We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for what it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine for what it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Due to having our floors done at home we needed to stay away 1 night due to the fumes. We are locals so good experience to see what is on offer locally. I picked this place because of the proximity to the station. I needed to get to work and able to leave car in the secure garage. I agree with the stairs. I might ask for ground floor next time. The room was fine. Nothing flash but comfortable and clean. Very basic. Very quiet with little or no noise from outside. I had to stand on a chair to activate the air con but it was efficient and quiet. I wondered about the wicker basket which is glued onto the bench. They should remove these as they have no purpose other than to collect dust. The place served its purpose for us. I would recommend some good cafe's for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Normally, based on the TA reviews, I would have given this place a miss. It is, however, in a very convenient location for Olympic Park (one stop on train) and the price was good - we stayed 7 nights. Overall the room (25) was good and, apart from early morning road noise, it was quiet. The internet worked (cable required) and the secure parking was welcome. Fortunately, we didn't have to deal with management but there are clearly issues in how the place is run. The place is a bit grubby and is in need of a good manager, Used food trays were outside a room for 3 days and our room was not made up on one occasion. The lift worked well but the floor was badly in need of a clean. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Check before accepting - Rm 25was not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good location, but thats about all i can say is good.
The room was alot smaller then their pics made them out to be.

Half a roll of toilet paper was abit of a pain, luckily had my own in car for camping. Had one tissue in the tissue box. Fridge only just managed to keep drinks cool, the little freezer part was useless, couldnt even freeze water to ice cubes.

Was woken up early Sunday morning to the sound of banging hammers and power drills in one of the rooms joining ours. Staff couldnt wait to get me out of the office so they could get back to whatever they were doing.

Pay the extra to stay somewhere nicer elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I would never stay here again! It's filthy and items went missing from our room after cleaners had been in there!!!! Staff are bit helpful at all and deny everything!!!! My kids also ended up getting a rash on them from staying here!!!! Wth!!!! Don't waste your money here!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellismicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

So there is a reason this place only has a picture of the outside on wotif.
The staff were not helpful and were not clear with communication skills.
A simple question like can you get access from the carpark to the room after hours took 10mins to answer.
The rooms were small and the bathroom also very small.

Asked for breakfast at 7am and it comes late.
Not much of a variety for breakfast.
The menu shows options but really there was only one option for cereal and bacon and eggs.

Asked for a bowl for cereal and you couldn't even fit one weatbix in it.

Pay for toast and you get two slices of bread that you have to toast in the room.

Pay for coffee and you have to make it yourself in the room.

Only one style of eggs and no salt or pepper.

Will never stay here again.




Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here whilst attending an event at the Olympic Park and it more than met our needs. The rooms aren't luxury, but our was clean and tidy. Only down side was it had a queen and two singles, which isn't quite enough for our family of five- and I did specify this number of people at booking.

As others have said, it is easy to find, and parking is available underneath. Check in was easy, and the price is pretty good. There is a lift available from the carpark, which is great for luggage etc. It's very close to the train station for a quick trip into the city, or the direct line out the Olympic Park. There are some nice restaurants and cafes in Lidcombe.

We'd use this motel again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank threebluekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Simple to find, handy for the train and Lidcombe's cosmopolitan restaurant scene. Had a very well priced stay in comfortable, quiet room with all I needed by way of tea, coffee, toiletries, iron, etc. Secure car park is a big plus in planning travel to Sydney.

Room Tip: Only steps to 1st and 2nd floors so keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Property: Lidcombe Motor Inn
Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing