We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely house and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
gatwick
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely house and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This guesthouse is in a lovely, high-ceilinged victorian house. It's very clean and airy and bright. The 'commute' to it, via ferry on Sydney harbour, is an absolute delight.
Hosts are very charming, and showed us round, giving us coffee even though we were very early checking in (flight gets in at 7AM- We went straight there!) Breakfasts are serve-yourself, bread (toast) juice, jam, fruit, cereals. There are fridges in the room to store food, and you can use the kitchen if you want to cook.
Only downside it that is under the flightpath somewhat; the planes stop at night,thankfully, but start at 630-ish. This may bother some people; I liked watching the planes go overhead.
Shared bathrooms - ours was over the hall, and we never had to wait. 2 bathrooms on our floor, plus one extra lavatory. All super-clean, lots of bath mats/soaps etc. Large, spacious showers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
The very positive review of the "Admiral Collingwood" by CaptainMummy from Gatwick is pretty accurate and we thank her for it.

One advantage of Sydney Airport being so close (unlike Tokyo, JFK, Stockholm or London) is that it does not take long to reach us. As many flights come in early in the morning, we are only too happy to store luggage, if possible to arrange for guests to freshen up after a long overseas flight, and, if their room is available to let them in early. The disadvantage of the airport being close is that, if the wind is in the wrong direction, we have to take our share of the flights overhead. Mostly it is not a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    62
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
124
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Lodge. The room was comfortable and clean (private bath suite). The Lodge is located in a residential area, the street was quiet and the neighbourhood friendly. The staff were helpful and assisted us with information about transit and activities. The ferry trip into the city core was a highlight coming and going each day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TFMBraggCreekAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We are glad out guests from Alberta enjoyed the "Admiral Collingwood" and their stay with us and thank them for their review.

Like them, we love the ferry trip to the centre of the City. However sadly the Ferry Owners have decided for no good reason to upgrade our wharf. Hence FERRY ACCESS CLOSES from the end of April for some months. The bus trip to the City centre is equally as quick and cheap and itself quite scenic, but sadly not as glorious as the ferry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building itself is great and very comfortable. The complementary breakfast was great!!!! I would certainly recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Nick R thank you for your succinct and kind review of the "Admiral Collingwood". We have many visitors stay with us from Canberra - we are really 'just up the Hume' a few hours and our hotel does make a great and inexpensive base from which to explore Sydney.

We think the best route to us is (as always) the one you know. The easiest is to go all the way on the M5, the Eastern Distributor, The Cross City Tunnel and Anzac Bridge (and pay the tolls). However we like to get off on the A6 Fairford Road then go up Punchbowl Road, as it cuts off a lot of country.

We'd love to hear from you or other Canberrans which way they think is best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Admiral Collingwood is very conveniently located- near express buses on Victoria Road and the Drummoyne ferry. The staff are friendly and helpful; the rooms are airy with high ceilings and cleaned regularly. The Victorian building and and rear garden are very attractive. The lodge is good for the single traveller.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaneP543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We chose the "Admiral Collingwood" to be our hotel some years ago for exactly the reasons you, JaneP453, outlined in your most kind review, for which we thank you.

Actually it was worse than that.

If you read the Admiral's blog, you'll discover the story of how we fell in badly love with the place, its high ceilings, original huge skirting boards and 1880s charm still intact. It has been a very expensive love affaire, but the house and garden does reciprocate our love, so we hope you will come back to enjoy it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Many thanks to everybody for making our stay quiet and easy.

After going here and there in Sydney city and more, then coming back somehow tired, what a pleasure to know that we will rest in a nice place and feel a bit like home there !
Special thanks to Stuart and his remarquable french knowledge which was quite helpful.

Suggestion for the ones who enjoy for breakfast an "oeuf à la coque" (boiled egg in an egg-cup): may be two or three such egg-cups available in the kitchen would be even nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Didier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Many thanks for your most positive review of the "Admiral Collingwood". Stuart loves the opportunity to practise his French, as he is now in his third year of studying it at Sydney University, so it was kind of you to put him to work. Next time you should discuss Immanuel Kant with him - in French!

We do have some egg cups in the kitchen, but sometimes our guests put them in odd places and a dedicated search needs to be made to locate them. Last time I visited someone. had not put the lid back on the rice cooker and a guest from China was deeply dismayed. On my hands and knees I dug around the saucepans and there it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Kate and staff is always ready to help you : printing of tickets, reservation of tours,....
Location: Ferry brings you in less than half an hour in the city center and offers fantastic views on the city !
Kitchen well equipped to cook your own dinner
Terrace and garden are lovely Breakfast included
A lot of nice extras surprised us (garden + BBQ, breakfast, extra friendly staff, nearby ferry ) and make this a highly recommendable place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanHasselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are so pleased that Kate and our staff were helpful to you JohanHasselt and thank you for your positive and enthusiastic review. We will certainly tell her of your commendation. We do enjoy the extraordinary variety of guests we have to stay at the "Admiral Collingwood" and it a real pleasure to try to see that our guests have a happy experience of sydney and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Admiral Collingwood. The staff - especially Kate - were really friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make us (including our 2 year old) feel comfortable. The building is beautiful and the gardens superb. It's also in a great spot - close to the city but quiet and relaxed. But it's probably the little touches that were the most impressive: the fresh flowers everywhere (even in the bathrooms), the delicious breads for breakfast and the art on the walls.

Room Tip: The rooms near the main hall can be a little louder than those down the back, but are still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Bronster22 and our treasure Ms Kate and especially that you enjoyed our art on the walls. We do have a few originals which we like and give us pleasure.

You mentioned your two year old and it is important to point out that our web-site says the "Admiral Collingwood" is not really suitable for children under 10. We love children, but they are not schooled for hotel living and cannot be blamed for noisy boisterous enthusiasm. However we do have some rooms in our 1840's built Stables rooms in the garden, where, by arrangement, children and parents can stay happily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummoyne
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,462 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Collingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Property: Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Address: 5 Collingwood St, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia (Formerly Harbour Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Drummoyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Drummoyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Collingwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Collingwood is an old country-style Heritage-Listed 1888 millionaire’s mansion. It is run as a family-style hotel. We are most highly rated for comfort, cleanliness and location, by all the major web-sites reviewing hotels and lodges in Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Collingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing