We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great host”
Review of Darcys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Darcys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Homebush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Last stayed (and reviewed) in June 2013. Happy to report that the high standards of accommodation and service have been maintained. Even to the extent of fixing the one small issue from last year, attaching the fridge base to the cabinet so it wouldn't slide when opening. Our room was clean, tidy and very comfortable.

The breakfast arrangements continue to be excellent and very practical for preparing take-with lunches when attending events at Olympic Park or ANZ stadium, thereby saving quite a bit of money and eating healthy.

When staying at Darcy's you are treated like a valued member of the family, not just a paying resident.

I read with disbelief the most recent review (Don S "Massively disappointed"), as my experience with Darcy's (and almost all other reviewers here) has been only very positive.

From what I can tell Don never actually stayed at Darcy's or even visited the premises, he effectively reviewed only Darcy's phone booking process, and it's his one and only review in Trip Advisor so may be unaware of how this site works.

We made use of Darcy's online booking web page, and confirmed by phone. The booking was expertly handled, there were absolutely no problems and we even got at our request the same ground-floor room as last year near the dining area.

All I can recommend is that you book early as Darcy's is getting more popular with event-goers at Olympic Park, and do make use of Darcy's online booking web-page, email communication and/or SMS to confirm that your booking is successful. But let's face it this is just common sense for any accommodation arrangements, especially if you're travelling on business.

An important note about getting to Darcy's by train if you are at all mobility-impaired or lugging lots of heavy suitcases. The hardest part will be getting out of Homebush railway station if you disembark the train at one of the island platforms. The only way out is up lots of steps, across a footbridge, down lots more steps. No ramps, no lift. Better option is disembarking at nearby Strathfield railway station which is mobility-friendly, then a short taxi trip.

One of the great things about Darcy's location is you are within 10 minutes walk of
1) the quite nice Rochester St shopping strip, with IGA supermarket and an excellent takeaway fish & chips place at No. 3, or
2) walk 10 minutes (or take the train) towards the city to get to the big Strathfield shopping centre which has pretty well anything you want.

I for one hope that Kevin continues to be the host and that Darcy's continues to stick with it's winning formula.

I have rated all criteria in this review as 5/5 because I honestly cannot think of anything at Darcy's that could be improved or changed without affecting its unique ambience and charm.

As always, if you have found this review helpful please click the Yes button as it encourages me to continue putting effort into thorough reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jstosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the first phone contact with Kevin it was clear we were onto something when we found this gem of a B&B online. Kevin couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming when we arrived for our stay, showing us our lovely ensuite room and explaining features before giving us a tour of the dining room where we were to enjoy a generous continental breakfast in the morning as well as inviting us to use the kitchen. This B&B has been faithfully restored by Kevin over the past 15 years and the early Australian native animal prints adorning the walls in the halls just give it just that much more wow. The decor is akin to what we've experienced at the Stamford Plaza Circular Quay. The beds are firm and comfortable with generous plumped pillows. The ensuite clean, spacious, functional and contemporary. The period decor doesn't mean you don't have all mod cons as there was also a concealed fridge, large LCD TV and hair drier as well as plenty of storage for your things. Electronic keyed doors which were wide to accommodate wheeling beds in and out in the buildings nursing home days but just made the place seem even more stately. Wi-Fi is available though not free. There is no traffic noise.
It was hard leaving Darcys so we lingered in the gorgeous gardens before heading back to Canberra and planning our next trip there. So glad I read other reviews and chose Darcys and will recommend this special experience to colleagues, family and friends.

Room Tip: Book an ensuite room if you'd prefer not to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanbAnnieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had two stays here over the Royal Easter Show period.
Stay 1 was on the 1st floor in a large 3 bed room. We spent five nights here and it was just fabulous. It was ample, roomy and comfortable for three large men and was possibly the best B & B that we have ever stayed in.
Continental breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of it to go around.

Stay2 was just two of us and we only stayed for one evening, in a different room. Again you just can't complain.
Clean, tidy, historic and Kevin is a great host.
It is so good that we have booked for 2015's Sydney Royal Show.

Room Tip: Don't procrastinate, just book here. it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schanuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Darcy's Hotel and find it very clean, comfortable, spacious and airy. We missed out on a room with an en-suite and whilst I don't mind sharing, it's very difficult to quietly close your door in the middle of the night to go to the loo. They make quite a loud clunk, so if you can, book a room with a bathroom. Otherwise, I love this place, it's great value for money especially with the light breakfast included.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 255333Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My stay started with Kevin opening the front door at 11.30pm with a smile and warm welcome despite the late time of my arrival.
The room was lovely. So spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was HUGE!
The continental breakfast was convenient and yummy!
I really enjoyed my two night stay outside of the city in those shoebox size noisy rooms that I have stayed at previously.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to stay at Darcy's again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rebekah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Darcy's was fairly odd in that it was previously (may still be) an aged care home, has potential to be lovely but really needs a bit of a renovation. The balcony upstairs was supported by a strangely placed piece of timber.
The mention of a guest kitchen in their description is a bit of an exaggeration, it's a fridge in the bedroom and a microwave downstairs.
The rooms weren't very clean either, we drew the curtains and the windows we're pretty terrible and the Sills were covered in dust and hair. Saying that you're not paying to stay in a 3,4 or 5 star hotel, it's a place to put your head down at night for not much money.
Had the potential to be lovely but needs attention, I would probably opt to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank AliMcGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Beautiful finishing touches, and excellent service. Such good value for money, and with the added bonus of a light breakfast in the morning. It was no problem that we had to accept a room without a bathroom, because all the ensuites were booked out, as the share bathroom was conveniently close. We had a lovely night, and will be back to this charming hotel/bed and breakfast that has so much character. Daniel and Eileen

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EileenCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homebush
0.5 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,577 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
889 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strathfield Hotel
Strathfield Hotel
#3 of 3 in Strathfield
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darcys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darcys Hotel

Address: 2 Abbotsford Rd, Homebush, Strathfield, New South Wales 2140, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Strathfield > Homebush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Homebush
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Darcys Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darcys is centrally located in a beautiful heritage tree-lined street, 14 km by road or 15 mins by train from Sydney CBD. We are a short stroll to either Homebush or Strathfield town centres. Strathfield is a major transport hub for both trains and buses where connections can be made for both suburban and country link destinations. Darcys is close to local restaurants, cafes and shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Darcys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing