We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful sunset/sunrise & wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset/sunrise & wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was lucky enough to stay in City view room. Great room with gorgeous view of the city at sunset & sunrise. Cheap @ twice the price;-). Rob & Jen are warm, welcoming & so helpful and the lodge is only 5 mins walk from buses & cafes. I'll be staying there whenever I'm in Sydney.

Room Tip: If can can afford to splash out go the City View Room. No ensuite but beautiful shared bathroom just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    57
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
117
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yarramalong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Fabulous, beautiful place to stay. Very obliging and caring owners Rob and Jen. Spotless accommodation, comfy beds, quiet and for those who admire historic buildings, this is the place to stay. Loved it, thanks. Liz (and family)

Room Tip: All are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
One of the best things about return guests at The Admiralty is that they become friends, rather than merely guests. We have been delighted to have Liz, here, initially on business and, later to be introduced to her whole family here on a subsequent pleasure trip.

We try our hardest, but it is not to everyone's taste - we seek to keep a homely atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My first time writing a review on Trip Advisor, but I'm only doing so because of how bloody marvellous this place was! We stayed for just over a week, and found (after all the chat of Sydney being overpriced etc) it the best accommodation so far in our little NZ/Aus trip.

Jenn and his man (Admiral something?) were great, the rooms clean and very new, and it was great having a view of Sydney, a ferry to get there, but not having to be in the madness (like my last trip here 10 years ago, in a Bondi backpackers)!

Strongly recommend it! Shared bathrooms, but seriously charming. It was pretty quiet when I was there, but feel certain it wont last.

E.

Room Tip: We had one of the harbour view rooms. Worth it I reckon, if you're staying for a while
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
One of the things Eamon seemed to enjoy about the Lodge is our proximity to the famous "PJs" - PJ Gallagher's Irish Pub, just two blocks from us on the corner of Victoria Road and Lyons Road.

Many of the staff are Irish, too, with accents to match. The Oysters Kilpatrick and Guinness Steak Pie (among the many other things) they serve in their excellent restaurant are truly excellent and they also have a small but well chosen wine list (as well as Guinness).

People boast about the 'cosmopolitan' nature of Kings Cross, but the little village of Drummoyne, only 15 minutes from the central business district, by bus or ferry, offers an extraordinary array of cuisines.

We have Italian, of course, as we neighbor the strong Italian communities of Leichhardt and Haberfield, with food ranging from our favorite, the fine dining cuisine of ECCO, with its superb harbor views, to Paulo's PIzza (a local institution). They even talk of Lyons Road as "Via Leone" - with an epoymous restaurant of that name, next to L'Angolo fine Italian take-away cuisine.

There are a wide variety of Thai restaurants, Vietnamese, Lebanese, a wonderful German Strudel cafe, a French bistro, Portuguese peri-peri chicken and Japanese sushi, soba and sashimi. We boast Sydney's best Moroccan restaurant, La Kasbah, with succulent lamb, beef or chicken tagines. If in a hurry we have various fast foods like McDonalds & Subway. One can enjoy Australian dining at the Drummoyne Sailing Club with great north eastern views of the harbor and The Seven Deadly Sins looking over Iron Cove to the magnificent nineteenth century Italianate building of Callen Park.

We even have a Texas Barbeque and spare ribs joint.

Unfortunately (or possibly fortunately) Eamon was not here for St Patrick's Day. That is
when PJs serve Guinness at half price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Admiral Collingwood Lodge for 3 nights and I must say that it had added so much flavour to our Sydney experience. Located at one of the streets in Drummoyne, it allowed us a sneak peek into the lives of the locals in a quiet neighbourhood. This would not have been possible if we had stayed in a city hotel. The lodge is also only a short walk from both the wharf and the bus stop, where access to the city area comes conveniently. Not only that, Drummoyne wharf is a place with a lovely view of the Parramatta River. We spent one morning catching the sunrise from there. It was beautiful. Breakfast places are also available within short walking distances and I must recommend Copo Cafe & Diner, which is one of the places listed on the directory provided by the Lodge.

The room we were offered is all comfortable and cozy, with an attached sink which we found rather useful. It is also equipped with all the things you need (TV, heater, kettle etc) and free wi-fi is available 24/7. Although the bathrooms are shared, they were always available - clean, nice and friendly. I also liked the design of the lodge, especially the kitchen.

Last but definitely not the least, I must thank Rob and Jennifer (the Managers of the lodge) for their wonderful hospitality during our short stay there. They were really friendly, warm and helpful and it felt like we were at a homestay. Just check with them if you need any advice for your itinerary or if you need any extra information :)

I would definitely stay at Admiral Collingwood Lodge if I do visit Sydney again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Found this hidden gem by chance. The facilities are very stylish, and the hospitality is second to none. Will definately return many times.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Wynne and her friends arrived utterly bedraggled as a Sydney rainstorm did its best to drown them. However nothing could drown their enthusiasm. We wanted them to stay for ever as they lit up the Lodge and our lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming lodge for three nights recently and highly recommend it. It is a beautiful building in a quiet street, with very affable hosts. Our room was clean, comfy, well fitted out- (even had bathrobes!), and the bathrooms are easily accessible with modern facilities. A short walk to the supermarket and bakeries, we cooked for ourselves in the fully-equipped lodge kitchen a couple of times.So close to the city and ferries/rivercats this gem will not be hidden for long. We will most definitely be return customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averagebloke014, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We love our country visitors. So straight-forward and easy to deal with - and they say such nice things. They also kindly fail to mention the wretched onion weed in our garden, against which we are committed to a desperate war of attrition to the death and not (yet) winning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed for two weeks in the Admiral Collingwood Lodge and had a very good time.
Everything is recently renovated and new. The bathrooms are modern and clean. Small lovely details everywhere made us feel like home. To explore the city it is just a few minutes walk to the ferry and a big shoppingcenter is in walking distance too.
We definitly would stay there again!
Bas & Anne from Germany

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummoyne
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,895 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 178 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Collingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Property: Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Address: 5 Collingwood St, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia (Formerly Harbour Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Drummoyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Drummoyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Collingwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Admiral Collingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing