We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pizza and desserts, mains not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bravo Trattoria

Bravo Trattoria
Ranked #40 of 187 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice pizza and desserts, mains not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ate at Bravo Trattoria last night for my daughter's birthday, table of 4. Two had pizzas which were very nice and the desserts were very nice, but the mains were less than average. Barramundi small, thin and tasteless and charged at fine dining prices - $33.00. An iced chocolate for $8.50 was extraordinary. The service was mixed - our own waitress good but to the point of being over attentive, but twice the food was served direct from the kitchen and was literally just placed on the edge of the table, not served to whoever had ordered it, which we then sorted ourselves. It really felt grossly over-priced for what it was - $150 for 2 mains, 1 pizza, 1 kids pizza, 2 drinks, small fries and 2 desserts.
I would not recommend going here other than for pizza, desserts and gelato.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    16
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The first time we went to Bravo the noise was so deafening we left as soon as we had finished our mains, bought a gelato and ate it out in the plaza. We were persuaded to go a second time by friends who LOVE going because the owner because makes a huge fuss of them. While the noise was tolerable this time, we endured the single worst Italian meal we have had in our lives, ever. The bread is sub-standard (first test of a restaurant is the bread, yes?) and the mains were so dire that we left more than half. The vanilla gelato was Ok but the white nectarine was tasteless. How this restaurant survives when there are so many good restaurants and gelaterias in the area beats me A bill of $150 for four and I would enjoyed a Big Mac more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Good coffee place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Met up with friends for coffee. Great service. Good selection of cakes and food but limited quantities so they may not have everything that is listed on the menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArunSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Appalled.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

As a crows nest local I thought finding a good Italian restaurant given the amount of eateries here would be no problem. Tried this one out and was disgusted. Over priced, meal looked like it was out of a tin and the lady that took my order was an absolute mole. I saw a sign on the door a year ago and thought it was notifying locals they were closing down but no, only moving location. Once settled I thought (stupidly) I would give them another shot and again they confirmed my original thoughts. Same women, still being a mole and same tinned sauce and home brand pasta. Made me so very angry. Now I go out of my way to tell people to avoid this one at all costs. Would be more satisfied by feeding $25 to a cat than spending it here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Italian; Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The food was great - especially the gorgonzola & black truffle sauce steak. Melt in the mouth tender. The service was fantastic.

The only drawback was, like so many restaurants, the noise cause by the hard floor surface - it was very difficult to have a conversation.

Will definitely be back on my next holiday

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank timbertoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravo Trattoria also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Bravo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing