We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service Above All Others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Service Above All Others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

This is our second stay at the Acqualina/ Our first trip was shortly after they opened in 2006 (see my previous review). Although the service was very good in 2006, I have to say they have taken their service to an entirely new level. It is very hard to find anything wrong with this resort, staff, location, amenities, etc.

I'd like to update my 2006 review with some additional information:

- The area around the Acqualina has developed further with additional restaurants and shopping within quick walking distance. In addition, there are shopping & food options at Aventura Mall and Bal Harbour Shops near by not to mention Ft. Lauderdale and Miami. I know a number of people mentioning the food/beverage prices at Acqualina. There is a Denny's and McDonalds across the street, a Publix grocery store and several other convenience stores all within the walking distance. A little further down the road (walking) is a Starbucks, Subway, pizza places, etc. Don't let the food and drink prices scare you from staying here. Just plan accordingly and utlize the other food and beverage options around the resort.

- The spa is incredible. If you can only go for one service do the Contour and Firm Body Treatment with Ingrid. Beware you can't drink alcohol for 24 hours following the massage, but it is an incredible. I had 4 services, one each day, and they were all incredible; however, if I could have only done one I recommend the Contour and Firm Body Treatment. Regardless of the service, don't miss the spa.

- I know you might think that tipping isn't necessary when you pay so much for a room, food and beverage; however, a few dollars here and there for houskeeping, beach/pool chair set up, remembering your favorite drink/food order etc. it goes along way for the staff.

What could you do without to save money and still have an exceptional experience:

- Stay in the intercostal room. On our first visit we stayed in a 1 BD Suite. This was a wonderful and luxurious room. However, the price of the room has escalated over the 4 years and we just can't see the value. The intercostal room is lovely and the view is really nice. Unless upgraded for free to a 1 BD room, we found the intercostal room just fine. After all, you don't spend that much time in the room.

- Cabana Rental - save your money. Nothing special and no better service at the cabana's than anywhere else at the pool or beach.

- Sushi in the bar area - expensive for what you get. Great sushi places in the area. If they reduced the pricing for the sushi they'd sell more and throw out less food. We love sushi, but we'd prefer to spend our money elsewhere. Two rolls and two glasses of wine with the 18% service charge (tip) was $81.

- Alcohol at the hotel. You can pick up beverages at the local stores and bring to your room. Bring a collapsing cooler. I know the prices are comparable with other hotels, but again, we'd drink more if we weren't paying $12 a glass of wine for the same wine we buy in DC at upscale restaurants for $8.

- If you wan't to save money on food, but don't want to leave the resort, eat breakfast at Aaria (buffet). It will carry you into dinner and you shouldn't need lunch. However, directly across the street is Denny's and McDonald's if you want to eat less expensive for breakfast or lunch.

- Eat off property if you need to save money; however, don't miss Il Mulino. You have to eat at this restaurant. Good value for the price. The food and service are exceptional (they've calmed down and aren't hovering over your table like they were in 2006). This is a repeat restaurant. We could eat here everynight.

If I had any recommendations for Acqualina it would be:

- Pool staff should be more attentive during the day and automatically bring a menu and drink menu around 11:30 a.m. just to set the stage for eating and drinking at the pool.

- Come up with a way that the guest can signal that service is needed at the pool or at the beach. Otherwise, there is no way to get the staff's attention without going directly up to the Grill to ask for service.

- Turndown service shouldn't start before 7:00 p.m. Turndown service seemed to always occur while we were getting ready for dinner.

There really isn't anything to complain about. The resort is clean, beautiful and is on a lovely stretch of beach. You can walk for miles on the beach or on the street. We've stayed at many nice resorts. The Acqualina is by far the only resort we've stayed that has exceptional and consistently over the top service. You can count on great service, great food, and wonderful amenities each and every visit.

Although everyone provided great service, a special thanks to:
Clint, Emma, Ingrid, Katarina, Kelley, and Marie for exceptional service in the spa.
Juan and Juan Carlos in Aaria for exceptional service in Aaria for breakfast.
Matt, Giovanny, Chris and Chris for exceptional service at the pool.
and Victor at Costa Grill for taking care of me my first day while waiting for my room to be ready.
Room Service for the surprise birthday cake - yummy!

Thanks to everyone at Acqualina for making my birthday a great and relaxing experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    83
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
336
363
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I just came back from a weekend at the resort and spa and it could not have been better. Although it is the upper end of most budgets, if you really want to spoil yourself, do it here. The spa services were amazing and they have a vast number of treatments. Their spa products are exceptional. When not in the spa, my friend and I lounged at the wonderfully maintained beach and were treated like queens, from being set up at our beach chairs to the refreshments. We were asked constantly whether we needed anything and did not feel bombarded by the service at any time. The rooms were beautiful and had everything you needed, including a wonderful turn down service. There were a lot of extras that were free, which were appreciated as from my experience at other hotels, if you pay less for the room, they will charge you for every extra item you use.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spayogatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Wow is all I can say about our stay here at Aqualina Resort we have stayed at Several Sandals Resorts but this one takes the cake. Staff go way out of their way to serve you and make your stay so comfortable from the time you drive up to when you check in everyone you pass is polite and courteous. Anything you ask for is not problem they love to serve you the Rooms are breathtaking and the beach is gorgeous. We are so pleased with the Staff here I gotta name them off Alejandra @ the concierge she is wonderful always ready to serve and accomodate as well as Rachel she is super nice they both treat people like they would like to be treated. The facility is Pristine and top of the line with their Robes and Slippers and huge towels I loved it!! We Recommend this place hands down we will be back next year for sure!!Cant wait.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgthang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Spent anniversary with my with here. Excellent service. Beautiful suite...overlooking the Atlantic. Spa is wonderful...pricey but not outrageous. Very helpful staff. Our flight on Sunday was cancelled and we did not have the right power-cords. They lent us their personal chargers.

All in all a very well done, first rate hotel.

Il Mulino dinner was well worth it. As good, if not better than its NYC counterpart.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I have traveled the world over and have never experienced the high level of perfection as I did at the Acqualina. It started with a glass of champagne while I was checking in, and ended with a cold bottle of water to take with me when I checked out.

I wish every hotel manager in the world could spend one night at the Acqualina to see what true service entails! It is truly unbelieveable! You MUST experience it for yourself!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank artyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The Acqualina is a beautiful hotel but it is very expensive. The continental breakfast was the best we have ever seen. The 3 spa services we experienced were excellent. The beach is perfectly maintained and well staffed. It's a great resort for families with children. The rooms are big and well equipped. The restaurants are high priced and you could probably eat as well in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luce1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Rising above 400 feet of beachfront is the Acqualina Resort and Spa in Sunny Isles Beach, Fla. The resort stands within four miles of premier shopping at Aventura Mall and the Bal Harbour Shops. Transportation is provided to Bal Harbour Shops. Hotel Features. Mediterranean charm is evident on the resort grounds, with iron gates, fountains, sculpted archways and a porte cochere with a domed cupola. Acqualina's signature restaurant, the Mediterranean inspired Aaria, offers indoor and outdoor dining, elegant breakfasts and lunches, and dinners out on the oceanfront veranda.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Property: Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Address: 17875 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, the AAA Five Diamond Award and the Andrew Harper’s Reader’s Choice Award for Top #1 Top Beach Resort, #1 Top Spa Resort and #1 Top Family Resort. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury at this Miami Beach Resort with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace, AQ by Acqualina with menus provided by Il Mulino New York and a separate restaurant by the Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardroom, a world class fitness center offering the latest Artis technology and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering 11 multi-functional treatment rooms and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing