We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will not be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“will not be back”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is not worth the money!! Supposed to have a newly updated room-the room had a lot of problems, even to the missing smoke detector (which was just hanging there). The room was dirty with food crumbs all over and was there after a week of being there. Was blood stains on the pillows, which were never changed the whole week we were there. You are only allotted 1 beach towel per person for the day!! Customer Service was very poor in helping. The only good thing about the place was the beach!! Seriously not worth the money spent, go elsewhere for better quality and service!! The wireless also did not work so there was no way to keep contact with the family at home

Room Tip: check your beds and your drawers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunnybear4201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
It is unfortunate to read that your visit to our resort fell short of your expectation.

Our Director of Housing has reviewed your notes and as a follow up held a meeting with the staff to review our commitment to quality assurance based on the disorderly condition in which you found the room. Our wireless internet service has experienced sporadic disruptions this may have been caused by someone capitalizing on bandwidth, once reported this situation is addressed. Our Engineering department was briefed on the hanging smoke detector you found in the room and made the necessary repairs.


Also, our Rooms Division Manager was informed of the poor customer service you received and has since refreshed the team on our commitment to excellent customer service.

Every guest’s experience is very important to us; please be assured that we value your feedback and we hope you appreciate the attention paid to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    513
    475
    287
    418
See reviews for
841
471
88
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is ripe with history and reminds me of Florida when I was kid. The hotel is fairly old and is evident in the architecture. They are doing some remodeling but you feel that you really do step back in time while there. A refreshing change of pace, and Leo, the head Concierge is authentically pleased to take care of his guests, and he knows of some very good restaurants. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a newley remolded one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for choosing the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort and for leaving a review of our website. Our oceanfront resort is competitively priced and offers a host of amenities which is enjoyed by our many repeat guests to the Miami Beach area.

We are happy to read that our head concierge Leo and his team were very accommodating to your needs and were very knowledgeable on local dining options.

Thank you for leaving a review and we hope to host you on your next visit to the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed at the property for a family reunion. Reserved a ocean view, non-smoking room with two queen size beds traveling with a pet. We were told there would be a $100 pet depoist.

Upon arrival we were told there was only one room available and it only had a single king. I explained to Maria the desk clerk that I was traveling with a child who has cancer, and has special need. Maria's only alternative was to give us a free roll away.

Then we were told that only $50 of the pet depoist was refundable.

On top of that when we got to the room it was sweltering hot. Assumed/hoped after running the A/C on high it would cool off. The next morning I complained to the desk. I was told the unit was working properly, and it was just the Florida heat and humidity, but she would send someone to check it.

Returned to the room later that evening to find it still sweltering hot, and the custom pillows we brought from home for our daughter had been taken and replaced with hotel pillows

Not happy at all

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbell58946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for leaving a comment on your recent stay at our resort. Our oceanfront family and pet friendly resort is very popular for hosting all types of social functions.

Demand on the weekends is typically high and our team works effortlessly in accommodating each guest’s floor and bedding request. Nonetheless, management is collectively disappointed that your customer service encounter was not as ideal as we would have all liked.

Our resort’s pet policy requires a deposit of $100; $50 is refunded to the guest upon checkout. Guests are encouraged to keep all doors closed to maintain a comfortable temperature, sometimes guests leave the doors open causing the cooling system to be strained for the next arriving guest. We do apologize that your custom pillows were taken inadvertently.

Every guest’s comfort is important to us; we value your feedback and hope you appreciate the attention paid to your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Please check out this hotel before you book anywhere else. We loved the kitchenet room overlooking the pool and beach. Best air conditioner i have ever had in hotel and the room was clean.
Be prepared for the Valet parking that is mandatory because there is no self parking. I will definitly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade when checking in, You may get a ocean view room for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevelle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for leaving a comment on your recent visit the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort. Our oceanfront resort is located in the upscale neighborhood of Sunny Isles. The majority of our clients are mostly repeat customers.

We offer several room categories and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Ocean Pool Front room with kitchenette overlooking the Olympic sized pool and the ocean.

Although the resort does not have self-parking we do offer a very competitive daily valet fee of $18 with in and out privileges.

Thank you for being a committed customer to the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort and we look forward to rendering another great vacation on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was a very dilapidated and outdated hotel. There also are many hidden charges, such as the $15/day parking fee and $10/day "resort fee." The gym is very antiquated with old equipment that is subpar for a decent workout. The continental breakfast comprised of very unappealing food of low quality. Make sure you don't leave anything in your car before it is valeted. Money and items were stolen out of my car.
The room did not have a shower curtain and the towels and toilet were not clean. Even in a non-smoking floor I could smell smoke.

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want a room that animals have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrClean34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to our family and pet friendly resort. We are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Our resort was built in 1967 and has since been upgraded. You will be pleased to know that over 50% of our rooms have been updated over the last two years and we are currently undergoing additional renovation to the rooms. Our resort fee is published on the web and you may have overlooked this.

Over 300 guests are served each morning for breakfast from 6:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Our upgraded continental breakfast includes items such as hot fresh scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, hot oatmeal, muffins etc which is appeasing to most of our guests. The valet manager was provided with a copy of your complaint and currently the team is investigating the allegations of items missing from your vehicle.

Our Director of Housekeeping held a meeting with the staff to review our commitment to quality assurance based on your impressions of the room. Every guest’s experience is very important to us; please be assured that we value your feedback and we hope you appreciate the attention paid to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

i ignored reviews on tripadvisor and stayed in this hotel on entering hotel lobby is beautiful checkin was i breeze i asked for an updated room which i got on entering the room it was clean and tidy. we decided to hav dinner that night it hotel resturant that was a disaster food awful there is no other description i good give breakfast the next day was ok nothing special waiting staff at breakfast need retrained on good manners one lady waitress constantly yelled at people every morning because they moved chairs or used the toaster wrong our plates were lifted without even asking were we finished . on the third night in our room we had a large cockroach visiting us when i complainded a man was sent to our room with a fly spray to kill it he didnt speak to us when i went back to complain i was told he didnt speak english like a lot of the domestic staff there is a ten dollar a day resort fee charged per room what a takeon its meant to be for pool towels which were never available after 1pm and daily newspapers which dont exit only if you are up out of bed between 6 and 7.30 im glad i didnt have to park a cat as it is 15 dollars a day for valet parking .as for the consigerge team they must have a deal with the local cab company because everytime u asked for about buses they recommended cabs even to the airport a cab costs 57dollars u can get the supershuttle for 24 dollars per person and local buses take u all over miami for 2 dollars resturants and shops are not near hotel u have to use a bus or drive pizza resturant in lower lobby of hotel is fantastic food is excellent my overall view of hotel is that it was once a grand hotel it has got its historic status as a member of staff told us so it gets to keep that it would need to close down for a year update every room and lift all the rotten carpets throughout the hotel and do a big relaunch . there is a managers cheese and wine party on a friday between 4 and 5 which i attended but no sign of a manager there noone spoke to me or introduced themselves to me which i thought would be common manners .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We appreciate your leaving feedback on your recent stay at our resort. It is great to read that your checking into the hotel went smoothly and that you found your room clean and tidy.

We have thoroughly reviewed your concerns with the appropriate staff and department heads given the serious nature of your notes. To that end, our Food and Beverage manager held a service refresher with the staff. Our resort has a diverse work group which is important for interacting with our many international guests. We do however; encourage all staff to communicate in English while they are on duty.

Pool towels are available at the concierge desk in the evenings. The USA Today paper is available daily and the supply may have been exhausted at the time of your request. Our Rooms Division Manager held a briefing with the concierge team regarding the transportation recommendations. Our Manager’s wine and cheese is hosted by scheduled managers on Friday and we do apologize that an introduction was not made.

Every guest’s experience is very important to us and we hope you appreciate our attention to your concerns. Again, we wish to thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The booking was made by my Company, to be near Aventura Mall.
This 3 nights stay turned out to be most enjoyable, as the room was above average for such a category, and the staff very nice and attentive. Food options are numerous and the included breakfast is excellent.
I even went to the Pool and Beach, both had all you can expect, and more.
I can recommand the Marco Polo, no matter the reason of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs-mco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for leaving such kind remarks on the enjoyable time you had on your recent stay at the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort.

We are happy to read that you were pleased with your assigned room and that the staff was very attentive. Our resort boasts three dining outlets; in addition our resort offers a complimentary continental buffet breakfast every morning in our Ocean Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the pool and the ocean. Our Olympic size swimming pool and our kiddies pool is a crowd favorite.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to hosting you on future visits to the Miami Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
7.2 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#168 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,608 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Property: Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Address: 19201 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing