We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel does not have digital TVs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Pacific Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Artarmon
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here the other night - overall service was good, but the TV was the issue- I could only view the 4 channels (2, 7, 9, 10 + SBS) & the viewing quality was very poor. I rang reception querying how to access the other channels - I was told their TVs are still analogue & will be changed over to digital TVs later this year. Because of limited viewing options, I asked if the hotel could provide me with an in house movie - free of charge. Matter was referred to the duty manager - he rang me & declined my request for a free movie. I pointed out that it's quite standard to have digital TV & by not having more free to air viewing options available, guests were almost forced into paying for in house movies. He advised that they don't advertise that they have digital TV. Well, by his logic, they don't advertise that they have hot running water - does that mean if there is no hot water, guests can't demand some form of compensation? Doubt I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, Manager at Royal Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We advertise we have the basic TV channels and Foxtel Sports - run through a digital set top box as the TVs are older. We also advertise we have a selection of Pay per Use Movies - and that a fee applies. We provided these channels. The Pay per Use Movie selection is not free - even when demanded. As explained, we provide what we advertise,
Yes - we are getting newer TVs, but the movies will still be charged and a movie channel will not be provided for free to my knowledge in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Had the most enjoyable stay
The staff were fantastic & made every effort to make feel welcome & go above & beyond for us for our first trip to Sydney
The room was very clean & comfortable
The public transport just outside door was a great bonus
Will most defentily be staying again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank tink0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Royal Pacific Hotel almost every week and it meets my needs perfectly. Steve and Rachel excel in running a very good value hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. The staff is courteous and professional. The food is tasty. And I keep coming back. I can thoroughly recommend the Royal Pacific Hotel if you looking for a good value option.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Wiet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After flying into Sydney, we chose this hotel for a quick overnight before heading North the following day. The clerk at check in was friendly and we had our room key within a minute of arriving. We found the location excellent and appreciated the ample free parking. The room was clean and the king size bed quite comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Popovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just love this hotel, the rooms are large, there is a microwave, plates, cutlery, large desk and small table and chairs and a very modern bathroom. There is also a laundry, $2 wash and $3 dry, very reasonable.

The road is very busy but we did not hear traffic in the room, we had a great sleep. This great little hotel is ideal for people visiting the Royal North Shore Hospital, the bus stops outside the hotel and the hospital. There also is a courtesy car to take you there in the morning Mon-Fri! The bus travels to Manly or Chatswood. The station is around a 7-10 walk, not really a trek, downhill.
The staff are friendly, there is a restaurant, we have not tried it yet. We are returning to the hotel on another hospital visit, we look forward to it!

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC-Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel quite a few times (maybe 4-5 in the last 12-15 months or so).
It is located on the pacific highway, 12-15 mins walk from Artarmon station. Due to it's location, getting a cab from this place is a pain, if you do not book it in advance over the phone. But hotel negates that disadvantage by providing daily morning shuttle service (really helps for office goers like me).
Room size is very very good....very clean, very well maintained.... view from room is also very good. It is a BIG size room.
Never had food here, so cannot comment. Staff is really helpful and welcoming ..... Will certainly suggest to fellow travellers....
My overall rating:

Location - 3/5
Rooms - 4.5/5
Hotel - 4/5
Staff - 4/5
Added advantage of shuttle service +1

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the top 2 floors, view looks much better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anubhav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great daily room services, lovely staff in reception and restaurant, comfortable bed, fantastic hot shower and beautiful view to come into at night after work. They also had a beautiful wine selection.

Room Tip: Be aware that it's a bit of trek from Artarmon train station. Close, sure, but you wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseR_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artarmon
0.8 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 3 in Lane Cove
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.7 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Hotel

Address: 472 Pacific Highway, Artarmon, Willoughby, New South Wales 2064, Australia (Formerly Punthill North Shore Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Artarmon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Artarmon
Price Range: £71 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Pacific Hotel is a stylish and contemporary hotel set on the leafy North Shore of Sydney. Situated in Lane Cove North, it offers easy access to Chatswood, Artarmon, Lane Cove, St Leonards and North Sydney. Whether staying for business or leisure, guests can unwind at the end of the day with a drink at the bar or beside the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Hotel Artarmon, Australia, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing