We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oldie but a goodie - management doing a good job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn North Shore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lane Cove
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I are giving this place high marks. Not because it's the Waldorf Astoria but because it's honest comfortable accommodation at prices that are quite reasonable for the inner north shore of Sydney. So often, when you opt for inexpensive places to stay, you get 'cheap and nasty'. Not in this case.
After consulting Tripadvisor and deeming the CINS suitable for our needs, I got confused by prices quoted on the booking web sites that seemed to be offering different price ranges for the same types of room, so I contacted the hotel direct. They offered a choice of standard double at about $129 or deluxe double at $149 – we chose the deluxe because it was on the ground floor with parking outside the unit door, and we're handicapped as far as stairs and walking are concerned. We stayed four nights so we got a discount.
At first sight the building gives cause for apprehension since it's decidedly 1960s style. You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, but the room showed plenty of evidence of a real effort to keep it up to date and was certainly spotless. Decor is pleasant and furnishings comfortable and relatively new. Fresh carpet, a desk, a table, and two good armchairs with all the usual TV, mini-bar, tea-making facilities etc. that you'd expect. Very effective light block-out curtains and absolute quiet made for a good night's sleep on a near-new thick mattress. The bathroom had been competently renovated fairly recently, and both bedroom and bathroom were quite roomy. Even the somewhat unexpected view of the bushland setting was pleasing.
We're told that the less expensive rooms on a lower level are slightly smaller, get less light, and have been painted but not renovated to the same standard.
In our view the photos on the Tripadvisor web site are accurate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

A bit difficult to get to when coming from the north, but then a good location. Reception friendly and very helpful, rooms comfortable and very clean ( and surprisingly remarkably quiet given that so close to the highway) pillows very soft, restaurant has good food and the waiter Ori was absolutely fantastic and was the highlight of our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tewinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at the Confort Inn North Shore for 3 nights on business a couple of weeks ago, so was looking for somewhere comfortable, clean where I could put my head down at night and this hotel provided all those. I guess the only negative (and not the hotels fault in the slightest) is the lack of nearby eateries or bars....there is the onsite restaurant of course, but I like to find a pub and a TV for a couple of beers to wind down after a long day.
All in all a good stay, and I'll most likely be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watt5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights, it is a good 3 1/2 star motel. Clean rooms, friendly staff, a nice restaurant with a good menu , there was a happy hour from 6 to 7 pm with half priced drinks. Nice and quiet with very little traffic noise. I would stay here again if I needed a motel in this area of Sydney

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debnbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I regularly stay here and find the facilities quite adequate. Bathrooms are good, beds comfy, and the staff go out of their way to help. Surprisingly quiet given location 50 metres from main road. I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and you park at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

This place can be a little tricky to get to depending on which way you come, but if all you need is a nice clean room to rest your head then this is a good spot

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Followthework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for business as I needed to be somewhere handy on the North Shore. The accommodation is basic, but very clean and comfortable. The service was both efficient and friendly, and nothing was a problem. I had advised them that I would be arriving very late and even though reception was closed, the night porter had organised for the key to be available, so there were no problems. Breakfast was good value, with a range of options. Overall it was excellent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverboatmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lane Cove
0.9 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
2.3 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#3 of 6 in North Ryde
1,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North Shore

Address: 1 Gatacre Ave, Lane Cove, New South Wales 2066, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Lane Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lane Cove
Price Range: £65 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Lane Cove
Lane Cove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Lane Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing