We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food + location = worth the visit!”
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #14 of 48 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food + location = worth the visit!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Just a short bus or taxi ride from Sayulita, San Pancho (San Francisco) provides a pleasant and quiet change of pace from the more touristy Sayulita. The taxi ride was $100 pesos (each way), which split between 4 was a good deal - although a little more expensive than the 10 peso per person bus fare. Convenience vs. Cost.

La Perla is right on the beach on the left side as you go in, so your feet are in the sand as you quaff your Coronas. How good can it get? The beach and surroundings are quite lovely - and there are a LOT less people trying to sell you stuff - bonus!

Three of us had the pan fried 'Huachinango' (red snapper). You get the whole fish - and it was delicious. The other person in our party had coconut shrimp which she reported was a bit too sweet. Service was friendly and efficient.

Well worth the visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
2 reviews
“Best Smooties in the Area”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stay in Sayulita and we came to this little town to know the beach, and we stop in this restaurant and we really enjoy it, They say they had the best Smootie's in town...we try it and I have to say that we were try it as well in Sayulita, Punta mita and in Bucerias....and they REALLY has the best in the area. (Try the Mango flavor!)
We eat the Ceviche and it was very good too.
Great and Friendly service.
Very recommendable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arturo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seafood @ Beachfront”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Thw owner was really nice with us and the time from cooking the meals was OK.
We tried the octopus tostada, really good and fresh. Then we had the "Chabela" de camarón, amazing big cooked shrimps into some kind of seafood broth. completety delicious & tasty.
Finally the fried "Huachinango" (fish) served with "A la Diabla" seasoning". Great, a little bit sour-sweet spicy salsa. fantastic. Great staff.

Follow me @FoodieQRO in twitter

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieQRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were staying in Sayulita & were driving up the coast to San Blas. We popped in to San Pancho for breakfast & are sooo glad we did. We drove until we hit the beach & ended up at La Perla, sitting at a nice shady table, right on the beach. This was by far the best breakfast we had the whole time we were in Nayarit. I had the veggie omelet - the veggies were all perfectly cooked & the whole dish was seasoned very well. I loved the dishware - beautiful & authentic. And the service was very good, too.

After our great breakfast, we walked over to the fresh water pond - no crocs, but did see some good birds. Then I stopped & bought a beautifully painted wooden bowl (birds!) from a guy at the plaza - it is gorgeous, a great value & traveled well back to the States in the checked bag.

If/when we return to this area, we will stay in San Pancho - liked the vibe much better than Sayulita. Will definitely return to La Perla!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great drinks on the beach!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The drinks at La Perla are really good and the staff is very friendly. This is a wonderful place to be for sunset!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahF0wler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Perla also viewed

San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing