We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location for a North Sydney visit.... but only for a day or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn North Shore
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lane Cove
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location for a North Sydney visit.... but only for a day or two”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was ok but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Shower was very small and the shower curtain kept blowing in on you. Liquid soap ran out and was not replenished. Very noisy water pipes kept waking me during the night. On the positive you must visit the on site restaurant and spend time with "Horatio". I would return to this hotel just to experience that again. Horatio, you made that stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    40
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
28
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2500
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here recently and whilst the hotel isn't flash or new it did the job as expected. Clean, quiet, no frills.

It is an older hotel, there is wall dispensers for liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner both in the shower and next to the sink in the bathroom. There is a mini bar in the rooms or a Coles express servo (closes 10pm) nearby if you need any snacks or drinks. Plenty of food shops and restaurants a couple of streets away in Lane Cove Village (15min walk approx)

Stayed at the back of the hotel (entry via the 2nd driveway) found it quiet and peacefull. Room had queen and single bed inside, plus a small round dining table with two chairs, plus a comfortable arm chair. LCD screen with all the fox sports channels included. Whilst it was a small room it did the job for me, and would do the job for a couple using the place as an over night stop over. Not really ideal if you intend to spend a lot of time in the unit due to the size.

Bed was very firm, and was worried about that as I generally like a softer bed. But had a great sleep regardless.

Check in was smooth. Greeted by a friendly fellow who was professional and courteous at the same time.

I used my NRMA members card when booking online (direct on their website) for a discount.

Overall I would stay again at a good rate (anything under $120), but once it gets more than this amount, then there might be better valued hotels around, only cause this hotel is an older style with limited facilities and smaller rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Checked in yesterday and entered the room to get a whiff of strong air freshner. Within 10 mins the effect died down and we started getting a strong smoke smell from the carpet. Lied down for a rest and pillows, quilt mattress reeked of smoke. Called the office manager who said he'll put an ozone machine that'll clean the air and replace the linen. But what about the mattress? Having a 1.5 yr old breath that muggy smoky smell was just something we weren't going to happen. Booked another hotel and checked out 2 hrs after checking in. No refund but don't care. At least my family will breath fresh air! Never again. But feel free to check in if you want passive smoke.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lane Cove hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I recommend this hotel if you don't need to be right in the middle of town, if you have a car or if you're on a budget. I had a very pleasant stay here.

This modest hotel is located a 10 minute drive from the centre of Sydney and is around the corner from the well-serviced shopping area of Lane Cove village which has a great pub (The Longueville) as well as a plethora of excellent restaurants and cafes. There's several gyms, a public swimming pool and enough shops to ensure you'll find anything you need.

The hotel is quite tired, but the room was immaculately clean and tidy and I certainly slept well. The free on-site parking is very handy if you've got a car like I did.

The service from both ladies I dealt with was excellent: friendly, helpful and fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we spent 2 nights in the hotel, I loved the staff ! very helpful and friendly! it changes a lot in my satisfaction about my stay!
i recommend it for travellers who have a car..(10 min drive from CBD)
it is clean and the parking is free. you can have one hour internet complimentary per night or buy more..

Room Tip: no lift for second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouchra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed here on a few occasions now and find the hotel to be good value when I have a car thanks to ample free parking. The rooms are older and not necessarily totally up to scratch but they are mostly clean and adequate. I use choice hotels program and book using the auto club rate which gets the circa $107 a night stay. For a close drive to the city etc this is pretty good plus points also count. This is an older hotel which is why it is rated average, and therefore don't expect modern fitout or meticulous facilities. I do however find it quite good versus rates and will continue to stay with these wonderful people who are always 110% professional and friendly. Thanks guys for the wonderful stays.

Room Tip: If you opt for the king-single you get a larger room for few dollars more and typically screened of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Only stay if you have a car. I did not, and got lost from the train station, which is at least a 20 minute walk away, more if you have any luggage. Found myself wandering through a largely residential area for ages before finally getting there. Staff are varied. The guy at check-in was pleasant and friendly whereas the woman at check-out was surly and couldn’t be bothered.
Room itself was clean and spacious with all the necessary amenities. Layout was your average American motel layout. It was comfortable enough, but really inconvenient and far from central Sydney, and for the price paid, I didn't find it worth the trek.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lane Cove
0.5 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North Shore

Property: Comfort Inn North Shore
Address: 1 Gatacre Ave, Lane Cove, New South Wales 2066, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Lane Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lane Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Lane Cove
Lane Cove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Lane Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing