We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is clean and quiet. Room is not big but came with a balcony and partial ocean view. Simple decor, nothing luxurious but functional. The quality of bathroom finish was sub par - uneven tiling obviously the work of an apprentice. Location is good. Many restaurants and shops are within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ml:
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and on Sunny Isles. Our rooms are furnished in a sleek modern design that accentuates the views of the Ocean or the Sunny Isles skyline. Our bathrooms décor is in the same fashion of modernity with rough-hewn tile to give texture and depth. As you pointed out, As you pointed out centrally located to Bal Harbour Shoppes and the Aventura Mall as well as many Fine dining and Local Casual ethnic restaurants.
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    424
    191
    115
    111
See reviews for
497
572
87
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Sole and was not impressed. While the service was okay (some more then others were extremely nice and helpful) - we felt like we were being 'watched' the whole time. The location is wonderful as people say - being that it is RIGHT on the beach... but every other hotel is as well.

the rooms
we had a tiny tiny studio room. I found the bathroom spacious with plenty of counter space and a wonderful shower (no bathtub). The bed was huge and comfy, and every room has a little balcony (but NO CHAIRS - no place to SIT?). There are no mini fridges or ICE machines, you need to call and request ice from downstairs. That being said when we tried to bring a cooler into our room to keep things cold it was taking away from us and we were not reimbursed. We had no idea of this 'policy' and it was embarrassing to be treated like that in the lobby of the hotel like we did something terribly wrong.
minor detail - no decorations, darkish paint that was chipping/dirty.

the location-
the beach was wonderful - and the SERVICE there was spectacular. They set up our chairs/umbrella - remembered our names every day and were super friendly and had super quick drink/food service. thanks to all!
food places all around the hotel and the restaurant on site (Alba) was delicious but very pricey.

Breakfast -
more confusion over this. at first when we checked in we were told we pay 25 dollars a day which includes beach/pool access, wifi, and breakfast. Then we come to find out breakfast is NOT included and now we are only paying $15 a day (took a solid 15 minutes for the staff to figure this out) But thankfully we saved 10 a day because all breakfast includes is coffee and a muffin. no thanks. (Epicure across the street is a way better option)

Overall I felt nickel and dimed. It seems tips are expected with every little thing. OH and you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol/food onto the beach or pool area- which is ridiculous. We wanted to enjoy the sunset with a bottle of wine on the beach and was asked to leave or throw out our bottle.

We go to Miami often enough but that will be the last time we stay at Sole.

Room Tip: get a room with a kitchenette on a high floor (gorgeous views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityChic9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here from 03/22/14 - 03/25/14. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I arrived at the hotel at 11am and my room was already waiting for me, clean & perfect. The food at the restaurant was great and not overly expensive. Service on the beach was great as well. Being able to control the temperature in the room was great. The hallways weren't freezing like Alaska either, which is good for not getting sick walking in wet swimwear. Everything is safe & secure, which is important to me since I'm a female traveling alone. I couldn't be happier with this hotel. Will be booking there again for my next trip in May.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HellzAngel8886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear HellzAngel8886:
As a Boutique Hotel, our aim is to personalize our guests experience and I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and memorable. Our a modern design with soft touches allow our Guests to relax in a serene environment with wonderful views ranging from of the clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean or the skyline of our City. We take great care in ensuring safety and security for all our hotel guests.
We thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Calling before to see if we could fit a cot in the room and we knew we were in trouble. King rooms are small and being a suburban family, not an easy transition. Room was ready near 5, they were nice enough to give us a late checkout as a consolation prize, but given it was nearly empty on Sunday, only a small one.

The rooms are organized well despite the tight design and did have in room safes. The soundproofing is substandard and noise is audible throughout the night.

I have been to nicer hotels and frankly expected more.

Room Tip: Spring for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear David J: Thank you for taking the time to write a quick review about your experience. As you mention, our King rooms are not able to accommodate a cot, but more befitting of a Single Person. Our double/double rooms and our Suites are more spacious for a Family of 3 or more.
We try to assist guests with room selection by providing representative pictures on our website and our reservations agents are always happy to assist in person. We do apologize that your check-in was an hour past our regular check in time of 4pmand we do strive to meet check in times for all our guests. I am glad our Front Desk offered you a late check-out and hope you were able to enjoy a full day on the beach. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon and allow our reservations agents help find the room that best suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel did not live up to our expectation at all. The service was really bad, their photo gallery is misleading(no bath tubs) and the staff are not att all service minded.

The two things we booked the hotel for we didn’t get. First of all, the room is not as it is shown on the website. If you click on partial ocean view you see a room with a nice clear and obstructed view of the ocean and more, not a view of a giant hotel, which we got. Second most, if you look in the room gallery and filter on ”rooms” the bathroom shows a bathtub. There was no bathtub in our room or in any other room apparently as we asked in the reception. So basically we didn’t got the view we booked, and we didn’t got the bathtub that we also really wanted.

The only solution we got from the hotel was to pay more money and upgrade to a suite so we could get what we have already payed for.

Some other things during our visit:
Room cleaning always came super late in the day at 5 or 6pm. One time we only got a knock on our door telling us to sign that we apparently didn´t wanted house keeping, at 6PM. The room was vacant and clear for house keeping all day.

When at the beach they handed out menus when you arrived but to actually place an order you have to go and chase down the waiter yourself. Every single day!

We also tried the room service, with great delays. The last time we waited 1h and 15 min before calling again and reminding them about our order. The food eventually arrived after another 20 min but with the wrong sauce to my meat, which I couldn’t eat do to allergy.

When we checked out and they asked us about our visit we told them again that we were disappointed and told them about the bath tub and that they shouldn´t show things on their website they didn´t have. Her answer was " Sorry, this is a business". and was quite rude.

We also e-mailad the hotel about all this things and asked for a compension. They didn´t even bother to answer it!! So rude!

I would not recommend staying at this hotel. We will definitely be back in Miami soon but surely not at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bettie_d2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are truly sorry that your stay was not as you had expected. Rest assured, we take your comments to heart and have already shared your comments with our team. Kindly allow me to touch on a few points you raise. Regarding the images on our website, we carefully select those that show the true view and nature of the room to assist guests in their room selection process. The suite you had received is located closest to the ocean for the partial ocean view category. As you mentioned, it is partially obstructed. The view on our website is the suite farthest from the ocean for the same suite category. Therefore, when our team was attempting to assist in getting the view you desired, the only option at that time was an upgrade to our ocean front suite. As for housekeeping service, we are always happy to accommodate our guests time preferences for service as some guests prefer early service, while others prefer to sleep in on their vacations and request later service. Sole is a boutique hotel and we strive to provide a personal response to all guests. We had unsuccessfully reached out to you in response to your email. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you in person. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

1. Nice and quite location. On the beautiful beach. Nice view from room. (Even we only had partial ocean view room)
2. Very friendly hotel staff. Make you feel at home
3. Valet parking is quick and easy, price ($25/night) is reasonable.
4. This is moden style hotel, I like traditional style more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear d d;
As a Boutique Hotel we value a personal touch with each of our guests. I am thrilled to hear that the flow of service from the Valet to the Front desk to the Pool and Beach was part of your Home away from Home experience.
We do indeed have a modern design with soft touches allowing our Guests to experience the Hotels real “Star” – which are wonderful views of the clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean and our private beach on Sunny Isles in a relaxed and calm setting.
We thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again during your next travels to Sunny Isles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my partner had booked a hotel from the 13th - 20th March '14.

Had a great time in the hotel. The staff were fantastic, always happy to help out and assist at all times. A very friendly, youthful team.

I very much hope to return Miami, and when I do rest-assured I'll be booking a room with Sole on the Ocean.

Room Tip: Book a Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingAran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear KingAran, Thank you for writing to let us know that our efforts in Customer Service and Hospitality were noticed. As a Boutique Hotel our aim is to interact with each guest and make them feel comfortable in “our home”. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was Fantastic and that our Hotel Staff was part of your Home away from Home experience. The sun is shining and the water is a nice 77.0° so come back anytime and enjoy the experience all over again. We look forward to seeing you and your partner again during your next travels to Sunny Isles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.9 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
8.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Property: Sole on the Ocean
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing