We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT FOR OUR BUDGET”
Review of Bungalows Marlenne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon de Guayabitos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Marlenne
Victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOR OUR BUDGET”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our travel dates were 17 Nov - 1 Dec. Kirby, the Canadian manager, was an excellent host. He met us at the airport and took us back at the end of our stay. For the fee, this was the most cost-effective meathod and avoids the time-consuming milkrun bus meathod. He also took us to the Mega superstore so we could buy some groceries and refreshments for our room. Bungalows Marlenne is located at the north end of Guayabitos and perfectly situated for walking between La Penita and Guayabitos. It is quiet and the beaches far less busy than at the south end. Kirby drove us around the local area so we could orient ourselves to the place.
The room (110) was a little on the small side but had everything we needed, including a fantastice view of the ocean and surrounding area. Anything that we required was attended to promptly and Kirby and his staff are more than accomodating. There are two small stores located next to the bungalows that have all the essentials but shopping at the open market in La Penita on Thursdays cannot be missed. Fresh prawns can be purchased from the fishermen on the beach for 80-100 pesos per kilo with heads off! Also, you can eat and have your fish prepared by the staff on request. We bought Salsa and Guacamole for our room a few times and it was delicious!!
If you are looking for fancy five star, then stay at Stefanny Villas. If you are looking for a place that has everything you need for the budget minded, including a kitchenette, then this is the ticket. We will definately consider Bungalows Marlenne for our next trip.

Room Tip: Only room 110 has a balcony with a king bed, but is somewhat tight on space. Room 104 is roomy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacksonwillbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had the oppritunity to visit Marlennes bungalows was impressed to see changes in the kitchen, common area is well looked after rooms are clean & maintained. The new manager was a gracious host , he helped with anything you asked for. The staff are good both spanish & english spoken, Fabian speakes both & Alex. The view is still just great from the front upstairs rooms & the restarurant bar area as the hotel sits Right on the Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Henney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

During the month of February, we had a great time at Bungalows Marlenne in Rincon de Guayabitos. The weather was sunny everyday! Our host, Soccoro, her family and employees were very friendly and welcoming. If we had any questions, she was always informative and available. She did her best to help us with any problems we had.
Our bungalow was clean and comfortable. Our linen and towels could be changed at our request.
The view of the ocean was spectacular and we slept to the sound of the waves.
The food in the restaurant was very good. We especially enjoyed the shrimp and durado.
We spent several evenings entertained by local musicians and dancers. The guests were encouraged to have a great time and party together. The Valentine's party was an evening to remember.
We enjoyed the long walks along the beach, the shopping at the markets and local stores, the Saturday cultural concerts, and the friendliness of the community.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have decided to return again next year. Other members of our family will also be coming with us.
It sure is great to get away from our winter wonderland...Winnipeg!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iafolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Hi we stayed at Bungalows Marlenne for 5 weeks. Met some very nice people, BC, Quebec, & USA& Mexico. Our first room was a good size but had some mold of which appeared to have come from the windows & ac unit. ( this is of course from a untrained eye). The owner is very nice & made you feel comfortable. Her family that we met well mannered. When the threat of tsunammi came we were taken to higher ground their ranch. We all were made to feel comfortable by the other family members we met there. Luckily no need as we were bypassed by the warning. Nothing to do with the hotel but first time to Mexico in 13 years that we did not have a need to use the ac. As to the comment about the bossy American a lot of what he suggested was just that "suggestions". He made great ribs & was a great host at functions he put on, whether they were at the hotel or at a outside venue. For us we were not fond of dogs having free rien whether they were the owners dogs or the guests dogs. We were disappointed in the pool the web site displays a much bigger pool so for us disappointed in that. The hotel staff was awesome all were very helpfull & they sure worked hard to do their jobs. Not sure if this is spelled right or not but Enricci went the extra mile for you. I was very greatfull for his help. We will be going back to this area again as we really like the beach & town. Thank Bungalows Marlenne.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Henney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Marlene this year the staff was outstanding and could speak quite good english Sorcarro and her son were very freindly and helpful. Your room was cleaned upon request and there food was awesome. The rates were very good and the rooms had all the imedities. The only down thing we found was there was a long term guest there from the states and he was very outspoken and bossy to the owner about what should be done at the bungalow. My only hope is that this will stay a nice mexican vacation and not turn into a more commercialized place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, B.C. CANADA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My husand and I and our two children (6 & 3 years old), left the Bungalows Marlenne yesterday after a pleasant 7 days stay. We spent two days in Puerto Vallarta, 7 at the Marlenne and another four in Sayulita...we'll shortly be home, and definately wish we had logged more time in Rincon de Guayabitos. Logistics...a cab from downtown P.V. to the Bungalows door was 800 pesos, another 25 pesos for trip the La Penita market on Thursdays (the neighbouring village) and 250 pesos to cab it back to Sayulita. We did not negotiate much on the fares (with the exception of verifying the standard rates by double checking with another source) so you may get it cheaper if you are minded to dicker, but the convenience of door to door service with kids and luggage was worth every peso.

Soaking up the sun, and playing in the gentle surf on the sandy beach is just what we needed whilst our home town is below freezing and experiencing yet again another snow fall warning. We never did manage to walk the entire beach as the North end where we stayed was ideal and low key for the kids. Walking along the road to town took 10 minutes, and less than that coming back via the beach. The vendors are a smidge to abundant for our liking, but scarce compared to P.V. beaches, and with the exception of one keener, they ake a "No, gracias," at face value and move on. Proud to say I will be coming home without corn braids, albeit there were many offers. We liked the fellow with the coconuts and the machette and his pineapple cart...served a fruit salad in a biodegradeable container....LOL!...."hold the rosy red grenadine, please." I forgot to get the photo of him for our kids' scrap book.

The hostess and her family and staff were what other reviews promised....welcoming, friendly and accomodating. Our children were embraced as special guests by everyone including the other guests...some of whom were from also from Nelson and Vernon, B.C. Seems to ustthat there is a direct link from the Southern Interior of B.C. to the Bungalows Marlenne.

With a special theme on Wednesday nights we were able to experience the local specialty fish, Dorado, BBQ'd by the owner herself, enjoy some local musicians, and sit by the bonfire. Our little girl danced to her heart's content. There is a tradition evolving by guests that stay for a longer term who have arranged a Monday night supper cooked by guests in the restaurant kitchen to "meet your neighbours" and it was a great way to visit with a new group of friends....made for a great exchange of info and a family feel to the entire week there.

We never managed to get all the staff names sorted out in our short stay, but each and everyone went above and beyond the call of duty to accomodate any request, or answer any questions. We'd give the honourable mention to Fabian, the waiter, who treated us like family and our children like gold.

Our only regret, and it's our fault for not double checking, is that we didn't get a room with a balcony or a window on the outside, as the concrete environment, as in all Mexican hotel's we've stayed at, can become a little humid. Our room did have a window on the walkway side, but we didn't open it during the night. We'd encourage you to consider the Bungalows Marlenne, but as advised by other longer term guests, don't be shy about asking the staff for anything you need...they will likely have it readily available.

Cheers from Canada!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iris_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

When we first walked into our ocean view room, on the third floor, we found a stunning view of the beach and the ocean. The room was a nice size with a king size bed, a kitchenette with all the necessary appliances( microwave, coffee machine, toaster). We spent a lot of time on the balcony in the morning and at the end of the day watching the amazing sunsets. The owner of the hotel and her staff made you feel like family. The restaurant has great food specially guacamole, and friendly staff that speak english.The location is great, away from the noise and literally steps to the beach. A wonderful beach front place for a very reasonable price. Housekeeping is included and available as often as you need.
The beautiful woodenchairs decorate the beachfront of the hotel and invite you for an happy hour drink. We are here for three months and will definitely be back. Overall, a perfect place to be for a wonderful holiday or a long term stay in a warm mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lapointe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
1.1 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#12 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#16 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Marlenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Marlenne

Property: Bungalows Marlenne
Address: Retorno Pelicanos # 2, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de Guayabitos
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows Marlenne is the ideal choice for vacations in Rincón de Guayabitos. We have a terrace with kid's pool and Restaurant Bar service in a 100% family environment. We are located on the sea shore where you may enjoy a wonderful ocean's view with amazing sunset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bungalows Marlenne Hotel Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing