We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a window!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linwood Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Artarmon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room without a window!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel trough wotif.con. We were not expecting a super flashy hotel but seriously when we faced the room we were extremely unimpressed! A very tiny window gave visibility on the under-roof of a very old and untidy building! The bathroom was exceptional small and probably in the middle of a slow renovation process due the state of the walls, doors and all the rest.
Easy location if you traveling by car with off street car park. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gentileluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    6
    5
    12
See reviews for
2
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

only words to describe linwood lodge artarmon is "Rat Hole" see Greg A his review is accurate. Even at $80-90/night its way too expensive for what it is your better off at a backpackers. I read the reviews but as there were 2 good 2 bad took a chance. Greg has described the place perfectly and photos dont do it justice place is worse than that. Mould on walls, bathroom is almost unsuable due to size and layout they dont provide soap unless you ask and no shampoo luckily they give you towels. Bad experience and Ive stayed in some poor places before but this is the worst I have stayed in.

Room Tip: read the reviews carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Artarmon hotels

North Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Others have had bad experiences. We booked one of the better rooms, asked for a room at the back, away from the highway. Quiet, comfortable, does all the basics, in good condition, no defects as reported by others. Informal but helpful reception. No glamour. Good location for getting to North Shore Hospitals (take the bus across the road, pre-purchase book of tickets at a newsagent). Same if you want to go to the city, via St Leonards Station.

This is not the place for people coming to the big city and wanting the big city lights. But it is economical and practical for practical visits to the northern side of Sydney. Very easy to get to by car, very easy to get away from by car... especially if not in peak hour.

Room Tip: You must book one of the better rooms, $10 more of so, you must also ask for a room at the back, awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed in the "older" section. Total crap, tiny rooms, desk under window was swollen and rotting in spots, bathroom door didn't close fully, tiny bathroom, basin rusting underneath, adjustable shower nozzle had two settings - attached and in your hand, tiles missing and others patched up in shower. If I was staying a second night I would have asked for a refund and gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room... go elsewhere, honestly would never stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed here this week, when the hotel I usually stay at in North Sydney was booked out. I read the review below and booked, requesting a room in the newer section.

I arrived on Monday night after driving for 8 hours and was exhausted, when I checked I was charged for the stay, which I thought was strange. Then I was taken to Room 402 which is in the 'new building' on the ground floor, about three meters from the cars traveling the Pacific Highway.

Goodness only knows what the rooms in the 'older' section of the building are like.

On entering the room there was a really bad smell, and I had to leave the door open which meant I felt like I was on the Pacific Highway, there are people walking on the footpath 2 metres from the door (which was a glass sliding door - not a solid door).

The room was like a shoe box, I am only small but I don't think a normal sized bloke could even fit in the shower, there is a 30cm gap between the edge of the vanity and the wall by which to sqeeze into the shower. The closet to hang clothes smelt like someone had urinated in it, and the whole room just a really bad smell. It was so bad I re-packed everything into my car.

The curtains in the glass door didn't fit properly so all the people walking past could see into the room.

The room had a old style, tiny TV, a microwave, a fridge and a big chair which I tripped over to get to the bathroom. I didn't want to touch anything and couldn't wait to get out of there. The next morning I was up at 5.30am all ready to run away. Reception didn't open until 7.00am so I waited, and rang the bell at 7.03am when no one had appeared. When the guy answered the phone I asked when reception was open and he said 7.00am,. I replied that it was after 7.00am so he said he would be about 10 - 15minutes!

When the guy came and opened reception I explained that I couldn't stay any longer as it was impossible to sleep 3 meters away from the traffic and that the room and the hotel were really dodgy and I didn't feel safe. "Ok" he replied and refunded me the money I had paid for the balance of the stay.

Nest door is a backpacker hotel which had a sign advertising $55.00 per night, I paid $89.00 a night and this hotel was a dump, If they want to run a back-packer motel, fine, but be honest on the website about what it is and charge the correct price for what they are offering.

I would not recommend staying here, there is nothing good I can say about the place, other than they were good enough to refund my money!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A quite hotel right on the Pacific Highway going north from the city. Basic accommodation though for the price and location was beyond our expectation. Check-in and out was speedy and friendly.
Be wary though there is at least 2 standards here and we did get an upgrade.

Also experienced favourably, the need to vary our reservation [our mistake] and this was doe without fuss and with speed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artarmon
0.6 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Linwood Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwich
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linwood Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linwood Lodge Motel

Property: Linwood Lodge Motel
Address: 312/314 Pacific Highway, Artarmon, Willoughby, New South Wales 2064, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Artarmon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Artarmon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short bus ride to Sydney City and the Royal North Shore Hospital, the Linwood Lodge Motel is a small family run budget motel offering relaxed surrounds with quality, affordable accommodation. Make a choice of comfortable single, double or family size rooms.The fully self contained Deluxe Room has a range of facilities including one double and one single bed, ensuite, breakfast table, microwave, tea/coffee making facility, TV with Foxtel cable and reverse cycle air-conditioning.Sydney's Northern Suburbs & Beaches offer Spectacular National Parks, sophisticated harbourside suburbs, spectacular beaches stretch from Manly to Palm Beach and a variety of shopping from exclusive boutiques to huge shopping centres.Whether you are visiting friends, family in the area or just passing through, you are assured of a good nights rest at the Linwood Lodge Motel. Your friendly hosts look forward to your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Linwood Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linwood Lodge Motel Artarmon, Australia, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing