We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cremorne Point Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not again”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staff were lovely but rooms too close and too many for price. No privacy at all. Noise easily heard from other rooms and hallway.
Also when booking asked about parking and was told there was lots on a weekend...ha ha ha had to walk half a kilometre to get back to accomodation.
No views at all only telephone wires from front verandah.
Would be better off staying in motel room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Ottey26,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that your accommodation was not up to your satisfaction. Regarding privacy and your room. I sincerely would suggest that if your room was not to your liking that you should have come to tell one of our managers we would have been most happy to find one that is more to your liking. We are a guesthouse in an old building and while we do have brick walls and smoke seals on the doors, there is some noise that can travel from the hallways to some rooms. The view from our balcony though is not of power lines, we have lovely views over mosman bay and the balcony is a lovely place to spend the afternoon.

As for parking we also have paid parking spots we can't control what occurs with neighbourhood parking but in future if its a problem I would suggest booking our garage. Generally parking is not a problem but there may have been a local event that caused the difficult parking.

Again I am sorry that the experience was not up to your expectations.

Sincerely

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    109
    36
    7
    13
See reviews for
47
160
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Despite the very welcoming and friendly staff on arrival, I'm afraid it is hard to be overly enthusiastic about my stay at Cremorne Point Manor. Our room (#10) was situated at the door of the guesthouse and we were woken before 8am every day by noisy guests at reception. It being the front room and there being benches on the porch also meant that it didn't make you want to open the curtains as there were often people sitting inches from our windows. The decor in the room was alright and the daily cleaning was well done, but a lick of paint might be worth it at some point soon. The breakfast was ok, if a little limited, and the surrounding area is really beautiful which is why it is a clearly a popular destination with other travellers.

I can see from previous reviewers that weren't particularly positive that this sort of feedback may not be well-received, but with TripAdvisor stickers on the doors you have to take the rough with the smooth I'm afraid.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SwampHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear 'Swamphound'
Thank you for your review. I note that you were unhappy with your room. We would have been very happy to move you and in future I would recommend seeing the front office if you are unhappy. I do recall that you thanked the manager for asking the guests on the balcony to move.

Unfortunately you failed to mention this in your review. Again I would suggest that instead of airing your grievances after the fact it may be more beneficial as a guest to speak to us as we will always do our best to ensure every guest is happy and we would have organised for you to change your room.

I also note that you mention that poor responses are not well received. We welcome all feedback and it allows us to improve our guest experience. We do our very best to ensure every guest is happy and I only wish that guests who are unhappy would approach us as it will give us a chance to rectify the situation.


Sincerely

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Well what can we say. Just had 2 nights at the Manor. This is our 4th stay there and it is a well kept secret that needs to be aired online. Great position on the point, easy access to Sydney via ferry, fantastic views and walks. Brekkie (included in cost) amazing and the hospitality is like being at home, friendly and warm. The staff are tops and we had the pleasure of meeting the owners who are so down to earth and constantly wanting to know how to improve their clientèle's wants and needs. They are gems and so is the Manor. Come on people, get your backsides into the Manor instead of staying in Sydney with all the other oximorons and breathe the air from the other side of the harbour. A great place to stay, but more than one night please. Parking is also just outside the door at no cost, and the restaurants at Mosman and surrounds are fabulous and extremely reasonable. Even have Maccas for the die hard. Cheers, Ross and Margy Gregory.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms, some smallish and some biggish, so stipulate what you desire and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Margy G,
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the manor. Also you mentioned our breakfast which we are constantly trying to improve and ensure that it's a lovely start to the day. The restaurants around the area are also very good and there are many options.

Sincerely thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit.

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury,ON
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights here, booked on-line. Our room was comfortable and clean, at the back of the guest house. There are higher end rooms with full bath and Jacuzzi tubs. In this 1911 building, the ceilings are high, making the whole place airy. The décor is lovely. the beds comfortable and clean and the rooms have a little closed-in balcony. You can also sit out looking across the harbour.
The continental breakfast includes eggs and a variety of breads and cereals. A good start to the day. The Cremorne Ferry leaves from the bottom of the road taking you across to the City. Definitely the place to stay. Free internet access from the computer in the lounge.

Room Tip: The front corner suites are really lovely but all the rooms seem quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear CanBrit1,
Firstly wow. We've never received a review from someone who has contributed so much to Trip advisor and I sincerely appreciate your lovely review.

I note that you appreciate the egg's addition for the continental breakfast. Though eggs are not normally part of a continental breakfast we thought they would be a welcome addition and it's been a great success our guests love it, and the cute little cooking machine and we will continue to have them.

Sincerely from all the staff at Cremorne Point Manor. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to your return trip.

Sincerely

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent location for getting into Sydney. A lovely boutique type motel. On the whole friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. This is my 5th return stay in this motel and we will return again. I would say it works best for couples or solo rather than families, as the rooms are slightly on the small side.

Room Tip: Although the room we stayed in was a little small, everything you need is there. The location is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Julie M,
Sincerely thank you for your review. I Sincerely appreciate a longtime guest writing such a lovely review. Yes are rooms are not enormous, however given the character of the building and it's prime location on cremorne point more than make up for the size. Im also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at this great hotel a couple of years ago and was very happy to note that not only was it as good as I remembered but better as they have carried out extensive renovations since my first visit. The atmosphere is friendly and I feel welcome. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious - lovely fresh bread. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Wendy C,
Thank you for your lovely review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very glad that a return guest loves the updates we have made. We are constantly trying to improve the guest experience.

Thank you and we look forward to your return to the Manor.

Sincerely

JC Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel good value for money. The well decorated room was thoughtfully appointed and the bathroom was clean with good towels. The breakfast was more than enough for a continental style buffet. The other guests were quiet and we didn't hear anyone even though the hotel appeared quite full. The staff were a bit hard to find on a Sunday morning but this didn't impact in the overall experience. Parking was quite hairy with space limited on the street and strict time limits applying in daylight hours - I would hate to stay here on a weekday just for this reason alone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjeurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Cremorne Point Manor, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Jjeurotrip,
Thank you for your lovely review, I note that you are a top contributor on trip advisor with 52 reviews and I sincerely appreciate your positive comments. Your comments regarding parking are true. however weekdays are easier than summer weekends as this is our peak period. There are a number of unlimited parking spaces in front of the hotel. We also have a parking garage so if you wish for your next stay you can book parking before you arrive (it is limited though as it's popular).

Thank you again for your comments about breakfast and the quietness of the hotel, We look forward to your future stay at the Manor.

Sincerely

Jean-Claude Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cremorne Point
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
682 reviews
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
206 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cremorne Point Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cremorne Point Manor

Property: Cremorne Point Manor
Address: 6 Cremorne Rd, Cremorne Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2090, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Cremorne Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cremorne Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cremorne Point Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cremorne Point Manor, a restored 19th-century federation style hotel, is set in a quiet, leafy location surrounded by harbourside reserve. A large upstairs guest balcony overlooks Cremorne Point and Mosman Bay and has glorious views across Sydney Harbour to the east. The interior features high ceilings and all the charm and comfort you would expect from a bed and breakfast style guesthouse. Free high speed wifi for all rooms and common area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cremorne Point Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cremorne Point Manor Hotel Cremorne Point
Cremorne Point Manor Sydney
Cremorne Point Manor Hotel Sydney
Cremorne Point Manor North Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing