We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Double Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value, nice room”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

having booked this Hotel because of its location to our family rather than its features we were pleasantly surprised at how good it was compared to other hotels that charge double what we paid. The room was a large, tastefully furnished and of a high standard. Good air con. Great area, short stroll to the water and ferries.Surrounded by good restaurants and public transport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    80
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
39
63
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from our second visit to this hotel, standards have certainly dropped since our previous visit. Fortunately we were allocated a room which had been refurbished, not all had. Some public areas i . e. breakfast dining area were very basic to say the least, but have got to say staff very pleasant and helpfull and location is brilliant. Great selection of eataries close at hand and good transport links into the city

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

With some apprehension, based on reviews and the relatively low price ($125) I stayed at the Savoy for one night. The hotel ticked all the boxes. It was clean, quiet and a great location. The bathroom was surprisingly large as well.

To other reviewers a price this low will not get you a 5 Star hotel, so you adjust expectations. Given Double Bay is one of the more expensive parts of Sydney, the hotel was great value. I would definitely stay again and recommend this place to others

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFurryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Two roaches in the room.
Reception service very rude.
No parking.
Stains on carpet.
Very noisy aircon unit outside.
Room smells.
Room is dirty.
Very dusty.
Smokers in entrance way you have to walk in past.
No care put into this motel.
Would never stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverathomekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Double Bay hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is in a good location, although a tad rundown and worn - at least in the older section of the hotel where we stayed, which felt more like an older motel. Staff were nice and the complimentary apples were a lovely touch. Expensive for what you get, although I understand the Sydney market is pricey. Set in the middle of good shops and places to eat, 5 mins to the beach.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiegosaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

From the reviews I was aware that the hotel was perhaps a little tired, but overall it wasn't that bad. Sure, it could do with being glammed up but it's in a good location and close to direct bus and train routes into Sydney and out to Bondi, as well as other locations.

We were originally allocated a 2 room family suite - I didn't like this at all, as it was straight off a central courtyard and no windows to the outside world. In fact, if you wanted the other guests to stare straight in from the small courtyard, then by all means, open the thick wooden shutters! Otherwise, you would have to keep them closed and not see daylight....

The reception staff were very helpful in changing our room, which unfortunately was a bit on the small side for four travellers. There was little storage in the bedroom and even less in the bathroom.

The room service was a bit sloppy and haphazard. We had random numbers of towels left out, some days 2, 3 or 4, sometimes had hand towels - sometimes didn't, sometimes floor towel - sometimes not.

Given the shortage of space I can't imagine that it was easy to clean once our 4 cases were out, but it was clear that the vacuuming was not done every day.

There was a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom.

The hotel offered wifi, but the one time I needed to use it, the member of staff on night duty did not know the code.... Mind you, if you are out and about in Double Bay, or if you sit out on the balcony at the end of the Courtyard area on level 1, you can pick up the free village wifi, as long as its between about 6am and midnight.

Taking everything into consideration though, it's not a bad place. Tired - yes, but friendly and helpful staff much appreciated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was quite hesitant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews but reluctantly booked in as it was the most convenient place to stay for my Sydney trip. It's not 5 star so travellers shouldn't expect 5 star. It markets itself as a 3.5 star hotel and that is exactly what it is. So the carpet was a bit frayed and the rooms were small but for $145 I didn't expect too much. The room was clean, the linen was clean and fresh, the reception staff were nice and it is in a great position in Double Bay, lots of shops and places to eat in walking distance.

This is a great hotel for a quick jaunt to Sydney and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Double Bay
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
1,826 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#101 of 179 in Sydney
40 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,194 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#106 of 179 in Sydney
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Double Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Double Bay Hotel

Property: The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
Address: 41 - 45 Knox St, Double Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2028, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Double Bay > Double Bay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Double Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Double Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Savoy Double Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Double Bay Hotel
Savoy Double Bay Sydney
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing