We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant before retail therapy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cove At Drummoyne - CLOSED

The Cove At Drummoyne
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant before retail therapy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Contrary to other contributions the waiter who served us was cheerful,helpful and very friendly.He can't be the culprit.Food was good, kind of normal fare.Although it is by the waters but where we sat it was blocked by the canopies of the swimming pool in front.Nevertheless still good place to hang out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kwoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice coffee, crap scones, unfriendly. Would not return.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stopped here recently for coffee while out walking the bay run. We were served by the awful waiter that others have mentioned. We had coffee that was lovely, but was ruined by their awful scones. Im assuming the scones were stale, as they had been overheated in the microwave. The scones were served with whipped cream out of a can. Very poor quality food!

We felt very unwelcome and would not return. Im glad we only had morning tea here, and not lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kikilulu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Went here for lunch while out on a walk around Iron Cove on a gorgeous day. Have been here a few times since it opened and have mixed thoughts. Food quality is good and is served promptly, coffee is excellent and the outlook simply stunning looking out over the water. One of the wait staff always looks as though he's having a bad day (as others have mentioned) but if you can look past that, the place is great for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, average food ,unfriendly.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I went for lunch with my two girlfriends and two dogs yesterday.
They had provided a nice shady place to tie up the dogs but the water dishes were empty. When I asked where I could fill them up I was directed to a garden where the tap was disconnected. This same unfriendly maitre'd told me to then fill it up in the bathroom which I did!!
We ordered a steak sandwich and salad to share and the waitress was very friendly. The salad and fresh juices were lovely, the steak very tough and full of gristle. When it came time to leave we asked for the bill and the unfriendly maitre'd told us to come to the till where we stood beside him watching home sift through the dockets until he found ours. He did not utter a word of acknowledgement whilst we stood there until he said three words.....Fifty Two Dollars....no please, no Thankyou no did you have a nice time. Needless to say he did not get a tip. A shame as it sours your opinion of an otherwise nice place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maberly, Ontario
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overall Superb Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law booked a table for six of us for dinner. Although this restaurant is within walking distance of their home in Drummoyne, we've never been. Well, we will be back...soon! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we enjoyed everything, The food, the ambiance and the service. As there were six of us we ordered one of each entree each and our waitress (from New Zealand) kindly brought us small plates so that we could sample each others entree. The Mains were all exceptional. The bream, the lamb and the chicken...outstandingly presented and generous portions. The sauces are heavenly. We are not dessert folks, but we ordered 'one for the table' .. a decadent banana and caramel concoction that just finished the meal perfectly. We need to mention that one of their staff is a wannabe performer, who bursts into song as the spirit moves him...wonderful voice and personable approach. Sure makes for an overall superb experience. We highly recommend The Cove.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cove At Drummoyne also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing