We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Addison's on Anzac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addison's on Anzac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kensington
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

No major problems here we booked kinda last minute and wanted sometime reasonable as we were coming to the end of our holiday. we booked in oct wasn't hot so don't know what the air conditioning is like that you would need in the summer months. The car parking is free which is a plus for Sydney but you have to go up the ramp with your bags to get to the entrance of the hotel the same ramp cars are coming down to get into the car park. Its kinda steep and seems like it could be a safety issue especially with kids. They were polite in reception. The room was clean. Its a place 4 people on a budget bus out side runs to the city regularly. It would be ok if you were sightseeing leaving in the morning and coming back to sleep just because while there was nothing majorly wrong with it, it wasn't great either fairly run down and not the kinda place you or with the facilites that would want to make y

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerbreadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    16
    17
    62
See reviews for
27
22
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Hotel was booked for a quick overnight stay. Good value for money if you want something your only going to sleep in, not exactly the place I would choose to stay if I was entertaining guests, or spending the night in watching tv. Although cheap price range does make it extremely affordable considering the central location. perfect for an over night stay if your venturing into the city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALK_289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Not good value. Mattress had lumps; shower water lurched uncontrollably from very hot to cold; no shampoo in shower; no cover or padding on ironing board; worn carpets; and chipped tile.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kensington hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed in the Addison for a week in January and although I was put off by the reviews (which I read after booking!) I found the hotel to be clean and very reasonably priced for the money. OK I had to re-tune the telly and it's not in the tourist areas, but it's only a 15 minute bus ride from the centre of Sydney and definitely OK for the money I paid. There seems to be a shortage of hotels between the seedy backpackers places and the really expensive hotels so the Addison is an OK medium.

Mike

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Aust
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The whole thing about the Addison is location. It is within walking distance of Moore Park and the University of New South Wales, and has buses to the city passing right by the door .It is a non-smoking property and that policy appears to be strictly enforced. Another plus is the (small) car park at the rear of the hotel. The rest of it is basic in the extreme. Our room was clean but really needed a total refit. Breakfast was available but for what was offered, was very expensive. No need to bother with the hotel breakfast as there are lots of restaurants and cafes over the road. Given what we paid (AUD99 for a double via Agoda), it was good value, but do not expect the rooms to be more than basic motel standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROHCanberraAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is must stay hotel. This will give you a low water mark with which to compare other places. Points for comparison: Filthy worn carpets, pubic hairs and used dental floss in bathroom, tiles broken off and not replaced, tired fittings,strong guest noise till the early hours, and the most outstanding point would be the stench. Not just odour but very smelly particularly in the hall ways. We had three rooms basically all the same so this was not just a one off bad room. The query has to be how this gets a three star rating....I know...it was the three little pigs...but then they must have moved out too.

Room Tip: Anywhere else in Sydney
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kensington
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addison's on Anzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addison's on Anzac

Property: Addison's on Anzac
Address: 147 Anzac Pde, Kensington, Randwick, New South Wales 2033, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kensington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Addison's on Anzac 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Addison's on Anzac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addison`s On Anzac Hotel Kensington
Addisons On Anzac Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing