We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time enjoying Kappo dining- wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of WAQU - CLOSED

WAQU
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$90
Cuisines: Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: WAQU offers a unique dining experience featuring the best of modern Japanese food with a Western influence in the stylish and intimate atmosphere.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time enjoying Kappo dining- wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to Waqu many times over the years, whenever we feel like treating ourselves to a fancy meal that is good value, enjoying their set degustation style menu. It is an attractive, modern style restaurant and the service is always top notch. This last visit, we decided to try their Kappo dining menu, which they describe as Japanese tapas. It was a great choice, my husband, adult son and I, were a bit hesitant that it would be more expensive and maybe less filling than the usual menu, but we were wrong. You order you dishes from the menu, there are small plates, large plates and rice pots. The serving size was much bigger than I thought they would be, each small dish was fine for 3 people to share adequately. We ordered about 6 small dishes, all were delicious and moreish, especially the calamari. Then we shared a steak dish (300g Wagyu sirloin which they portioned into 3 servings for us) and a seafood rice dish, and 2 desserts. They had half price sake at that visit, so we couldn't say no to that. The Mango dessert was divine. We were well and truly full with all that, could even have been able to reduce a small dish and still be satisfied.
I think I enjoy Kappo dining more than their other menu, as you can pick and choose what you like to eat. The cost was the same if not slightly less than if you were to go with their other menu. Can't wait to return for more Kappo dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I liked the meal & service here. Good modern Japanese style Tapas at a reasonable price I thought. Would like to return soon to see if it still producing good quality food & service.

Helpful?
Thank Bigfello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's changed - and not in a good way!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We used to come here every 2-3 months and always brought guests here. Unfortunately the recent changes are focused more on their business than the customer. Whilst I can understand the temptation to leverage their recent success the poor customer now has to chose between two 'sitting' times - one too early and one too late. You also have to decide when you book which menu you and your guests would like to dine from as this dictates where you sit!! The prices have gone up and you are now unlikely to get out of either section much under $100pp.

It was always a great place with lovely staff, average service and fantastic food for a good price but under the new "regime" we won't be going back - going out to dinner with friends just shouldn't be that hard!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What has happened?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Waqu was one of my favourite restaurants. It has had a makeover and the once spacious restaurant is now awkwardly divided into two.
We opted for the 'fine dining' area which was at the back.
The six course menu is disappointing. Instead of each course being explained it was merely dumped in front of us. The lamb cutlet was fatty and not trimmed so very little meat as a main choice. The price or corkage is now ridiculous considering the lack of service. The dessert was sad - a melted potato ice cream that was tasteless accompanied a very forgettable pear something or other. The best part of the meal was the tiny savoury macaroon floating in the pumpkin soup.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The restaurant is located in Crows Nest. We alway go there for special occasions and every time we are very happy with the food and the service. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serena3582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WAQU also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing