save the turtle population). Walking to town by beach or road was tiring due to the heat, but at other times of the year it would probably be more pleasant. All in all, it was a great end to our three-week Mexican vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMetrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 4 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostal San Pancho
Hostal San Pancho
#2 of 14 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda San Pancho
Hacienda San Pancho
#6 of 7 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Obelisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Obelisco

Property: Casa Obelisco
Address: Calle Palmas | San Francisco, Nayarit, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Obelisco is only 25 miles north of Puerto Vallarta. Sandy beach and palms rustling, lounge poolside or have a massage in our garden. Located in San Francisco Mexico (San Pancho) also known as Vallarta Nayarit: a perfect small fishing village with wonderful restaurants. Here, time stands still; rejuvenate in elegance and beauty. Enjoy snorkeling, scuba, horseback riding, hiking and surfing. Casa Obelisco is an oceanfront Mediterranean style villa and B&B with four guest suites, swim-up bar and poolside palapa kitchen including a rooftop lounge. A great setting for events and weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing