We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total enjoyment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decameron Los Cocos
Alberta Beach,Alberta,Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“total enjoyment”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our first time and were first greeted with an assortment of drinks.Buildings are all bright colours and very well maintained and clean.Food is extremely fresh with a good variety.Could eat every day at buffet no problem.Staff are all friendly cheerfull and most speak English.We will be back

Room Tip: Cocos 4 has superior rooms ,no elevator, adult only pool,awesome views,quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian-Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    470
    141
    47
    23
See reviews for
297
434
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I don't understand how this place is rated 2 1/2 to 3 stars, I'm sitting poolside now and this place is spectacular. I've been to Mexico close to 30 times and this place is the cleanest. Great food, great location, great staff, nicely appointed rooms and free complex wide wireless wi fi. Its easily a 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gordp1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our first time at this resort. We chose it because the reviews, for the most part, were good and the price was right. We didn’t realize, however, that we’d be there during a national holiday. The resort was super busy because the locals had a three-day weekend to celebrate their Revolution Day Memorial. Wow! I’ve never seen so many kids, parents and grandparents at a resort LOL. On the one hand, it was fun to be included in all the craziness, but on the other hand, we could have used a bit more quiet …

Otherwise, the food was plentiful, fresh and with enough variety to not get bored in a week. We went to La Bamba a la carte restaurant on two nights. Both times the entrees were delicious. The same soup and salad and desserts were on offer so perhaps they might consider changing those up a bit.

The staff were incredibly hard working and gracious. We got to know a few of them and were pleased to hear that they were long time employees. I think that says a lot about an employer.

The rooms were basic and very clean. Unfortunately, our room was in Block 1 which had a balcony which faced the town and pigeons regularly roosted in the rafters creating quite the mess every day. We sometimes like to sit on the balcony with a drink in the evening before going to bed, but we never felt comfortable staying out there for very long…. Also, we generally don’t like to keep the air conditioning on. The reason we go somewhere hot is to enjoy the warmer temperature. But we decided to keep it on just for white noise as the constant dogs barking, music blaring, pigeons cooing and traffic sounds kept us up at night. We could certainly have asked to change rooms, but we decided we were there for an authentic Mexican experience, so I guess that’s what we got.

We were only disappointed with the lack of excursions. We didn’t realize quite how far we were from Puerto Vallarta and we weren’t willing to spend a lot of money on cab fare to get there and back so couldn’t see or do some of the things that we’d read about on this site. But we made our own fun: we borrowed bikes from the resort (haven’t ridden a gearless bike since I was 8 or 9) and rode through the town to the end of the road and back. It was an easy ride and we were able to see how the locals really lived. The next day we walked the same road and popped in and out of many of the shops along the way and spoke with many of the merchants (who had a good laugh at our expense as we tried out our little bit of Spanish). Be prepared to haggle. We walked as far as we could go on the beach several times and back and one day there was enough wind that we were able to go out on the resort’s catamaran for half an hour. We also swam in the ocean every day as it was warmer than we could have imagined.

Finally, although we expected vendors on the beach, we didn’t realize there would be so many. Yes, they went away if you said, “No, gracias.” But it was impossible to grab even a 10 minute nap because they came up to you even if your eyes were closed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-Montrealer-1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I returned to Decameron Los Cocos in Guayabitos, Mexico and stayed from November 9 – 17, 2013 and WE WILL NOT RETURN.

The hotel hasn’t changed – it is still a good value (if you book in advance on-line and don’t extend your stay!) in a beautiful location with an ocean like a swimming pool. We were pleased to see a lot of familiar faces still on staff from our last visit who again made us feel welcome (Max, Reuben and Juan Carlos, to name a few). The people, from the housekeeping staff to the bellhop to the staff in the Tropical and Canoa restaurants, are fantastic – always friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Even though we could easily stay at a nicer, more modern resort, we continue to come to this hotel as it has become something of a family tradition. My wife and her mother were guests in the past, other members of the family have stayed there, and we had a good time there two years ago. This vacation we were blessed to have the rest of our family join us throughout the week so by the end there were about 29 of us staying at the hotel. Some family members even changed their plans to arrive a day early or stay an extra day. This is when we discovered that our loyalty and past patronage meant nothing.

Unbelievably, the hotel would not extend the same on-line rates for the additional days and charged us per person (instead of per room) at a higher rate that worked out to almost 5 times as much per night!! They didn’t even charge the “rack rate” posted at the front desk but said they had to charge more because the reservations were originally made through Expedia. I still don’t understand it and we wasted hours out of our valuable vacation time arguing with them to try to work things out. They actually wanted my brother to get an extra room because his child-care plans fell through and he had to bring an additional two children. Really, they want to split up a family on vacation? How much can it cost for an infant and a 2-year old who don’t eat any of the hotel’s food? This price gouging is shocking and offensive and none of our family will ever return as a result.

Our experience at the “upscale” Bamba restaurant was again disappointing. I think we got the same disinterested waiter as last time. The poor service is really difficult to understand since everyone at all of the other restaurants was so excellent. It’s almost as if they feel they have to ignore the customer to prove that it is a fancy place.

I can also no longer recommend Enrique Aguilar for sport fishing. This year, after I sought him out specifically, he decided that “everything” didn’t include everything. When we got back to shore, he informed me that it would cost 200 pesos to fillet my sailfish. Having no other option, I paid. It was cheaper than the 500 peso tip he would have gotten had he not decided to nickel and dime me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris12345654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The good things out weigh the bad at this resort . The recreation staff scream for hours over the microphone @ the beach, some food has spent far too much time in the steam tray but the rooms are clean the staff are excellent and the resort is well kept.
During our stay 95% of the guests were Mexicans so if you have a problem with that go some where else.
We happened to love the people and their culture.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Albertatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had reviewed this property a couple of years ago during the Tsunami that hit Japan. Just a few pictures I took then, but never got around to post. We re-visited without staying, but we would spend another vacation there for sure. Just remember that this resort is a popular Mexican vacation resort. Watch how they enjoy and put yourself in their place.

Room Tip: Choose a room or upgrade to building #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Logjam2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Feb. 2013 was our first visit to The Decameron Los Cocos. Feb. 2014 will be our second. It's true this a 3 star resort but you can't beat the family atmosphere, awesome view and mouthwatering food. When my husband and I first arrived at the resort we did have a moment of...."where are we.." however after that we enjoyed every second of our stay.

The staff treats you like family from the moment you arrive. The food is very good with lots of choices. The Mexican Fiesta night was so much fun, with delicious food, tequilla and plenty of entertainment and music.

The location of this resort is also quite good. There are plenty of places to walk and see. It is in a quieter part of Mexico, but still lots to see and do.

Can't wait to go back this winter.

Room Tip: if you like a larger more quieter room stay in cocos 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#4 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Los Cocos

Property: Decameron Los Cocos
Address: Avenida Retorno Las Palmas, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque Bay of Rincon de Guayabitos in the state of Nayarit, just 55 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport amidst a typical fishing village, Hotel Decameron Los Cocos is the ideal place to experience the most spectacular family holiday. Its white beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the bright colors of the hotel's architecture. We have 4 pools throughout our installations, 3 of which are suitable for children, and over 100 meters of beaches. Experience the international and typical dishes you can find at the La Bamba, La Canoa and El Tropical Restaurants, or enjoy the most delicious drinks at the disco or at the bars on the beach, like La Iguana and Pelicanos. During the day you can enjoy different recreational activities like non-motorized water sports, kayaking, sailboats and a catamaran, a massage parlor, and tennis, basketball and beach volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing