We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy Jan”
Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not happy Jan”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

So there is a reason this place only has a picture of the outside on wotif.
The staff were not helpful and were not clear with communication skills.
A simple question like can you get access from the carpark to the room after hours took 10mins to answer.
The rooms were small and the bathroom also very small.

Asked for breakfast at 7am and it comes late.
Not much of a variety for breakfast.
The menu shows options but really there was only one option for cereal and bacon and eggs.

Asked for a bowl for cereal and you couldn't even fit one weatbix in it.

Pay for toast and you get two slices of bread that you have to toast in the room.

Pay for coffee and you have to make it yourself in the room.

Only one style of eggs and no salt or pepper.

Will never stay here again.




Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here whilst attending an event at the Olympic Park and it more than met our needs. The rooms aren't luxury, but our was clean and tidy. Only down side was it had a queen and two singles, which isn't quite enough for our family of five- and I did specify this number of people at booking.

As others have said, it is easy to find, and parking is available underneath. Check in was easy, and the price is pretty good. There is a lift available from the carpark, which is great for luggage etc. It's very close to the train station for a quick trip into the city, or the direct line out the Olympic Park. There are some nice restaurants and cafes in Lidcombe.

We'd use this motel again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank threebluekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Simple to find, handy for the train and Lidcombe's cosmopolitan restaurant scene. Had a very well priced stay in comfortable, quiet room with all I needed by way of tea, coffee, toiletries, iron, etc. Secure car park is a big plus in planning travel to Sydney.

Room Tip: Only steps to 1st and 2nd floors so keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

overpowering smell of cleaning agent masking cigarette smell (non-smoking room)
lump of something stuck on bedspread
long black hair on bedside table
crusty rim around drinking glasses
food/drink remnants on bedside table and TV bench
bedside light faulty
numerous carpet stains especially near bed
sheets crumpled
cigarette butt on floor

Room Tip: Cleanliness is paramount
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed in an apartment not in the motel it's self .coming here thought oh god but the price is good the service was great very tidy , quite there is a few stairs to climb if u can't climb stairs wouldn't advise it. But overall well done its where ill be staying every time I come to the footy. GREAT

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yummie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed there to attend a concert at Homebush and was perfect for the one night. Great location to train station. Nothing flash but a basic room for a good price. Reception gladly placed a complimentary microwave in our room as I requested. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Only plus to this property was its location to Olympic Park and the trains.
We stayed here 4 nights in the back apartments. Place was dirty, bathroom was gross, cockroches, no cooking utensils (deposit required), very unhelpful staff - not friendly or efficient. We were on the second floor and in parts of the hall the floor flexed... did not feel safe at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ojaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,488 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
465 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Property: Lidcombe Motor Inn
Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing