We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, terrible coffee and bad service”
Review of Cafe Birkenhead

Cafe Birkenhead
Ranked #39 of 61 Restaurants in Drummoyne
Price range: US$12 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: With a waterfront back drop, Cafe Birkenhead is a bustling cafe open from early in the morning until late afternoon. Why not skip breakfast at home and start your day here with freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs cooked to your liking, some of our homemade toasted sour dough bread and a freshly brewed coffee, or pop in during the day for a selection of delicious sandwiches, salads or pastas. Our friendly wait staff will provide 5 star service while you get to relax and take in the views. Cafe Birkenhead offers everything you are looking for to enjoy the perfect dinning experience; water views towards North Sydney, fully licensed with a wide variety of cocktails, beer, wine and spirits. We are child friendly and we cater for all types of dietary requirements with secure parking, free for the first 3 hours you can’t go wrong.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Long wait, terrible coffee and bad service”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I wouldn't recommend this cafe to anyone. We ordered coffee and cakes - the coffee took 30 mins to arrive and only half of us received our coffee which was lukewarm and horrible and the cakes didn't arrive. There was no apologies for the long wait and when asked to speak to the manager, the waiter said he had no time to talk to us so we paid for the coffee that did arrive and left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holden697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    30
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenhaven, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lunch on a shopping trip”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Wagyu Burger was good, but not to die for. The fish/crab cakes were good and accompanied by a very good salad. A larger portion would have been better. Washed down with a wine and a beer...... very pleasant. The wait staff were attentive and couldn't be faulted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cafe birkenhead disappoints”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wasn't great. Food average, crab linguine was mostly crabless, very dry and I had to send the spagetti back as not cooked

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Cafe Birkenhead”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As frequent visitors to Cafe Birkenhead we tried out their new premises for breakfast. Still has a good view, pleasant surroundings and attentive staff. Our meals were all of a good standard and service was good. The place gets busy later so an early brekky is recommended. Menu provides something for all tastes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

As a group of seven we where happy with the food and service.
The coffee was mild (strong but not bitter), the muffin and sour dough toast was delightful. Bacon and eggs served in the pan was a little strange though (very tasty). The fruit and yogurt was huge and very fresh. Overall on the high end of price but acceptable and we will be back. If booking as for a window it faces east and offers a good view of the marina.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Birkenhead also viewed

 
Drummoyne, Sydney
Drummoyne, Sydney
 

Been to Cafe Birkenhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing