We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No fuss, low cost, convenient option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Bathurst
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No fuss, low cost, convenient option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Simple to find, handy for the train and Lidcombe's cosmopolitan restaurant scene. Had a very well priced stay in comfortable, quiet room with all I needed by way of tea, coffee, toiletries, iron, etc. Secure car park is a big plus in planning travel to Sydney.

Room Tip: Only steps to 1st and 2nd floors so keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

overpowering smell of cleaning agent masking cigarette smell (non-smoking room)
lump of something stuck on bedspread
long black hair on bedside table
crusty rim around drinking glasses
food/drink remnants on bedside table and TV bench
bedside light faulty
numerous carpet stains especially near bed
sheets crumpled
cigarette butt on floor

Room Tip: Cleanliness is paramount
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed in an apartment not in the motel it's self .coming here thought oh god but the price is good the service was great very tidy , quite there is a few stairs to climb if u can't climb stairs wouldn't advise it. But overall well done its where ill be staying every time I come to the footy. GREAT

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yummie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed there to attend a concert at Homebush and was perfect for the one night. Great location to train station. Nothing flash but a basic room for a good price. Reception gladly placed a complimentary microwave in our room as I requested. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Only plus to this property was its location to Olympic Park and the trains.
We stayed here 4 nights in the back apartments. Place was dirty, bathroom was gross, cockroches, no cooking utensils (deposit required), very unhelpful staff - not friendly or efficient. We were on the second floor and in parts of the hall the floor flexed... did not feel safe at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ojaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We booked here at the last minute, wanting something cheap and close proximity to Acer Arena. Excellent location for that, with the train station right across the road.
The room was comfortable enough. A bit dusty. I didn't use the shower, it looked a little mouldy in the grout, but the rest of the bathroom was fine with upgraded fixtures. The bed was comfortable, the air-conditioner was loud, but after a late night it certainly didn't keep me awake.
Good size TV and plenty of tea and coffee.
Perfect if you are short on cash and just sleeping there after a concert or event.
Certainly not the kind of place you would 'holiday'.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have stayed at this great little gem a number of times and it is our 'backup' stay for sydney trips. Each time we have booked the family apartments, which are in a separate building behind the main one.

The staff at check in were friendly and efficient. There is secure parking. The apartment was clean and serviceable. The furniture is a little dated, but this isn't the Hilton. The rooms were what we were after ie clean and comfortable, no frills. The washer and dryer is a bonus when you have kids and always gets a workout.

It is a little awkward having to get the kitchen pots and pans from reception, but I understand their rationale.

The best thing about this place is its proximity to lidcombe station: being behind the main building there is no noise at all from the railway, yet it is literally just around the corner. We have stayed here several times and the staff are happy for us to leave our car in the car park free of charge and then we catch the train to the city, do all we have to do there and then get the car and drive home.

I can thoroughly recommend the apartments. Sure, it isn't 5 star, but you're not paying 5-star either. But for self-contained accommodation in Sydney, with free on-site parking and proximity to transport- well, good luck finding that for the same price or cheaper.

Room Tip: the self-contained apartments, but ask for the po.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Property: Lidcombe Motor Inn
Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing