We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The Acqualina is a beautiful hotel but it is very expensive. The continental breakfast was the best we have ever seen. The 3 spa services we experienced were excellent. The beach is perfectly maintained and well staffed. It's a great resort for families with children. The rooms are big and well equipped. The restaurants are high priced and you could probably eat as well in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luce1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    80
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
327
362
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Rising above 400 feet of beachfront is the Acqualina Resort and Spa in Sunny Isles Beach, Fla. The resort stands within four miles of premier shopping at Aventura Mall and the Bal Harbour Shops. Transportation is provided to Bal Harbour Shops. Hotel Features. Mediterranean charm is evident on the resort grounds, with iron gates, fountains, sculpted archways and a porte cochere with a domed cupola. Acqualina's signature restaurant, the Mediterranean inspired Aaria, offers indoor and outdoor dining, elegant breakfasts and lunches, and dinners out on the oceanfront veranda.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have been to Miami area at least once a year for the past 5 years and always wanted to try Acqualina Resort. Unfortunately, the price was usually the thing that held us back as it was usually double of what other top hotels charged. This year we decided it was time to splurge. Acqualina did not disappoint. It was all you should expect from a top of the line hotel/resort. From great, attentive and personalized service to luxurious accommodations, wonderful large guestrooms, unbelievable Spa and Fitness facilities, pool and restaurant areas and plush and always attentive beach comfort. My wife and I enjoyed our vacation to the fullest and can honestly say that we got our money's worth and then some. Acqualina truly reflects a saying "You get what you pay for". I hope we can come back there again and again...and soon :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlifeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
347 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Everything you've read in the reviews is absolutely true !!! the rooms are very big and with lots of amenities, great service (they even call you by your name)....just a wonderful hotel that makes your stay in Sunny Isles very special.

We had dinner in Il Mulino and was ok, nothing outstanding and very noisy.
I would come back without doubt....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Aqualina from April 22nd, to April 26th to celebrate our upcoming anniversary. We are very picky about our hotels and their services and cleanliness. This one was top notch. There are so many good things to say about this resort. First impression was that the resort is exquisite. Expect first class treatment all the way. We took a limo to and from the resort. Upon arrival at 10:30 PM, we were greeted with champagne and given a brief tour of the resort. The enterance is grand. There are doormen and 24 hour concerige. There is hardly no parking, so I would suggest you take some sort of transportation to the resort and not rent a car. The resort does provide free transportation in a Cadillac SUV within a 5 mile radious, which was sufficient for us. The class of cars in the small parking area is impressive....Rolls Royce, BMW, Lincolns, Lexus, Jaguar, Lambrogini, Mercedes, just to name a few. This will give you an idea of the service you will receive at this resort. The best thing about the Aqualina is the photos you see on the internet are exactly what you can expect when you get there in person. We had room 1808, a one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. There were chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us upon our arrival. It was beautiful. Marble floors, granite counter tops, double sinks in the bath with granite counter top, marble shower for two. They provide you with slippers, a luxorious robe, shampoo, full size blow dryer, minibar with fridge (you have to pay handsomely for the drinks and snacks though). Ladies, they also have the best "after sun" lotion. There is also an inroom safe, iron and ironing board. Don't let me forget the deep soaker tub with a view of the ocean! The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. There is also turn down service and clean sheets every night! Now for what we did...We mostly sat on the beach. This was great because there is beach staff who set up your chairs and umbrellas for you. They don't want you to lift a finger! You also can get lunch and drinks at the "The Grill." Speaking of The Grill, our experience was that it was good for lunch, but not quality enough for dinner. We had dinner at the Grill and it was $125.00 for average food. As said in previous reviews, the beach staff come around and offered samples of smoothies and frozen grapes. We would advise going to the beach to set up your chair, especially on the weekend, tby 10AM. Otherwise, the staff get really busy and it takes a while to get set up unless you do it yourself. No big deal about having to get a wrist band to go to the beach. A security person greets you before you get to the beach to put an arm band on you. This is so other guests from the other resorts don't use the Aqualina's pools or beach front. It's a good idea. We had the "Romance" package which included buffet breakfast everyday, champagne in our room, rose pedal turndown, one private dinner on the beach by Il Mulino Restaurant and 2 - 50 minute private ESPA massages. We thought that this was a bargin considering that one massage is over $200.00. It cost about $125.00 more for this package. If you were to eat the breakfast buffet it would cost 31.75pp. Food is pretty expensive at the resort. Dinner at the Il Mulino was very good but we ate outside and the service was poor. I would suggest maybe eating inside to see if that makes a difference. We took advantage of the free resort transportation and went to the Bal Harbour Mall, the Boardwalk and Ventura Mall. Ladies, treat yourself to some window shopping at the Bal Harbour Mall. Huge prices on all designer clothing and jewelry. Tiffany's, Cartier, Michael Kors, Louis vuitton, Vera Wang and many more. The clothes are to die for! They have valet parking at the Bal Harbour Mall! Very upscale. Another good thing is there is security on premises, and your room key only allows you to go to your floor. No one else can come on your floor if they don't have a room there or are with you. So there's no wandering the halls by unwanted guests. To sum up our stay at Aqualina the hotel is awesome. It's everything and more that one could want while on vacation. Take advantage of the concierge service for booking dinner and restaurant recommendations. Everyone is super friendly and professional. We will definately go back to Aqualina and make our stay longer. You won't be disappointed with this choice! Can't say enough about it. Will try to post photos a bit later.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathydnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

My husband and I stayed in a 1-BR suite for 4 nights in February 2010 and were extremely pleased and happy with our choice of Acqualina. We had never stayed in a high-rise style resort and were not fully sure what to expect, but Acqualina surprises and delights with their excellent customer service, beautiful rooms, and attention to detail. The ambiance is very international and cosmopolitan, from the multi-lingual staff to the guests who come from all over the world.

We were greeted at reception with complementary bellini cocktails and taken directly to our room on the 15th floor. (Being a Wednesday, the check-in process was very efficient and fast, but we did notice later that during peak hours on the weekend, the front desk area was much busier.) We were stunned upon seeing our room--the ocean views from the floor-to-ceiling windows were some of the best we have ever had and we instantly fell in love with the place!

I can only say good things about our room and we keep wishing we were still there! Gorgeous marble bathroom with separate jacuzzi tub, dual sinks and Etro bath products; incredibly comfortable bed and linens that made for very peaceful sleep; ample walk-in closet with safe; lovely living room; a small office with computer access; and an eat-in-kitchen complete with appliances. We did end up cooking a couple of breakfasts and lunches after discovering a Whole Foods about a 5-minute drive away. There is also a great gourmet shop called Epicure about a 15-minute walk up Collins Avenue. The only downside to mention regarding the kitchen is that it is not fully stocked with pots, pans, and tools. We did find a few basics in the cabinets and made due just fine, but it's worth mentioning in case someone wanted to do a lot of cooking.

The layout of the property is easy to navigate since it is fairly compact: there are 3 or 4 rooms/suites on each floor, facing either the beach or Collins Avenue. On the lobby level is Il Mulino restaurant, a bar/sushi restaurant area, the ESPA complex, and the Concierge desk. Every morning there is complementary coffee set up by the Concierge until 9 AM, which I made great use of.

Going out from the lobby you arrive to the three separate pool areas, and just beyond that is the Costa Grill restaurant, and then the beach. All guests are required to wear a bracelet when sitting out by the pools and beach. The family pool by far gets the most sun and was not very crowded until the weekend of our stay. The other two pools were always quiet and we used the nearby jacuzzis a few times. We spent most of our outdoor time on the beach which has comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas. The stretch of beach is kept very clean and we couldn't get over how turquoise the water was for the Atlantic Ocean! The beach staff was very attentive and helpful and always went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. A nice surprise was the small morning and afternoon beach snack that the staff brought by each day. Among our favorites were the frozen lemonade, smoothies, and yogurt & granola.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurants since we ate our breakfasts in our suite and went to South Beach and Aventura for dinner. There are also a few restaurants on Collins just a short walk from the hotel.

We have stayed at a few other top-rated resorts and Acqualina holds its own for its gorgeous guest rooms, lovely stretch of pristine beach, and sophisticated, international vibe. As others have said, it is very expensive, but it's definitely worth it for a few days of R&R. We're hoping to go back at some point and will not think twice about staying at Acqualina again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaobellaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Great rooms, great space, wonderful beach and service on the beach. Average food at the restaurants, but a small point. Few issues with housekeeping - we noticed broken glass on our carpet when we checked in, and it took them 2 days to vacuum it out, but in other ways housekeeping was on point and answered our requests promptly and eagerly!

We really loved the beach. Never sat at the pool, as it was overrun by tweens out of control (but we are not pool people so that was not an issue). They require you to wear bracelets to the beach which I thought was a bit tacky, but I just asked them to make it loose, took it off and affixed it to my beach bag.

We really liked Sunny Isles, as we did not want to be in the middle of South Beach, and liked the quietness.

Is it worth the price??? I thought it was on the expensive side, but for us, the rooms and especially the beach service were really important, so we would definitely stay again. In fact I have tried to make reservations twice again, but they were booked up, so we decided on another venue than Miami. (If anyone knows of another similar property please let me know!)

We went to a few restaurants, one memorable one was Tatiana! If you are looking for an interesting experience, I urge you to go - preferably with a group of people. If you like to dance, eat and drink, you will have a good time (it is really loud, so be prepared).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.6 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Setai
The Setai
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Miami Beach EDITION
The Miami Beach EDITION
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Property: Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Address: 17875 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, the AAA Five Diamond Award and the Andrew Harper’s Reader’s Choice Award for Top #1 Top Beach Resort, #1 Top Spa Resort and #1 Top Family Resort. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury at this Miami Beach Resort with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace, AQ by Acqualina with menus provided by Il Mulino New York and a separate restaurant by the Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardroom, a world class fitness center offering the latest Artis technology and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering 11 multi-functional treatment rooms and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing